4/22 Mikan AMPS 330, +2.25 187, +3.5 154, +5 134: PMPS 295, +2 187, +4 137

4/21/24

Good morning.

Another pink start :banghead:
Hope she'll come down gradually, not too fast, not too steeply.
She just doesn't seem to know how to do that :rolleyes:
Come on, girl, time to learn! ;)

Wishing you all a wonderful Monday!
Good morning, Kit, she’ll come down and quick. She clears those bounces fast. She just needed a quick jump to celebrate her nice cycles. :rolleyes:
Hopefully, they will become less. Paws crossed but she is looking so good. You’re doing so great! :kiss:
Hope she slides very gently to nice beachy numbers today. :cool::D
Have a good week ahead :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Good morning, Kit, she’ll come down and quick. She clears those bounces fast. She just needed a quick jump to celebrate her nice cycles. :rolleyes:
Hopefully, they will become less. Paws crossed but she is looking so good. You’re doing so great! :kiss:
Hope she slides very gently to nice beachy numbers today. :cool::D
Have a good week ahead :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Good morning Staci,
Mikan has come down to the blue, skipping the yellow altogether :eek: This kind of sharp drop always makes me very nervous :nailbiting:
But happy to see her down. I just wish I could foresee what is ahead o_O
Wishing you and Ivy a lovely Monday (it's Monday, I know, but still :p) :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Question, because I can't remember - are you feeding the curve to try to slow the drops? I couldn't remember if you were experimenting with that or not. I'm glad to see a blue, but agree it was pretty sharp.
I hope you both have a good day - scritches to Mikan! :bighug:
 
Question, because I can't remember - are you feeding the curve to try to slow the drops? I couldn't remember if you were experimenting with that or not. I'm glad to see a blue, but agree it was pretty sharp.
I hope you both have a good day - scritches to Mikan! :bighug:
Hi Alicia,
I am not very systematic with it. Mikan can drop sharply and sometime keeps going but other times she just stays there. Since I cannot predict it,
I'd feed high LC or low MC at +2 or +3 if she drops down to the low 100s or green from yellow/blue. If she starts (in a rare occasion) under 100, I might go for higher MC at +2ish. I would love to be able to manage, rather than chasing it, but Mikan's so unpredictable that it's hard. She's not so carb sensitive either. When she drops, she goes regardless of what I feed her :rolleyes: but I don't see her jump up even if I feed her higher MC. I'm all confused about this:rolleyes:
 
Good meowning Kit and Mikan!
Looks like our sweet girl was jumping for joy to celebrate her beautiful cycles yesterday.
We know she's gonna clear this super fast and come down to the beach to visit with Nestle.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner on a patio yesterday. Sounds so pleasant :joyful::coffee:

Happy Meownday
upload_2024-4-22_10-55-54.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-4-22_10-55-54.png
    upload_2024-4-22_10-55-54.png
    83.9 KB · Views: 181
Morning Kit, she's on a role again I see.I hope she slides down nice and steady. She's been getting a lot more blue pre shots lately, you're doing a great job with her Kit!
Maybe she needs to go back and do some reading about not too fast and not to steeply
360_F_509275054_2X06YIloeYJYLjHK4SDvCmtKIjl7Lgyh.webp


Or maybe she's reading this :p

360_F_313570541_tsv0HauxTwctpZY5bGaEb1c8Nje1Ewpy.webp
 
Good meowning Kit and Mikan!
Looks like our sweet girl was jumping for joy to celebrate her beautiful cycles yesterday.
We know she's gonna clear this super fast and come down to the beach to visit with Nestle.
Glad to hear you enjoyed your dinner on a patio yesterday. Sounds so pleasant :joyful::coffee:

Happy Meownday
View attachment 69937
Hi Karolina,
I just love the picture! Happy Earth Day!
Mikan's hanging out in the blue zone today, coming down slowly. Maybe more activity in the PM cycle :);)
Can we reserve Nestle for the nighttime beach date? :p
Hope you are having a great Monday, Karolina! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Morning Kit, she's on a role again I see.I hope she slides down nice and steady. She's been getting a lot more blue pre shots lately, you're doing a great job with her Kit!
Maybe she needs to go back and do some reading about not too fast and not to steeply
360_F_509275054_2X06YIloeYJYLjHK4SDvCmtKIjl7Lgyh.webp


