4/22 Darcy PMPS 169/159 92 - 82 - karo - 92 -

Oh well... 308 :facepalm::arghh:
Hi Suzanne, reading your spreadsheet notes, Dolly walks ( I think I told you yesterday) like she has neuropathy but it could be arthritis for both Darcy and Dolly. It really pains me to watch Dolly walk. Right before my accident I got a estimate from the vet for X-rays of her joints and also an ultrasound of her nasal passages. I don’t want anyone else taking her for either. I gave Dolly Zobaline for 3 months two different times with no change.

As far as Darcy’s numbers, couldn’t this be from skipping yesterday? Like a fur shot, it takes a few cycles to get back to lower numbers.

How are you feeling? How is your back? All this stress can’t be helping. I hope Darcy comes back down later on. I hope you are feeling better and the day gets brighter. Sending big hugs to all of you, Ginger too :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
His dose has been erratic lately, rightfully so. Give this dose a chance to reestablish everything. Use today to give pokie break and for you to get some stuff caught up.
 
Darcy is definitely getting a break today. I am going to take him to the vet soon, but I'm not paying for a bunch of x-rays right now. I will pay for some blood work to rule out other causes of his poor appetite (and good grief that's enough expense right there!) It honestly doesn't look like pain to me this time or the stiffness of arthritis. I've seen him limp before and this is not that.

But anyway, it's taken him most of the days to get back into the yellows. He's had a break from constant pestering by me.... and he just at some Tiny Tiger food :-)
 
Hi Suzanne, reading your spreadsheet notes, Dolly walks ( I think I told you yesterday) like she has neuropathy but it could be arthritis for both Darcy and Dolly. It really pains me to watch Dolly walk. Right before my accident I got a estimate from the vet for X-rays of her joints and also an ultrasound of her nasal passages. I don’t want anyone else taking her for either. I gave Dolly Zobaline for 3 months two different times with no change.

As far as Darcy’s numbers, couldn’t this be from skipping yesterday? Like a fur shot, it takes a few cycles to get back to lower numbers.

How are you feeling? How is your back? All this stress can’t be helping. I hope Darcy comes back down later on. I hope you are feeling better and the day gets brighter. Sending big hugs to all of you, Ginger too :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thanks, Adrienne. My back is a lot better, still not back to "normal" but I'm getting there. Off to the chiropractor in 30 minutes, in fact! Thanks for your kind thoughts! Isn't this group great?!
 
Darcy is definitely getting a break today. I am going to take him to the vet soon, but I'm not paying for a bunch of x-rays right now. I will pay for some blood work to rule out other causes of his poor appetite (and good grief that's enough expense right there!) It honestly doesn't look like pain to me this time or the stiffness of arthritis. I've seen him limp before and this is not that.

But anyway, it's taken him most of the days to get back into the yellows. He's had a break from constant pestering by me.... and he just at some Tiny Tiger food :)
You both deserve a reprieve! And even though the numbers are high, it's a nice curve of colors at least.

And for your back - have you tried (sports) massage in addition to the chiropractor? It works really well for me. Stress does all sorts of unexpected things to you. My insurance doesn't cover it unfortunately but can use HSA money with a prescription.
 
Darcy is definitely getting a break today. I am going to take him to the vet soon, but I'm not paying for a bunch of x-rays right now. I will pay for some blood work to rule out other causes of his poor appetite (and good grief that's enough expense right there!) It honestly doesn't look like pain to me this time or the stiffness of arthritis. I've seen him limp before and this is not that.

But anyway, it's taken him most of the days to get back into the yellows. He's had a break from constant pestering by me.... and he just at some Tiny Tiger food :)
Suzanne, I just looked at the Chewy site for Tiny Tiger chicken pate and according to the caloric count it is 19.75% carbs. Isn't that high for a diabetic? Did I calculate something wrong. I was using the info on Chewy and the caloric calculator provided by this group. Maybe you feed a different Tiny Tiger - I don't know. I'm just looking for different low carb foods.
 
Thanks, Adrienne. My back is a lot better, still not back to "normal" but I'm getting there. Off to the chiropractor in 30 minutes, in fact! Thanks for your kind thoughts! Isn't this group great?!
Hope the chiropractor performs instant miracles on your back Suzanne. Yes, I always say “these are best friends I will probably never meet”. I’ve never met so many wonderful caring people ever. I am so grateful for friends like you. I hope Darcy’s numbers get to where you want them and he is safe. Take good care. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Suzanne, I just looked at the Chewy site for Tiny Tiger chicken pate and according to the caloric count it is 19.75% carbs. Isn't that high for a diabetic? Did I calculate something wrong. I was using the info on Chewy and the caloric calculator provided by this group. Maybe you feed a different Tiny Tiger - I don't know. I'm just looking for different low carb foods.
I was told that Tiny Tiger pates were the same as Fancy Feast Pates. Now I am confused. I need to find an up to date food chart (don't think it will be on Dr. Lisa's chart since hers is older and Chewy had not come out with their Tiny Tiger line at the last time she updated it.)

That brings up a subject about pet food lists. Since Dr. Lisa's list was last updated... there are lots of new foods and many of the older foods have changed their formulas. I don't really trust a lot of the data that I get from pet food lists anymore... but have nothing else to go on.

Oh, the Tiny Tiger Turkey and Giblets says it is 13% carbs on a Dry Matter Basis. But I don't think that's the number that we want.

ETA: Now I'm seeing lower carbs... like 9% confused.
 
Last edited:
I was told that Tiny Tiger pates were the same as Fancy Feast Pates. Now I am confused. I need to find an up to date food chart (don't think it will be on Dr. Lisa's chart since hers is older and Chewy had not come out with their Tiny Tiger line at the last time she updated it.)

