4/22 SHEBA AMPS 293, +5 423 Weather slowly improving and the clean up begins

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bron and Sheba (GA)

Member Since 2015
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...er-swim-in-lagoon-3-342-4-259-6-5-232.136490/

Back to 5.5 units tonight after reduction to 5 units as I was going to be away today. DH fed Sheba some MC food over the drop period this morning. He misunderstood me and kept feeding her until I got home......and I was running very late.........she had pretty much the whole sachet of MC food. :eek:
Sheba was asleep in front of the fire when I got back very happy and satisfied!:cat:
I didn't bother testing her......

We have had 2 days of wild weather here in Sydney. Torrential rains, and winds up to 135 kms an hour. Caused by an East Coast Low which is centred just off the coast. There have been many hundreds of trees uprooted and fallen onto the roads and houses, 3 houses washed away up the coast, 200,000 houses without powering and 3 people drowned. It is still pouring with rain, thunder and lightening and blowing a gale as I write. Some places have had 300 mls of rain in 24 hours..that is about 12 inches. My daughter has had no power for nearly 24 hours. There are many roads closed because of flooding and trees over the road. I had to drive for half and hour today to an appt and it was pretty awful. The Premier of the state asked businesses to let people go home early as the roads were so dangerous. My son left work early in the city and his usual half hour bus trip home took over one and half hours. The kids school is closed tomorrow as they have no power. They said it will get worse before it gets better and to only venture outside if you have to.
 
Oh dear Bron, so sorry to hear about the terrible weather you are experiencing, I hope you and your family all stay safe and dry and it passes quickly. We tend always to think of you as having good weather, just goes to show you can never rely on Mother Nature.

Sheba sounds very happy and full, I agree with you, not worth bothering to test. I'm sure your DH meant well, written instructions next time! Take care.
 
I'm sure Sheba is a content kitty. It's nice your DH will help out, even if you did have a miscommunication.

That's horrible about your weather. I hope it passes soon and everyone stays safe. Sending prayers.
 
Looks like Sheba had a good nice with no ugly drops. :)

Sorry to hear about the awful weather - hope it passes sooner than expected. Be safe, you and your family.
 
Not a bad night for Sheba despite her MC feast this morning! Stay safe in the terrible weather. Hope it passes ASAP and your daughter is ok without power.
 
Thank you Suki, rhiannon and shadow, carfurby, Wendy and Neko, Patricia and noodle and Anne and Zener for looking in on us.
The bad weather is still with us, but there has been some improvement in the last hour. Terrible night with torrential rains and many more big trees down. My son's family also without power now so all arrived from both families at 7.30am for breakfast (after I got a text at 6.45 am to see if I still had power). Adults worked upstairs ( working from home) on their computers as they could access the Internet here.
Our pool overflowed overnight, despite us watching for it, and it flooded our garage, which is carpeted and doubles as a playroom for the kids. :( So the morning has been spent mopping that up. Still we are better off than a lot of other people.

Sheba had good numbers overnight, down to green, yeh, but seems to have bounced this morning, but I can't see where from. Oh well. She is new best friends with DH:joyful:

Re the bushfires Anne, hopefully they have gone til next year as we are going into winter now. They do say we are a sunburnt country, of droughts and flooding rains ( My Country by Dorethea Mekellar)............
 
Wow! Good luck with that awful weather. I hope it ends soon! We had flooding here in Louisiana last week. I couldn't go out due to roads being closed, ran out of cat food and had to feed Elizabeth some of her HC stash for hypoglycemia! I didn't notice any change in her numbers. :)
 
Good to hear the weather is settling down some! ....also good that you had enough food to feed the whole family breakfast!

Looks like she's bouncing off that 88 from last night..but as we all know, what goes up, usually comes down!

Hope the clean-up goes swiftly and everyone can return to their homes
 
Good weather for snuggling with a kitty, although she may prefer to cuddle with DH now :) beautiful weather here in Perth ;)

Thanks for sharing your metacam experience. Vyktor's vet is back tomorrow so we'll probably be seeing him tomorrow arvo :nailbiting:
 
Hi there - on a health note for humans (I work in public health) - flooded areas are notorious for growing mold, so you may want to do a bleach mixture on the garage carpet. Use 1 part bleach to 9 parts water for a 10% solution. And dry as thoroughly as you can. Or use a product specifically intended to prevent or reduce mold growth.
Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top