? 4/22 Simon AMPS 105; +1, 107 +3, 82 TR help

Katrina & Simon

Member Since 2025
Recent post

Is this what we've been trying to get his numbers down to? I'm still overwhelmed with shooting this low... He did not want his midnight snack last night which is low carb but not eating always makes him drop. But I know he trends up later in the day. So I have full 3U dose... The 82 I just got is making me feel like I did the wrong thing by giving his full dose. I read and reread the TR stickies and I really think I did the right thing but it FEELS wrong to shoot that much insulin when he's so low, especially since he's typically always high.

Are we doing TR correctly? The cycle of holding the dose, does that reset every time they go over 200 NADIR or do we consider the entire time they've been on that dose? Simon has been on 3 units for 6 cycles (7 counting today) since after we messed with dose for dental. So I could hold this for 2-4 more cycles, right? Or do we consider the cycles previous to his dental?
 
Hi Katrina! I’m not experienced enough to give advice but can comment a bit on TR.

With TR you were okay giving the full dose for this AMPS this morning. Personally, I’ve shot as low as 56 with a full dose (and Binx is over 4 units). However, you can always give a smaller dose (often called a BCS “big chicken shot”) if you’re not feeling comfortable. It’s important to understand how Simon trends because ECID. Some things to ask when deciding to give the full dose is, will you be around to monitor? Do you have some high carbs/hypo kit in case he dives. Lantus is good at keeping flat curves, but ECID (you’ll see some other SS with some really flat curves, @Karolina & Nestle being one).

You’ve hit a green (sub 100) nadir today, so my understanding is you’d be holding this dose for 8-10 cycles counting from when you saw that green nadir. You could hold for 6 cycles if Simon was used to seeing greens, but they’re still rare for him. I would see how the next few cycles go and hopefully you’ll also get some expert advice on this thread to give you more guidance.

Edit: again, not as experienced so would rely on the experts here

Safe surfing!
 
When following TR, we hold doses with green nadirs (plural) 10 cycles. Simon's been on this dose for over 10 days (20 cycles) and he's not tightly regulated. His lowest nadir was that 82 today. You have room for an increase to 3.25 units.

Lower preshots tend to give you flatter cycles, which is why I much preferred them. When I shot Neko in the 80's, which seemed to be her sweet spot, she wouldn't change more than 10 points in the cycle. Unless she bounced of course. Which it looks like Simon did today.
 
When following TR, we hold doses with green nadirs (plural) 10 cycles. Simon's been on this dose for over 10 days (20 cycles) and he's not tightly regulated. His lowest nadir was that 82 today. You have room for an increase to 3.25 units.

Lower preshots tend to give you flatter cycles, which is why I much preferred them. When I shot Neko in the 80's, which seemed to be her sweet spot, she wouldn't change more than 10 points in the cycle. Unless she bounced of course. Which it looks like Simon did today.
Ok so you count all cycles on the dose, that is helpful, I will bump him up to 3.25 this morning. I will try to post here more often as I don't want to keep messing it up for Simon. Thank you!
 
Back
Top