4/23 CRYSTAL - AMPS 121 - +4.5 151 PMPS 265

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
yesterday

Hi all,

Well I was confused yesterday afternoon with Crystal's results and I'm still confused this morning. Despite not having given her any R since AM on the 21st, she has come down on her own accord into a very acceptable blue range. Julie and Wendy mentioned in my previous condo that it might be something to do with IAA. Although Crystal hasn't been diagnosed with IAA (no test available here in France) in all probability she has it, along with acromegaly. Proving to be a bit of a conundrum is our Crystal.

Seems well in herself, but very hungry. I've noticed this before when she goes low that her appy increases (or maybe she knows that's when I break out the tasty gravy). Anyway, I'm around most of the day to monitor her, apart from a pedicure this afternoon but won't be away too long. Sun's disappeared today, and it's just started to rain, so a good day to start on our tax returns, ugh.
 
Just when you thought you were figuring it out and getting used to things!
 
@ Serryn, Peg, Marilyn, BJ, Bron and Sienne - thank you all for looking in and cheering Crystal on. Nearly 24 hours in blue, so I'm really pleased about that. Why it happened, I have no idea but I'm thankful for small victories.

We have been having a mega cuddle this afternoon and I managed to gently open her mouth and have a little look. Unfortuantely her small teeth seem to have become nearly absorbed by the acro growth of her gums, her canines are fine, but the whole area has become enlarged over the last couple of weeks. She is also "blowing little bubbles" from her nostrils and is very snuffly, like she has a cold. I think this is a symptom of the acro that will get worse and eventually seriously affect her breathing, I don't know whether any of the other acrocats had symptoms like this? I think I will take her to the vet next week. Unfortunately my vet knows nothing about acro but should be able to check out her respiration. Feeling a bit down about it as it's something I can't do anything about.
 
I've just emailed the Acromegaly Clinic at the RVC in London to ask them for advice re Crystal's breathing and what questions I should be asking my vet when I take her next week. Any advice from acromums here would be welcome, thanks.
 
That was a lovely almost 24 hours in blues. :cool: Can you do R tomorrow to see if she'll get back there?

Good luck with the response from RVC. Noisy breathing/narrowed airways is a common symptom. I sent you a message with some pointers to documents that list some symptoms.
 
Thanks for your support Wendy, as ever. :bighug: I've replied separately. I've just printed off the document you sent me and I've ticked 15 symptoms that Crystal has. As regards the R, I'll see how she and I are both doing in the morning and make a decision then, I do have to go out shopping (friends for dinner on Sunday, could do without at the moment) but not for long so I will be around. I'm off now to try and get some sleep after a bedtime test for Crystal.
 
If there are bubbles coming out of her nose, I'd suspect a virus. That sounds like a cold to me. The noisy breathing is a sign of acro, but not "stuff" coming out of her nose.

You have a lot of possibilities at play with Crystal - could be iaa in the mix and no way to know if it is or not. Acromegaly tumors can increase and decrease in the amount of hormones they put out. A decrease can mean that you need less insulin. That's one reason that many people with untreated acro cats tend to keep their cat in low blues rather than greens, so they have a little safety margin if the tumor's output wanes.
 
Thanks Julie for your comments. She's been having this problem on and off since she was diagnosed with FD back in May last year but all my first vet gave me was a decongestent, which didn't work. Her nose is a little wet, but not mucusy, so I don't think it's a cold. My concern is the nostril airway is narrowing as the surrounding area enlarges. I thought FD was bad enough when she was first diagnosed, little did I know that we would have this horrid acro and possibly IAA thrown into the mix as well :(
I hope I feel more positive in the morning.
 
IAA is supposed to be self limiting, sometimes going away after around a year. Another reason for caution at this point. Sleep well, cuddle Crystal, tomorrow will be better. :bighug:
 
Wish I could help more, but even though Polly is an acro/iaa cat, I'm really not very knowledgeable. I know, bad mama!

Polly, however, did have the very liquidy purr. A burble, I called it. She would have little almost imperceptible droplets of water or something that would fling onto me when she was purring, especially if she moved her head for better pet-positions! Had that for years...several at least....before the acro diagnosis. Now after the SRT, no more.

That's just my observation of Polly. No clue if there was really a connection.

Hang on to the delight at her blues! And share with me my absolute appreciation for Wendy, Julie and others who can leap in to help. A true blessing for us.

Vines, Suki. And light that tomorrow bring does find you feeling more positive.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Cobb sounded like a pigeon when he purred. Matt used to make fun "poo, poo." And his nose would be really wet and dripping sometimes. Perhaps that was the acro? He never had trouble breathing. I always figured he was just a messy purrer. Lol.

As for IAA breaking, if it is, get ready for an exciting and possibly scary ride down. Just be prepared to fly by the seat of your pants and play the guessing game. Just as there are no real rules for big gulpers going up the dosing scale, there are even fewer when you're flying down it.
 
@Suzanne & Cobb(GA) , thanks for looking in Suzanne. If we assume in all probability that Crystal has IAA and that it is breaking, something I hadn't got my head around yet, what is likely to happen, will her numbers just keep going down and will I have to reduce the Lev accordingly? I have no idea what to expect, and what my aim should be. Is there an example on CoBb's SS to refer to?

@pollydoodle , thanks Marilyn for your vines and wisdom, I would be totally lost without our wise ladies.

This morning I gave Crystal 2u of R on her BG of 277. She seems quite bright this morning and was actually on her way upstairs as the alarm went off, shame she didn't arrive a bit earlier, we could have had some snuggles. Good appy this morning, a very noisy grooming session after breakfast and now gone back to sleep .... which sounds a very good idea so I'm going btb for an hour or so.
 
Look at Cobb's SS at the end of August last year. Suzanne went from R with every preshot in mid 200's and above, to no R because he was getting lower preshots and started turning all green, then to lowering the Levemir. She only used R after that for exceptions like fur shots. Neko's IAA started breaking mid August 2012, right after SRT. I wasn't giving R and it was a lower dose, but it was similar in that there were a lot of closely spaced reductions. With the amount of testing you do, you should be fine. The biggest thing to consider is to always err on the side of caution.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top