@Wendy&Neko
A couple of reasons I went with SLGS (and i apologize in advance, I'm an over-analytical type person so I always overthink and over-word things):
1) It more closely follows what the vet was telling me to do and since I know nothing I'm scared to not listen to the person who spent years in medical school. Even gearing up to argue taking him off the prescrption diet I was in tears argusing my case to her. As soon as she heard he didn't like it she backed off.
2) I don't really understand the TR. I have read the stickies, I have read every one of the stickies several times and I feel like the more I read them, the more confused/overwhelmed I get and the more I panic that I am unable to do this and am going to end up hurting him. Right now I am so angry at my vet because she made this all sound like it was easy and no big deal but I feel helpless.
3)I have a pet meter. The day he was diagnosed, the vet told me I had to buy that meter, not a human meter and I had not even found this site yet and I can't afford to go buy another meter right now but the TR says you have to use a human one (or rather "strongly discourages" which might as well be the same thing) I f
4) I am out of the house from 7am to 6pm every day as my boyfriend and I have to carpool for work as we only have 1 car and no other support systems. We don't have friends we can trust to come in and help. Twice a month I have to leave at 6:30am for work. My understanding is TR requires a lot more curve testing which I can not do. I only get a half hour lunch, I live a half hour away from work so I don't have the option to go home during the workday on lunch.
5)I can't take a day off work to do the initial 3 days of watching closely for several weeks as the clinic I work in severly short staffed so I only have off Saturday and SUnday.
6) I cant afford a high quality low carb food exclusivly or raw. Getting them off prescription and doing a mix of BFF/Friskies is about the most my budget can muster at the moment. And given the fact that before all of this I didn't have the time to even take care of myself, trying to suddenly learn to make my own cat food is not realistic either.
7) Being gone all day, I cant feed several small meals throughout the day when I am not there to supervise. And I can't afford an automatic feeder (and with 2 cats I have no way to control or see who is eating what) and seperating them is not an option because anytime I have tried seperating them for food or feeding them different they both go off food in protest, not to mention Gizmo literally destorys things, like clawing up doors and carpeting, and we rent.
8) I don't know what my cat's ideal weight is, so, no idea on starting dose (but at the least it would be MUCH higher than what the vet told me to give him since his ideal weight has got to be more than 4 lbs- she has him on 1 unit twice per day). I have asked my vet a few times and she has said it could vary based on the cat which is probably how we got in this mess in the first place - if I had a better idea of the expectations about his weight I might have caught some of this sooner.
As far as how we got here? It was a regular check up. A year ago, he got constipated from a hairball (as he has a bad habit of grooming himself and his civvie sister while she is a little princess and does nothing) and as he had been vomiting for 2 days I took him in to see if he needed vet help with getting unblocked. They ran an xray, gave him an anti-nausea and an enema, and sent us on our way. He took a massive poop, and live seemed good. Except the vet called and said she noticed some tiny stones in his bladder and kidneys. We ran blood and urine, no crystals, blood work was good, but vet told me to put him on Royal Canin Urinary SO moderate calorie since otherwise those stones would grow and kill him and that he needed to lose weight. When I asked how much to feed him they said "just follow whats on the bag". about 2 weeks ago, after I finally moved out of my ex-husbands house and got the cats out of there, I decided to take them in for a check up, and had not thought much of the only symptoms he had - weight loss, drinking a lot, and peeing a lot, since he was supposed to lose weight, early on when I asked the vet about peeing they said the food was supposed to make them pee a lot and he has ALWAYS loved his water fountain, even as a kitten. So when the vet was concerned about his weight loss they were like "Oh yeah we know it doesn't make sense, we tell you we want them to lose weight but then we get worried when they lose weight" and just ran blood and urine again. Once again, urine has no crystals, and blood work was fine except for a BG that was in the high 300s (I cant remember the number exactly, i think it was like 368) which vet said means he is diabetic. He lost about 4lbs in the last year.
So now we are here. No other symptoms, he's been his normal self. No behaviors changes, his coat is still shiny and healthy, no issues jumping and tearing around the house. Still super affectionate. Most of the time he is pretty chill, but he lets you know when he has had enough by simply giving a deep growl, but not a biter or scratcher.