4/22 TAFFY skipped AM shot/AMBG 306/PMPS 286/+2.5 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Taffysmama

Member Since 2016
[url=http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-21-taffy-amps-256-pmps-250.176747/#post-1945896] Friday

As my title would indicate, I think I will skip today's AM shot. Taffy is having some sort of tummy trouble, although he has a little appy and is bright-eyed and not hiding or anything. yesterday eve when I got home, he was laying on the bathroom tile. It was pretty warm in the house, so I just chalked it up to that, but historically when he is on the tile he has a tummy ache (usually panc flare) so I was watching. But he ate fine last night.

This AM he he very runny gross mucousy diarrhea, which is upsetting to both of us! After a hind end clean up and trim (oh, the insult!!), I administered a small capsule of S. Boulardii (sp?) and he was still looking at me for food, so that was good. I suspected his canned from yesterday, the Nature's Variety (not in our regular rotation), but I am not sure what has upset his tummy. He had some supplements in his dinner last night, but he has had them before with no issue. Although sometimes too much supplemented taurine can cause diarrhea.

Since he seemed hungry, I gave a little plain pate (True Nature) and he ate a little. About 15 minutes later, that came back up. Waited another hour, and I have just given him a Tbsp of his chicken meat with nothing added. Waiting to see how that sits, but he is due for his shot and I was supposed to leave the house already. I am going to be late for my demo, but not a super big deal. But I will be gone most of day and so if he were to vomit while gone, it makes me nervous, so I have decided to skip.

I have been needing to make major adjustment to T/F/S times anyhow, so this will give me the opportunity. We had gotten so late that it has been killing me to stay up for PM +2s or later. The later start in the AM was not too big a deal on most days, but I think I'll move up by about 2 hours.[/URL]
 
Just did what would have been his AMPS test and got 306. Now I feel like I should give some insulin, but I still think I am going to skip, just in case he vomits and so that I can adjust the times.

Positive is that he is behaving like he feels okay, so I hope this tummy trouble was just a blip. (anti-jinx!!!)
 
He kept down the small amount of chicken, so just gave more and he was begging for it (I love his meow, meow, meow when I am bringing his food from kitchen to eating area). I'll be here another 45 min to hour to see if he vomits (I'm not even ready to go yet!) And I could give delayed shot, but then we will be even LATER, so I am still going to skip. hate to cause him high #s, but I don't think he'll go out of the 300s.
 
Good news that the plain chicken is staying down. :) Sending vines that he's better now.

As a reference point, when kitties undergo anesthesia and cannot eat, vet's suggest1/2 dose of insulin. Insulin is used for more than just countering the carbs in food. I had more experience than I wanted with an inappetance cat at shot time, or worse, pukus after shooting full dose. :rolleyes: I found that if Neko wasn't feeling well her numbers would be up anyway and I could usually give at or close to full dose. However, I can understand your concern if you aren't around to monitor. Maybe a BCS if it happens again, which I hope it won't. It's great you can use the opportunity to reset you preshot time.
 
Oh poor Taffy! Glad the chicken is staying down. I gave Uncle some NV Lamb ONCE and he threw it up and had tummy troubles from it.
The rabbit is okay tho. Hmm
 
Good news that the plain chicken is staying down. :) Sending vines that he's better now.

As a reference point, when kitties undergo anesthesia and cannot eat, vet's suggest1/2 dose of insulin. Insulin is used for more than just countering the carbs in food. I had more experience than I wanted with an inappetance cat at shot time, or worse, pukus after shooting full dose. :rolleyes: I found that if Neko wasn't feeling well her numbers would be up anyway and I could usually give at or close to full dose. However, I can understand your concern if you aren't around to monitor. Maybe a BCS if it happens again, which I hope it won't. It's great you can use the opportunity to reset you preshot time.
I was very tempted to give a reduced dose, but decided I would take the chance to reset time. Or else soon I'd be giving his shots at noon and midnight!
 
Oh poor Taffy! Glad the chicken is staying down. I gave Uncle some NV Lamb ONCE and he threw it up and had tummy troubles from it.
The rabbit is okay tho. Hmm
I'm pretty sure the NV I gave Taffy was just chicken, so I was surprised that upset him, but I'm pretty sure that's what did it
 
Last edited:
Tired. Got home too late to move up shot time to 8pm, but managed by 9pm. This is better than where we were, which was after 10.

Taffy's numbers did not go too crazy today, he kept his food down and ate a good dinner. No poop since the yuckies this morning.

I had forgotten to ask if I could increase his dose after the skip. Now I have to wait 6 more cycles, right? Then, to steer with food, do I start adding a little carbs to his meals right away?
 
Went looking for Taffy to do a test and found him on the bathroom tile again. I don't like this. Usually means tummy ache of some sort. Expecting more diarrhea. 257 @ +2.5
I am very sleepy, so going to catch some ZZzzzsss
 
Hope Taffy starts feeling better soon...for the both of you. I am sorry he's on the tile in the bathroom...but it was in the 90s here in So Cal the last 2 days... Hopefully he was just looking for a place to cool off.

Hope your demo went well today! :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top