4/22 Shooter AMPS 90, +5.5 28, +7 54, +9 38, PMPS 104, +3 231

Heather & Shooter

Member Since 2009
Well last night was definitely eventful... :coffee::coffee::coffee: Hoping he doesn't bounce too high from being in the 40's last night. It's crazy how one drop can make such a huge difference. I'm going back to the 4.75 for the next couple of days but then will be out of town Thursday - Saturday. My friend is going to take care of the boys and will do blood sugar checks but won't be able to stick around to feed if he seems low. She will be coming AM, mid-day and PM. Debating on how much to have her give him. I don't want to lose progress but want him safe as well (and for me not to worry the whole time I'm gone).

4/21 Shooter AMPS 77, +6 76 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB
 
Hi Heather,
Lime party last night. Great job managing it! And great start this morning!
it's nice your friend can come check on him 3 times a day. But tricky if he gets low - autofeeder, perhaps? Leaving some MCs out?
I think the safety first - sounds like you are thinking of a vacation dose? Shooter has been so good, I'm sure he will recover quickly even if he gets a bit higher.
Hope you come to a plan that you feel comfortable with :bighug:
 
So what is it called/what's happening when they double dip? And why does that happen? I thought the depot got depleted after a low like last night.

@Wendy&Neko
 
Last edited:
That's not a double dip, that's a scream to go down to 4.5 units, maybe even 4.25 units or 4 while you are gone! A drop dose does nothing at this size of dose.

What really happened with his numbers going down again today is that the food fed earlier wore off and since he is on Levemir, the insulin is still reaching it's peak and lowering his numbers.

Depot aren't depleted by lows. Depots are depleted if you skip or BCS (big chicken shot or reduced dose) which I strongly recommend for tonight. Maybe half dose tonight? Between last night and today, the depot overwhelming you. Need to take it down a notch.
 
That's not a double dip, that's a scream to go down to 4.5 units, maybe even 4.25 units or 4 while you are gone! A drop dose does nothing at this size of dose.

What really happened with his numbers going down again today is that the food fed earlier wore off and since he is on Levemir, the insulin is still reaching it's peak and lowering his numbers.

Depot aren't depleted by lows. Depots are depleted if you skip or BCS (big chicken shot or reduced dose) which I strongly recommend for tonight. Maybe half dose tonight? Between last night and today, the depot overwhelming you. Need to take it down a notch.

Crap! I gave him 4.75 at 6:30pm before you wrote this. Guess we'll see what happens tonight but regardless, tomorrow morning should I start him on 4.5 or 4.25? I leave early Thursday morning.
 
Under 40 it is strongly recommended that you do a full 0.25 unit reduction. 28 even more so. Do keep an eye on him tonight and tomorrow. His depot is very full. This post is a good read: REDUCTIONS

With acromegaly in the picture, you have to be extra cautious. I see he's bouncing now, but who knows what he'll do tomorrow. 4 units is on the line, easier for the petsitter to give. Maybe reduce a few cycles before hand to reduce that depot.
 
Under 40 it is strongly recommended that you do a full 0.25 unit reduction. 28 even more so. Do keep an eye on him tonight and tomorrow. His depot is very full. This post is a good read: REDUCTIONS

With acromegaly in the picture, you have to be extra cautious. I see he's bouncing now, but who knows what he'll do tomorrow. 4 units is on the line, easier for the petsitter to give. Maybe reduce a few cycles before hand to reduce that depot.
Ok thank you so much for all of your help (and patience). I appreciate you and everyone who has helped me. :bighug:
 
Back
Top