4/22 | Kosmo: AMPS: 383 | +5: 344 | +9: 338 | PMPS: 331

Kosmo

Member Since 2025
Hello everyone,

Kosmo is now 33 days into his insulin treatment.

Looking at his spreadsheet (SS), do you think he's making overall progress?

I recently switched him from kibble to raw, and for the past two days, he’s been eating only raw hachee meat.

I also started a new exercise routine with him two days ago:
For each of his five daily meals, I divide the food into 7 small bites and make him walk or run about 57 meters per bite, roughly 400 meters per meal. That adds up to around 2 kilometers of walking/running per day.

He really seems to enjoy it and runs like a little tiger around the house to earn his food.

Here’s a video of him eating raw meat for the first time!
https://player.vimeo.com/video/1077702200?h=3a31f28ef5
 
Last edited:
Hello everyone,

Kosmo is now 33 days into his insulin treatment.

Looking at his spreadsheet (SS), do you think he's making overall progress?

I recently switched him from kibble to raw, and for the past two days, he’s been eating only raw hachee meat.

I also started a new exercise routine with him two days ago:
For each of his five daily meals, I divide the food into 7 small bites and make him walk or run about 57 meters per bite, roughly 400 meters per meal. That adds up to around 2 kilometers of walking/running per day.

He really seems to enjoy it and runs like a little tiger around the house to earn his food.

Here’s a video of him eating raw meat for the first time!
https://player.vimeo.com/video/1077702200?h=3a31f28ef5
I can tag a few members for you
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Bandit's Mom
@Marje and Gracie
 
I recently switched him from kibble to raw, and for the past two days, he’s been eating only raw hachee meat.
If Kosmo is only eating raw now , please add that to your signature
After you have Royal canin diabetics wet food only you can just put a / raw diet and the date you started feeding it.
Boy it looks like he really loves it
Tap on your name up top then tap on signature and add it then tap save

@Kosmo
 
Are you still feeding the Royal Canin canned food? If so, it's a medium carb food. Also, with the raw diet, are you adding supplements to ensure it's a nutritionally complete diet?

It doesn't look to me like you're following TR all that closely.
 
Hello everyone,

Kosmo is now 33 days into his insulin treatment.

Looking at his spreadsheet (SS), do you think he's making overall progress?

I recently switched him from kibble to raw, and for the past two days, he’s been eating only raw hachee meat.

I also started a new exercise routine with him two days ago:
For each of his five daily meals, I divide the food into 7 small bites and make him walk or run about 57 meters per bite, roughly 400 meters per meal. That adds up to around 2 kilometers of walking/running per day.

He really seems to enjoy it and runs like a little tiger around the house to earn his food.

Here’s a video of him eating raw meat for the first time!
https://player.vimeo.com/video/1077702200?h=3a31f28ef5

Love that video! That's exactly what those canines and incisors are made for--biting into meat!
 
Wow! He's had a lot of blue and green dips lately! Hopefully those keep coming and more besides. :cool::D:D:D:cool: keep it up, Kosmo! Or, uh, keep it down! :woot:

I read that for raw diet there needs to be a supplement to supply the nutrients in bones that he would get if he got ahold of a whole mouse, but wouldn't get with just muscle tissue. :bookworm:

I love your video! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Kobe (Dean and Lesley) MO

Yes, I do add a complete supplement to the meat, thank you for the concern!

And @Sienne and Gabby (GA), the reason I haven’t been following the TR protocol very closely over the past few days is that I’ve been transitioning my cat from a diet with 2% carbohydrates (on a dry matter basis) to a raw diet with 0% carbs. I wanted to proceed cautiously during this change to avoid any risk of an insulin overdose.

From now on, I’ll be following the protocol as I should.

@Marielle
Yes, exactly! I was amazed at how eagerly he went for the raw meat the first time, he even tried tearing it apart with his teeth!
 
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
@Kobe (Dean and Lesley) MO

Yes, I do add a complete supplement to the meat, thank you for the concern!

And @Sienne and Gabby (GA), the reason I haven’t been following the TR protocol very closely over the past few days is that I’ve been transitioning my cat from a diet with 2% carbohydrates (on a dry matter basis) to a raw diet with 0% carbs. I wanted to proceed cautiously during this change to avoid any risk of an insulin overdose.

From now on, I’ll be following the protocol as I should.

@Marielle
Yes, exactly! I was amazed at how eagerly he went for the raw meat the first time, he even tried tearing it apart with his teeth!
Remember there is no difference between 2% and 0% carbs for how it affects the BG. I agree with Sienne that it will work better for him if you can stick with the TR protocol a little more closely and not hold doses that aren’t working well too long.

Greta that you got him on a balanced raw diet and he’s exercising. That is an excellent thing!!! You are a great kitty parent.
 
Back
Top