? 4/22 Evey AMPS 164 +6 113 +11 142 PMPS 149 +1 149 +2 137 +3 124 +4 115

Evey

Member Since 2024
? - 4/21 Evey Increase dose? AMPS 175 +4 137 +6 160 +8 160 +10 140 +11 173 PMPS 175 +2 142 +4 137 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

Day 5 on 0.25U

Her BG has been blue in the last 2 days. Her AMPS was 164 this morning. The preshot number was a bit lower and it's a work day nobody monitors her. so I still gave 0.25U to be safe.

Did the reduction fail? I am still don't really know how to tell if a reduction fail or not? Thank you~

BG 417-22.png
 

Attachments

  • BG 417-22.png
    BG 417-22.png
    69.7 KB · Views: 288
When you take a reduction, you want the new dose to give you green nadirs. You do have to wait for any bounce to resolve first, to make sure you aren't increasing because bounce numbers are high. Thankfully Evey doesn't bounce much. The other thing to consider after a reduction is if there is still some of the depot of the previous larger depot in play. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Starting the night of the 20th, all the 0.5 unit depot is gone and you are now seeing what 0.25 units can do. No more greens, so the reduction did not work.
 
When you take a reduction, you want the new dose to give you green nadirs. You do have to wait for any bounce to resolve first, to make sure you aren't increasing because bounce numbers are high. Thankfully Evey doesn't bounce much. The other thing to consider after a reduction is if there is still some of the depot of the previous larger depot in play. The larger depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction. Starting the night of the 20th, all the 0.5 unit depot is gone and you are now seeing what 0.25 units can do. No more greens, so the reduction did not work.

Thank you Wendy~ The 0.5U depot was gone on the same day we took her to the vet. We took her to the vet in the morning of 20th. I thought she might be stressed out because of the trip and maybe that caused her stressed out and affected her BG. I will increase it to 0.5U tonight. Do you know how long the BG would stay high if it's caused by stress? probably not more a day?
 
Length of time in high numbers may depend on circumstances and the cat, but I remember one cat on an OTJ trial so stressed he hit the 400's. :eek: And dropped to under 100 over night. Typically numbers come down relatively quickly. Some cats go lower at the vet, like my girl did.
 
Length of time in high numbers may depend on circumstances and the cat, but I remember one cat on an OTJ trial so stressed he hit the 400's. :eek: And dropped to under 100 over night. Typically numbers come down relatively quickly. Some cats go lower at the vet, like my girl did.

one cat on an OTJ trial so stressed he hit the 400's. :eek: And dropped to under 100 over night.
That's crazy. Good thing is it went down quite fast.

I gave her 0.5U tonight. But it seems she still stays blue and no green tonight. :(
 
Back
Top