That brings up a subject about pet food lists. Since Dr. Lisa's list was last updated... there are lots of new foods and many of the older foods have changed their formulas. I don't really trust a lot of the data that I get from pet food lists anymore... but have nothing else to go on.

Oh, the Tiny Tiger Turkey and Giblets says it is 13% carbs on a Dry Matter Basis. But I don't think that's the number that we want.

ETA: Now I'm seeing lower carbs... like 9% confused.
You are okay. I just checked the Chewy website on the turkey and giblets pate for Tiny Tiger pate and it is 6.9% per the caloric calculator that we have been given on this site. That is not as bad as the chicken pate. I hate to say it but I find the seafoods (fish) lower in carbs but this site does not recommend them. You have had no problem bringing Darcy down so you keep on doing what you are doing. Dr. Lisa's chart is four years old so there could be many changes since then.
 
You are okay. I just checked the Chewy website on the turkey and giblets pate for Tiny Tiger pate and it is 6.9% per the caloric calculator that we have been given on this site. That is not as bad as the chicken pate. I hate to say it but I find the seafoods (fish) lower in carbs but this site does not recommend them. You have had no problem bringing Darcy down so you keep on doing what you are doing. Dr. Lisa's chart is four years old so there could be many changes since then.
Wait. How did you calculate that? What is the calculator of which you speak? THANKS!
 
You are okay. I just checked the Chewy website on the turkey and giblets pate for Tiny Tiger pate and it is 6.9% per the caloric calculator that we have been given on this site. That is not as bad as the chicken pate. I hate to say it but I find the seafoods (fish) lower in carbs but this site does not recommend them. You have had no problem bringing Darcy down so you keep on doing what you are doing. Dr. Lisa's chart is four years old so there could be many changes since then.
Wait. How did you calculate that? What is the calculator of which you speak? THANKS!
 
I know this is erratic and I'm sorry, but I just couldn't take shooting 12.5 (or 15) units. He was dropping at his normal PMPS time (169 to 159 45 minutes later). I finally shot 10 units, and then only because I got him to eat.
 
You both deserve a reprieve! And even though the numbers are high, it's a nice curve of colors at least.

And for your back - have you tried (sports) massage in addition to the chiropractor? It works really well for me. Stress does all sorts of unexpected things to you. My insurance doesn't cover it unfortunately but can use HSA money with a prescription.
Paws crossed for a steady night.

The link to yesterday's post.
OOps. Sorry. I forgot this morning to link yesterday's!
 
Wait. How did you calculate that? What is the calculator of which you speak? THANKS!
Yes, @Summer and Susie how did you get the 6.9%? I converted the info from this sticky into a formula on a separate tab in my s/s, but you need the As Fed or DMB values and I can't see them on the chewy site. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/calculating-calories-from-carbohydrates.205128/

Having said that, I saw in the chewy Q&A that someone requested the ME values (isn't that what we're looking at?) and it gave the info - "This recipe has a percentage of calories from protein of 44.0%, from fat of 51.0%, and from carbohydrates of 6.0%"

These look like a good new not too expensive alternative to try!
 
Yes, @Summer and Susie how did you get the 6.9%? I converted the info from this sticky into a formula on a separate tab in my s/s, but you need the As Fed or DMB values and I can't see them on the chewy site. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/calculating-calories-from-carbohydrates.205128/

Having said that, I saw in the chewy Q&A that someone requested the ME values (isn't that what we're looking at?) and it gave the info - "This recipe has a percentage of calories from protein of 44.0%, from fat of 51.0%, and from carbohydrates of 6.0%"

These look like a good new not too expensive alternative to try!
Well, right now Darcy likes it and it's one of the few foods he is eating. Appetite has been bad for a while now and walking is bad.
 
:bighug: I understand!

Minnie's faves right now are the chicken frickazee and the truluxe peking ducken (both are more like shreds, less like pate) and the tic tac whoa pate. Once you find something they like, you stick with it (until they stop liking it of course!) Thanks to you and Mr Darcy, I have just ordered a mixed box of the tiny tiger to try since the numbers look right!
 
I was told that Tiny Tiger pates were the same as Fancy Feast Pates. Now I am confused. I need to find an up to date food chart (don't think it will be on Dr. Lisa's chart since hers is older and Chewy had not come out with their Tiny Tiger line at the last time she updated it.)

That brings up a subject about pet food lists. Since Dr. Lisa's list was last updated... there are lots of new foods and many of the older foods have changed their formulas. I don't really trust a lot of the data that I get from pet food lists anymore... but have nothing else to go on.

Oh, the Tiny Tiger Turkey and Giblets says it is 13% carbs on a Dry Matter Basis. But I don't think that's the number that we want.

ETA: Now I'm seeing lower carbs... like 9% confused.
Check out the Think Tank forum. There is an updated food list on there including new foods since Dr. Lisa last updated hers!
 
:bighug: I understand!

Minnie's faves right now are the chicken frickazee and the truluxe peking ducken (both are more like shreds, less like pate) and the tic tac whoa pate. Once you find something they like, you stick with it (until they stop liking it of course!) Thanks to you and Mr Darcy, I have just ordered a mixed box of the tiny tiger to try since the numbers look right!
Darcy likes that Weruva Chicken FrickAZee too!
 
Tiny Tiger is safe (think I have info on desktop, tomorrow I will check). You want the ME value or As Fed. Go to this site for food list. It's updated constantly. Not in Alpha order though. It goes by phos order.

http://www.felinecrf.org/diet_and_nutrition.htm
Thank you, Paula. That is a great list. I have used that list before and just forgot about it! I just wish it was sortable to be alphabetical order. If you find the Tiny Tiger tomorrow, let me know. I'll write down the info.
 
Back
Top