4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200 pmps/231 +2/213

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/22 punkin pmps 158 VOMITED

no ketones or DKA - but when he was first diagnosed his breath had "that" smell. i asked the vet a couple of weeks ago if he had had ketones and he said no, but because i'm now having a crisis of confidence, i'm wondering if punkin got checked at the time.

got the pepcid down him about 5 minutes ago. big NO vote on the baby food - i finally opened up a can of salmon ff and added a tsp of it, then he finished the bowl.

i'll wait 25 min and test his BG, then be back.
 
Re: 4/22 punkin pmps 158

Julie: did I miss something? Did you shoot?? If you didn't, then just start counting past +12 so if it's an hour past his normal shot time, then his 158 is at +13, etc. Just checking in on you. Hope he keeps it down. My Gus has had baytril a few times..never more than 1/2 of a 22.7mg tab bid.
 
Re: 4/22 punkin pmps 158

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: yeah that!

no, i haven't shot - thanks marjorie - i'll fix that.

the happy thing is the beans are finally getting to eat too! daryl picked up a rotisserie chicken while on the search for pepcid and the rice is almost done, the brussel sprouts are in the microwave. nom nom nom.

punkin has just finished a brief bath. you'd almost think he thought that was dinner. i'd did get The Look for providing oogie food and holding out on the salmon, but he forgave me when the salmon arrived. all 1 tsp of it. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158

Atta girl....you're doing great!! Glad you get a chance to eat...yummm!!! Here's something else for you.
margaritas.jpg
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

got a 200 at +13.5 - and i think i'll try the baby food first and see if he'll eat it this time. usually this is when he has an entire 3.5 can of FF, but not wanting him to barf, i'll go less volume and see. brb
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

yes, it's probably better to feed less food more often.
"if" he's eating and continues to rise through +14, how do you feel about shooting half his dose?
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

i'm fine with that plan.

i had to mix some salmon into the baby food to get him to eat it. he wouldn't have anything to do with the plain baby food this time. he's probably had less than 1/2 can. so usually between the shot and +3 he has 1.5 cans.

should i wait a bit and try more food? do you think it is ok to go to the FF salmon without the baby food?
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

actually +14 is in 5 minutes, and he's only been done eating that little bit for about 5 minutes.

if i'm waiting to see if he barfs . . . should i try to get more food in him before shooting?
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

i'd let him have whatever he'll eat, but it's probably best if you feed small amounts often rather than overwhelming his tummy with a large portion. if he's not prone to ketones you could also skip the shot tonight and shoot at your regular time (or earlier) in the morning. you'll want to get some insulin into him in the morning, even if it's not a full dose.
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

ok, daryl's testing him now (+14) I think if it's rising, i'll do the half dose and give him more salmon. he's hard to shoot and if his face is buried in food it's a good distraction.

he's purring and licking daryl's hand. he's a compulsive licker and i think it makes him feel better somehow. this is a good sign.
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

14 = 231 i'm going with 3.5 units and will keep an eye on him.

if he vomits again later, what's my process? keep an eye on his BG and if it goes low pull out the hypo stuff? can i give him more pepcid ac if he vomits again, or is that too much in a day?
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200 +14/231

jill, i want to let you go to bed - i'm so aware it's late for you. we'll be ok - and i am so grateful for your help!
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200

julie1220 said:
14 = 231 i'm going with 3.5 units and will keep an eye on him.

if he vomits again later, what's my process? keep an eye on his BG and if it goes low pull out the hypo stuff? can i give him more pepcid ac if he vomits again, or is that too much in a day?
the instrux from my vet were to give a quarter of a 10mg tab of pepcid AC every 12 hours. i really don't know if it's something that can be given more frequently. please cross post your question on Health in case no one stops by here with the answer.

if he vomits again, you'll definitely have to monitor closely. initially his BG may rise (stress from vomiting) and then plummet from not having any food in his tummy.
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200 pmps/231

hmmm, and i've just realized that the baytril is supposed to be given on an empty stomach - 2 hours after he eats. so i'll need to hold food on him for the rest of the night. suddenly have an image of balls juggling in the air. DON'T LET ANY DROP!

thanks everybody for the good cheer tonight. i never got that glass of wine earlier, but fortunately have a gorgeous virtual margarita! i appreciate all of you. let's hope i'm not posting more tonight, except for updating numbers!
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200 pmps/231

you may have to weigh giving him the ab versus getting food into him.
i'll be signing off shortly. if you need help and no one appears to be here please cross-post for help on the Health forum.
i hope he doesn't keep you up all night and he's feeling better by morning...
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200 pmps/231

You can give a max of 5 mg of Pepsid twice a day. I would start with 2.5 mg BID and if that's not working after 12 hours, go to the 5 mg. However, if the vomiting is persisting, you might want to get Punkin in to see the vet.
 
Re: 4/22 punkin +12/158 +13.5/200 pmps/231

ok, jill & sienne, thank you.

i feel some need to also get the AB into him. his mouth looked pretty bad yesterday and even tonight when he was eating, he kept moving his head as though to tip the food away from the owie. i'll keep testing him.
 
his +2 was more like +2.25 . . . i fell asleep. we decided it wasn't cool to give him a new antibiotic as we were headed for bed and not checking him. so just in case he has a reaction to it or anything, we're waiting for morning to give it to him. He seems ok for now.

see you in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top