4/23 Bud AMPS 371, PMPS 320, +2 229, +3 109/130 don't know what to do

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacym20

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...pmps-314-3-128-decreased-this-morning.136711/

So I'm totally stoked that Bud is spending more time in good numbers, but after 2 in a row semi pj parties, I just want to go to bed! I thought he was dropping at a reasonable rate when I got that +2 and even fed some 15% carbs then but that didn't slow him down and he dropped another 100 points in an hour! Do I let him drop below 90 so I can reduce or just carb him up and go to bed?
 
With that much of a drop, if you need the sleep (and we DO understand....occasionally we ALL have to sleep!) you could carb him up, but I'd probably set an alarm and check him again later just to make sure he didn't go up from the carbs and then come back down

Don't feel guilty about needing to get some sleep either...you have to take care of the bean to take care of the cat!
 
With that much of a drop, if you need the sleep (and we DO understand....occasionally we ALL have to sleep!) you could carb him up, but I'd probably set an alarm and check him again later just to make sure he didn't go up from the carbs and then come back down

Don't feel guilty about needing to get some sleep either...you have to take care of the bean to take care of the cat!

My concern is that 15% didn't do anything to slow him down. I have some 20% or I have some junk treats?
 
As Chris said, you can carb him if you need to sleep but you would need to check again later. Of you could try checking him in half an hour to see if he does get below 90 and earn a reduction. You could still carb him after that too so you don't have to stay up for hours with him - 90 is still a safe enough number for him to be at. Either way it would be a good idea to set an alarm and check him a bit later, but you would be able to get some sleep that way. :)

You probably will have to go to 20% or higher with Bud - he doesn't seem to be all that carb sensitive. If you want to carb him and sleep, I'd go with the highest you've got! You could add a couple of treats as well, but those will take longer to get into his system because they're dry.
 
Ok I checked him and he's 92 at +3.5. I think I will reduce to 0.5 in the morning. I can't be worried about him at work. I gave him the 20% food and I will get a +4 and go from there. Thanks ladies!!!
 
I think he'd have gone under 90 if you hadn't given the 15% early on to be honest.

He is dropping slower now which is good. Now you've given the 20% he shouldn't drop all that much further. @Chris & China - what do you think? 1 hour for his next test?
 
If you're feeding 20+% at +4 (and he's slowed down the drop) I think you could probably snooze and get a +6....if he's still safe at that point, you're probably ok for the rest of the night since that would be 2 hours since he'd had any food
 
Thank you Chris! I almost said 2 hours, but wasn't sure if I was pushing it a bit at that - always good to have confirmation. :)
 
I really wonder where he would have gone if I just fed low carb... I'm thinking full out pj party low probably... Lol. Going to grab a +4 and be back in a minute!
 
I think you're right - he'd almost certainly have dipped under the 90 I think. Good to have the 15% on hand for days like this!!
 
True - and I've left Rosa for the night in the upper 90s, though usually later in the cycle than +4. The great thing here is that if I'm not sure, I can always check! :)
 
107 at +4. Fed just a couple party mix treats which will hopefully help him surf and not bounce sky high just so I feel a little better about getting some sleep! Lol.

I realize he's not in immediate danger at 92, I just fear if I didn't steer the numbers he would just keep dropping. And I want to go to work feeling he's safe. So a reduction in the morning it is, and will keep a watch out for a failed reduction.

Will get up for a +6. If I don't see you ladies then, sleep tight and thanks again for all the help!!
 
I think he's definitely good until +6 - and then most likely for the night after that. :) I'll check in on you at your +6 to make sure he's doing OK and hasn't dropped again. :)
 
289 at +6. Higher than I was hoping, but high enough that this momma bean is going back to bed with no worries! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top