nckitties3
Member Since 2013
Don't understand the amps and not entirely sure he didn't get a fur shot this morning, I think I may have felt a damp spot, but I dunno.
nckitties3 said:Don't understand the amps and not entirely sure he didn't get a fur shot this morning, I think I may have felt a damp spot, but I dunno.
nckitties3 said:I'd have to leave the house, you have no idea how loud he screams when he wants to eat! Why do you think he wakes me up all night long? When he decides he's hungry, there is no ignoring it, I've tried. After 30 mins I'm ready to stab myself in the neck with a pencil! Lucian is the most vocally annoying cat I have ever had, I swear!
He's been a grazer for 14+ years, I don't see him ever waiting for 6 hrs to eat, unless his BG's are under control.. When his numbers are close to right, he'll go 5 hrs between meals, no problem, but that's only happened a couple times. He so high so often, he's always hungry. I'm sure if he was at least staying under renal threshold, I could stretch out his meals, but not with the way he is. And he never eats more than 1/4 can anymore, the total he's eating each day hasn't changed much, he's just hungry more often when his numbers are high. When I say hasn't changed, I mean in the last 3 months, the 1st month he was eating 2 cans a day and it's dropped to 1-1.25. The first month, he was starving, now he's hungrier more often when he's running high.
I've tried leaving food out at night, no go on that, they won't eat it after it's been there more than a few minutes. When I say they, I mean none of them, not just Lucian and I get tired of throwing out food. So I never give more than 1/4 can, they won't eat more than that at a meal. Occasionally the feral will eat hers and the others leftovers and puke, so I have to pick up what the others don't finish. Then again, the feral only eats 2-3 times in 18 hrs too. She normally wants to eat every 6-7 hrs. And Patches? I worry about her, she doesn't eat 1/2 can a day, I don't know how she isn't loosing a lot of weight. She might eat 1/8 can 4 times a day, maybe. Been that way since the wet food changeover. She's still my problem child, must be that multicolor thing, like the torti.
nckitties3 said:Lord such strange numbers.
Edit - Could he have gotten a fur shot last night and I didn't notice? It is so hard for me to tell most of the time. For those of you that don't know, I have medical issues that cause hand tremors and numb hands and fingers, so tests and shots are difficult for me. I'm really wondering, cause he was coming down slow and nice for the last to day since the missed shot.
nckitties3 said:I've considered that too, since there are some cats whose meds last a little longer than 12 hrs, couldn't there also be some that last less than 12 hrs? Makes sense to me, but what do you do about it? The other way around, you lower the dose, what to do, give his shots every 11 hrs? I'm completely lost on that one. Not to mention it would be a crazy schedule to try to keep up with.
MommaOfMuse said:Okay here is how I did it with Musette before I finally was able to switch her to Levemir. (Warning this is NOT an accepted protocol with Lantus in general). But first I ran two curves on her...First day I tested amps, +2, +4, +6, +8, +10, pmps..the next day tested amps, +1,+3, +5, +7, +9, +11, pmps so I knew exactly where her onset and nadir was. Then I took her total dose and divided it in two. I gave 1/2 her normal dose at her normal time, then waited for its onset and gave the second half of the dose so basically the second dose was hitting onset as the first half was hitting nadir and she was starting to rise off it, that way the second half of the dose was starting to work and helped extend her surf causing her to nadir on it later in the cycle...
So for those that may be reading this....Split dosing is a custom protocol and is only used with experience care givers that have a cat that is not responding to the tried and true Lantus protocol...this is definitely an "Off Label" use of Lantus.
Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang