4/23,Chuck,AMPS 397,+1 514,+3.5 518,PMPS 338,+4.5 409,+7 419

Status
Not open for further replies.

StephG

Member Since 2016
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-471-4-376-6-5-301-9-326.176745/#post-1946511

AMPS @ +11.25.
Back to normal snacks today since it didn't make much of a difference with no carb snacks.
Increase this afternoon. I feel like we should go straight to 10 units since his nadirs are 300+ but not sure about going outside the protocol with dosing. We need to get his numbers down. I started glucosamine/chondroitin on PM cycle yesterday. He's not limping as much. Limps more after jumping off table or chair. Will continue the supplement to see if it helps his numbers.
 
Ugh I could scream. I'm exhausted and forgot to close kitty's food (we feed him in on a roll top desk and close the top when he's done nibbling on his pate soup.
Chuck ate what was left. Probably only 1/4 can friskies pate with some water and acidophilus in it. :banghead::mad:
He's too high already. Stupid move on my part. :arghh:
 
Steph I feel your pain! I've done the same thing numerous times, it's sooo frustrating, but Chuck will come back down. Hope you got some sleep!
 
Once you get to 10u, I believe you can increase 1u every 6 cycles if you are following TR and stuck in the pinks/reds. I actually did increases every 5 cycles but was yet to see a blue when doing this aggressive approach. Chuck has shown he can go blue, and even green.
 
Just thinking out loud, Steph: I wonder if Chuck is making anti-insulin antibodies (IAA)? He responded really well near the beginning and now that's slowed down. Makes sense that it would take his immune system time to mount a defense against this insulin. There's a test for this and from what I've read here, it's a case of dosing around it. Sometimes the problem disappears over time. As soon as your wallet permits, I'd get the acro and IAA tests done.
 
I will call the vet in the morning and see how much they would charge just to draw the blood and send it. I could probably send it overnight myself but I don't know if it needs special handling since it's blood.
He's 409 at +4.5 and that's before his snack. Hiding since he ate. Waiting for a urine sample to test.
Something has to give... He's going to get ketones eventually if he stays this high much longer.
 
Increased to 9.5 units for PM cycle today. I REALLY wanted to shoot 10. Still feel like I should have but trying very hard to stay within TR guidelines...
 
I've been thinking--- Could it be a sign of IAA that Chuck got a "lump" where he was getting his insulin injected?
Does the body attack the insulin and "kill it" when it's injected or when it's absorbed?
If it gets attacked as soon as it's injected do you think it would help to inject his dose into a few different locations? I know that means more than one poke with the same needle but if it might work-- I'm ok with poking him a couple times just to prevent ketones and DKA.
I was thinking of trying the abdomen/flank again to see if maybe he might absorb it better?
I'm grasping for straws here. I'm desperate to get his numbers back in check. He was doing better on Prozinc than he is on Lantus *now*.
I'm hoping to get a phone consult with the vet to see if she has any insight on what to do. I'm also going to email Cornell and see if I can't get some questions asked.
 
Remember NDW, higher numbers after an increase as the depot buids. Do something for yourself when you see the high numbers, a ne test less. :bighug: At 10 units, you can start increasing br 1 unit amounts. Think of the increases in percentages, around 10-15% of the total dose.

It is possible the change in insulin caught resistance off guard, or it could be acro tumour growth, or .... it used to be that you could arrange shipping to MSU yourself, but I thought I heard that they stopped that due to the blood not getting their properly. Worth asking anyway.

Not all cats in high numbers get ketones. Neko was high for ages. But it's still good practice to keep testing.

Think of IAA like Antibodies reacting to a virus. The battle is in the blood stream. Some people with high dose kitties found that splitting the injection site helped, some not. Always worth an experiment. At some point, you may want to think about adding R to your toolbox, it's a short acting insulin you can use to help move the numbers a bit, ideally no more than 100 points. But we suggest setting a "date" with an experienced R user the first couple of times. Might want to ask the vet their thoughts on that. We start with smaller doses of R than vet's are used to using. ECID on dose needs again. Neko never needed more than .5U R, and when she was a tiny sipper, a drop would move her.

What questions do you have for Cornell? Maybe we can help.
 
Just general questions on how they treat FD and their views on home testing. Thought maybe they would review his case before setting up an appt if they thought they could help more than my current vet... Any new ideas on what might work for him. I love my current vet. She's completely ok with me treating at home... I just feel like I'm failing him.
I have thought about adding r insulin. Scares me but I think at this point he needs it. Even if it just keeps him in the yellows at this point. I'd be happy with that!
I think I'll try a different area tomorrow afternoon.
DH is in charge tomorrow and Tuesday for both shots. I can monitor in the evenings.
 
I doubt I'll end up going to Cornell. Can't afford it at the moment. Saving for acro and IAA tests first.
 
Steph, you aren't failing Chuck. :bighug: FD is hard and so many people don't even treat that. Having a high dose kitty is harder and even more unpredictable. I lost track of the number of pity parties in my condos. Lean on us.

My vet wanted me to go to an IM vet when we hit the positive test results, but I decided to save my money and got help here.
 
:bighug: I'd be in a straight jacket by now without this forum!
I'm hoping for some response to the increase soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top