Or maybe she's reading this :p

360_F_313570541_tsv0HauxTwctpZY5bGaEb1c8Nje1Ewpy.webp
Hahahaha, Diane, these are so awesome! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
Mikan's definitely reading up on the second book :p She is a fast study!
I don't really know why she just has to jump up so high at the preshot only to come down so quickly o_O
But looks like a mellow cycle now. Maybe planning for an action this evening?
Hope you and Tyler are having a great day, Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Alicia,
I am not very systematic with it. Mikan can drop sharply and sometime keeps going but other times she just stays there. Since I cannot predict it,
I'd feed high LC or low MC at +2 or +3 if she drops down to the low 100s or green from yellow/blue. If she starts (in a rare occasion) under 100, I might go for higher MC at +2ish. I would love to be able to manage, rather than chasing it, but Mikan's so unpredictable that it's hard. She's not so carb sensitive either. When she drops, she goes regardless of what I feed her :rolleyes: but I don't see her jump up even if I feed her higher MC. I'm all confused about this:rolleyes:
It can be hard to figure out a good schedule! I'm lucky that Kit is relatively carb sensitive. It also took me a minute to really stick to feeding the curve, and Kit was dropping fast and then bouncing a lot. What I really took to heart from something Angela told me was - you have to decide on a process and stick with it even when it seems like it's counter what you should do. So if I'm feeding the curve, even when she's higher, I need to stick to that protocol. And most of the time it works (sometimes it fails spectacularly). I hope you're able to figure out a good process. She seems like she's been in the lower numbers a lot and should be getting more used to them, and I'm sure that will help a lot. :bighug:
 
It can be hard to figure out a good schedule! I'm lucky that Kit is relatively carb sensitive. It also took me a minute to really stick to feeding the curve, and Kit was dropping fast and then bouncing a lot. What I really took to heart from something Angela told me was - you have to decide on a process and stick with it even when it seems like it's counter what you should do. So if I'm feeding the curve, even when she's higher, I need to stick to that protocol. And most of the time it works (sometimes it fails spectacularly). I hope you're able to figure out a good process. She seems like she's been in the lower numbers a lot and should be getting more used to them, and I'm sure that will help a lot. :bighug:
I remember your talking about feeding higher when she's higher - although it seems counterintuitive, it makes sense and it's working for you. I've been looking at Mikan's SS in so many ways to see if I can detect any patterns - she is still so volatile but I still can't see a pattern. I am trying to predict what the cycle should look like at +2 and I just need to start experimenting.
This is so above my paygrade :p There are so many feedback loops in the endocrine system that I do one thing and something else kicks in to counter that. I am always one step behind, so it seems!
 
I remember your talking about feeding higher when she's higher - although it seems counterintuitive, it makes sense and it's working for you. I've been looking at Mikan's SS in so many ways to see if I can detect any patterns - she is still so volatile but I still can't see a pattern. I am trying to predict what the cycle should look like at +2 and I just need to start experimenting.
This is so above my paygrade :p There are so many feedback loops in the endocrine system that I do one thing and something else kicks in to counter that. I am always one step behind, so it seems!
I feel the same as you do, Kit. I feel like I’m guessing. I try feeding higher carb (really 9 or 12%, so medium carb if she’s diving) and if Ivy is on a downward deep slide, not much works. And if so, only very briefly.
I’ve never really tried feeding higher (than her 6%) carb when high. ;)
 
I feel the same as you do, Kit. I feel like I’m guessing. I try feeding higher carb (really 9 or 12%, so medium carb if she’s diving) and if Ivy is on a downward deep slide, not much works. And if so, only very briefly.
I’ve never really tried feeding higher (than her 6%) carb when high. ;)
If someone could invent a feline diabetes BG prediction crystal ball, I'd nominate the person for the Nobel Price! (Special Fur-Parents Peace Price ;))
 
I genuinely had help from Angela, Elise and Wendy in figuring out the pattern. I hope that Mikan and Ivy settle into a more regular pattern that helps with something like feeding the curve. There's so many little things that can make it difficult to tweak things. I definitely could have used that prediction crystal ball this morning though! :joyful:
 
Back
Top