4/23/22 Cali AMPS 75, PMPS 394, +1 322, +7.75 131

carlascalico

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...25-8-176-pmps-333-5-170-10-5-62-11-70.262336/

Levemir 2.25U

4/23/22 Cali AMPS 75
+2.5 [ 56
+4.25 / 56
+6 / 77
+9 / 175
PMPS 394
+1 / 322
+7.75 / 131






@Wendy&Neko
Good morning. Following you on other posts regarding Levemir action. Please review and describe for me and hubby what may have occurred starting on PM 4/21 Where I was concerned that I may have lost a bit of insulin to potential FS, through her action on 4/22 [to encompass that PM pink, back down to AMPS green on 4/23. My husband, whom I have implored to test when Bhooma and I ask keeps asking me for a narrative of action. Bhooma and others on FDMB are helping me on a real time basis but trying to understand some pattern is important. I realize none of us has a crystal ball and ECID as well as things change. I am trying to keep as many things consistent so the pattern will reflect the insulin action.

I also welcome feedback from @FrostD and @tiffmaxee .

Bhooma you are my guiding light so do I need to test early and throughout this AM cycle since we kicked off with a solid green?

Cali is giving us a surprise a day. Sure beats those reds and pinks in the incredible “dive and spike” action we were getting on the prior insulin.

HAPPY SATURDAY and hug those sugar babies. Don’t forget to tell your civvies they are extra special too.
 
Last edited:
Always a good idea to start with a slightly earlier test when you shoot much lower than usual, especially mid green. I'd start with +1.5 if you're worried, but her onset seems to be somewhere in the +2 hour usually (so +1.5 might not tell you anything)

She bounced yesterday (as evidence by the pink PMPS) but cleared it overnight - she has a late nadir when that happens, hence the low preshot.

Now it's been awhile since that happened, but the last few times it happened her nadir seems to be around +6 to +8 in the following cycle, not a concrete pattern because occasionally it is earlier.

Her patterns are shifting a little bit now that she's getting more regulated.
 
How is she with pokes? If she will not tolerate being tested to often, you might want to start with a +2. She has been flat to rising slowly between +10 and AMPS, so you might see a food bump and then action after onset.

Like Melissa pointed out, the patterns get more clear once they start getting regulated.

Going by numbers, it looks more like the higher numbers were a bounce rather than a PFS.
 
Always a good idea to start with a slightly earlier test when you shoot much lower than usual, especially mid green. I'd start with +1.5 if you're worried, but her onset seems to be somewhere in the +2 hour usually (so +1.5 might not tell you anything)

She bounced yesterday (as evidence by the pink PMPS) but cleared it overnight - she has a late nadir when that happens, hence the low preshot.

Now it's been awhile since that happened, but the last few times it happened her nadir seems to be around +6 to +8 in the following cycle, not a concrete pattern because occasionally it is earlier.

Her patterns are shifting a little bit now that she's getting more regulated.

Melissa good morning and thank you for your input. This is exactly what I am seeking, the benefit of your and others experience to decipher charts and action. Those bounces sure
I will start tests early today.
Weather says sunny and 70s today so my couch potato is going to be encouraged outside for some activity and vitamin D. Can’t waste that sunshine!
I can tell Cali feels better, despite some bounces and my hovering, when she is not diving and spiking. And of course she loves Bhooma and her reminders to “feed a little…” that is music to Cali’s cold ears.
 
Melissa good morning and thank you for your input. This is exactly what I am seeking, the benefit of your and others experience to decipher charts and action. Those bounces sure
I will start tests early today.
Weather says sunny and 70s today so my couch potato is going to be encouraged outside for some activity and vitamin D. Can’t waste that sunshine!
I can tell Cali feels better, despite some bounces and my hovering, when she is not diving and spiking. And of course she loves Bhooma and her reminders to “feed a little…” that is music to Cali’s cold ears.
80 here and I am HERE for it!

You'll get the hang of it eventually, they *usually* settle into nice patterns as they get regulated. Shes been fairly predictable so far which is good. And you take great notes which helps a ton!
 
How is she with pokes? If she will not tolerate being tested to often, you might want to start with a +2. She has been flat to rising slowly between +10 and AMPS, so you might see a food bump and then action after onset.

Like Melissa pointed out, the patterns get more clear once they start getting regulated.

Going by numbers, it looks more like the higher numbers were a bounce rather than a PFS.

good stuff. I will start with a +2ish.
She hates the pokes but comes for them because of course food follows. Sometimes snack is 1-2 chicken real bites crumbled into 2tbsp water. But food is her music!
Still trying to get my arms around what/why’s/when of those bounces.

speaking of watching weight, the more tests we do for Cali, the more carbs and sweet snacks I seem to be consuming! I better heed my own preventive advice or I’ll be sharing Cali’s insulin. My hands are always cold like her ears so hard to get my test unlesss she pricks me with those fighting claws.
 
