4/22 Victor AMPS 9.9/178- +3 6.6/119 PMPS 8.5/153

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by H Allen, Apr 22, 2022.

  1. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Wow. I would think the same. Why not try it on yourself and see if you get a different reading?

    (Thanks for starting a new post :) )
     
  3. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Great idea- I think I had a bit too much syrup on my waffles- meter must be working I tested at 7.5!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  4. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    +3 = 6.6 !
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  5. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    The meter is working! :) please feed him a little and test at +5?
     
  6. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Will do- he just ate some dry Dr Elseys kibble....I have to leave at +5.5....a bit worried....
     
  7. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Is he okay with tests? Can you test at +4 as well?
    He is still over the normal range of blood sugar.
     
  8. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    No he's a hard bleeder- I literally have to milk him.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  9. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    It's okay to wait till +5. Feed him a little at +4 as well.

    Do you warm his ears? That helps with blood flow. Also using a higher gauge lancet might help till his ears learn to bleed.
     
  10. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Yes I have a magic bag I use on his ears before poking- when we did the 17 panel April 5 we couldn't get enough blood to do the CBC panel- he literally just doesn't want to share his blood! The larger lancet just bruises his ears more :(
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  11. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Oh no....+5 = 4.1/74....I can wait another 30 minutes but that's my hard leave....yikes !!!!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  12. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Did he get food at +4? Do you have any higher carb food?

    ETA: Have you been feeding the Dr. Elsey's salmon or chicken? The salmon is higher in carbs. You can also feed a little of the high carb kibble you were feeding - since you have to leave.

    He has earned a reduction to 1.75u with the drop below 90 today.
     
  13. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Yes- I just got him now at 5.5 = 6.4/115 do you think I'm ok to leave him now?
     
  14. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Yes, you are okay, He has stopped falling and is heading up.
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Beautiful cycle. Tge switch from high carb kibble has done wonders! :D
     
  16. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    Oops I didn't see the post for the reduction eeks and I just shot! He was 8.5/153 PMPS- guess I'll be up all night monitoring now?

    He likes the Salmon Dr Elsey's better than the Chicken....

    His balance/polynueropathy? is still evident- did I read somewhere about b-12?

    I've also not noticed him shaking his head because of the ear infections since we've fully transitioned this food....could it have been a food allergy causing it afterall? My vet didn't think it was worth doing allergy testing because older cats don't tend to develop allergies late in life?
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My vet says allergy testing is not reliable. It’s not true they they won’t develop later in age. Just like with people it can happen any time.
    I don’t know if you will need to be up late. Check between +2-3.
     
  18. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    +2= 6.4 I’m going to be up all night aren’t I?
     
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    It’s likely an active cycle. Feed some lc and test in an hour. It could also be a flat cycle.
     
  20. H Allen

    H Allen Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2022
    +4 was 8.6 so I went to sleep....starting new thread...
     

Share This Page