80 here and I am HERE for it!

You'll get the hang of it eventually, they *usually* settle into nice patterns as they get regulated. Shes been fairly predictable so far which is good. And you take great notes which helps a ton!
As my husband used to tell his late brother from Michigan in January/ February “it’s a little cool here but the flowers don’t mind”. EST are you in northeast or southeast if you choose to say?
I have to remember we have been on Levemir less than 3 weeks!
 
Here we go…
@+2.5 [56] fed 1/2tsp 13%, 1/2tsp LC 5%, 1/2tsp cooked chicken breast
Which she hungrily ate without hesitation. No dilated diabetic looking eyes. As soon as she starts grooming, that is my que that hunger brain is satisfied for the moment.
If she is still seeking food, I may offer bite of LC Special Kitty that she doesn’t love to test if brain still says hungry. They sure train us don’t they!
Next test TBD.
 
As my husband used to tell his late brother from Michigan in January/ February “it’s a little cool here but the flowers don’t mind”. EST are you in northeast or southeast if you choose to say?
I have to remember we have been on Levemir less than 3 weeks!
North up by the Great Lakes, so we've had 40s and 50s. 2 days of 80s then right back down lol
 
Bottom surfing
@+4.25 [56] flat from +2.5
Fed 1/2tsp MC13% & 1/2tsp LC5%
She ate, groomed, jumped down and now on guard with Two Socks [tuxedo]. I love that he stimulates her.
Look Melissa I am not even panicking like I did on first time!
Next test TBD
 
Ok you are Cali’s BFF! If she hears the words “snacking, treat treat, or yum yum” she comes. Microwave beep or us eating is definite assurance to her that food is maybe forthcoming.
Will test and record.
BTW isn’t it the middle of the night for you? Thanks :cat::)
 
If you think you might have done a partial (or full) furshot, it helps to put something like PFS? after the dose in the units column. That makes it easier for us to see it. Depending which device I'm on, it could be more effort than I have time for to scroll over to the Remarks unless I'm looking for something in particular. If you did some of a fur shot on the 21st, that would explain what happened that night. She went down the first part of the cycle (depot helping with that), then the partial kicked in part way through the cycle and she ended up higher on the AM of the 22nd. Shooting a reduced dose can also impact later cycles and could have been why the pink later that day. By today the depot had built back up and you are seeing what she does on this dose. Which is lovely. :D
 
If you think you might have done a partial (or full) furshot, it helps to put something like PFS? after the dose in the units column. That makes it easier for us to see it. Depending which device I'm on, it could be more effort than I have time for to scroll over to the Remarks unless I'm looking for something in particular. If you did some of a fur shot on the 21st, that would explain what happened that night. She went down the first part of the cycle (depot helping with that), then the partial kicked in part way through the cycle and she ended up higher on the AM of the 22nd. Shooting a reduced dose can also impact later cycles and could have been why the pink later that day. By today the depot had built back up and you are seeing what she does on this dose. Which is lovely. :D

Wendy that does make sense with a plausible explanation. I updated my SS to reflect PFS on 4/21. Then you get a snowball effect in later cycles. However I feel embarrassed with your last statement because she did surf today with a little support of MC from +2.5 - +5.5. Still good @+6, rising to 175 @+9. PMPS surprised me again with 394. I have no explanation for that bounce.:arghh:
 
Next time she's low but safe and flat, try giving LC instead of MC. If she's particularly carb sensitive, that MC if after nadir, could also have shortened her duration and causing her numbers to jump up. The next cycle will help you know it's all bounce or not.

have no explanation for that bounce.
Sometimes the answer is, because they are cats and can. :cat:
 
Jinx
+9 [175]
PMPS [394]
upload_2022-4-23_19-18-21.jpeg
upload_2022-4-23_19-18-21.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-4-23_19-18-21.jpeg
    upload_2022-4-23_19-18-21.jpeg
    61 KB · Views: 177
Decided to recheck for meter consistency.
@+1 322. food bump from PMPS but the BG came down 72 points rather than up?
 
We were typing at same time. I tested @+1 to check meter. @+1 322 plus little food. Paranormal?
It is within the 20% range of meter variance. Maybe she will clear the bounce in a cycle like she did last night. How about a test between +5 and +7 (whenever you want to set an alarm) and let's take it from there?
Btw, do you have a timed auto feeder for snacks in the night cycle or are you the auto feeder? :smuggrin:
 
It is within the 20% range of meter variance. Maybe she will clear the bounce in a cycle like she did last night. How about a test between +5 and +7 (whenever you want to set an alarm) and let's take it from there?
Btw, do you have a timed auto feeder for snacks in the night cycle or are you the auto feeder? :smuggrin:

I do have a timed feeder but currently her daddy or I am the auto feeder. Spoiled diva yes!

I will target test @+7 but little snacks along the way.
 
Back
Top