4/22 Bronx AMPS 96, 2nd BCS in a row

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bronx's dad (GA)

Member Since 2016
yesterday

These low numbers, without the influence of R, are not normal for Bronx. And his PMPS shot was lowered from 36u to 30u. When he was trending lower in the past he wouldn't eat much, but he is eating like his old hungry self. Going for a hike & won't be home all day to monitor, so dropped him from 30u to 20u. Always have R if he goes pink when I return from the hike.
 
Last edited:
A hike sounds wonderful! Going to try and get out tomorrow which should be beautiful here after the nasty weather passes today.

I wonder if Bronx is one of the lucky ones that the trial is working for?

Keep us posted and enjoy your day! :)
 
It was probably a good idea to drop the dose a bit more and see what happens. The tumor may be revving down. If this is the case, Bronx's insulin needs could change dramatically.
 
Honestly, I don't remember. I often rely on Julie and Wendy to keep track of the acro kitties. @Sandy and Black Kitty has been around longer than I have and she may have a better recall since many of them have both IAA and acro and she's often following those cats.
 
Honestly, I don't remember. I often rely on Julie and Wendy to keep track of the acro kitties. @Sandy and Black Kitty has been around longer than I have and she may have a better recall since many of them have both IAA and acro and she's often following those cats.
Thanks. I think I am safe to go out, his +2.5 is 186. Even though it's MC food influenced, I think he will be in the yellows/pinks by the time I return at about +6 or +7.
 
Last edited:
Wowza!
Honestly I'm not sure if that sort of drop in insulin need is common for acro. At first glance it looks like IAA breaking however your signature indicates IAA was negative. Can you tell me what the IAA result was in terms of the % ?
 
I agree with Sandy, I don't think I have seen big drops in insulin needs, for acro kitty's confirmed not IAA. Suki's Crystal did a big drop from around 60 to 45 Lev, and corresponding drop on R, but she could not get IAA testing done so we only can speculate that was at play.

Having said that, a drop fro 35 to 30 is not what I would call a big drop percentage wise and the 35 unit depot is very much in play. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles, and I think maybe up to 8 in larger doses. We have yet to see if 30 is too little or too much insulin. It would be exciting if the cabergoline was kicking in. Given that it is a player in the endocrine system, it's not surprising that changes may take a while to play out.

A little trick I did when Neko went plunging down the dosing ladder, was to raise the reduction point to 70, as per the CSU IM vet suggestion. Both times after SRT she had some really active weeks of reductions, sometimes as much as two a week. The higher reduction point gave me a bit of cushion. Some other kitties here have done the same, But most of the time I would wait at least four cycles between reductions, unless she did a real dive on me.

Enjoy your hike today. Looks like Bronx will be safe.
 
Wow, must be scary and exciting at the same time. Chino appears to respond much better to Lantus when I don't use R. Is it possible something similar might be happening with Bronx?
 
Wow, must be scary and exciting at the same time. Chino appears to respond much better to Lantus when I don't use R. Is it possible something similar might be happening with Bronx?
No idea, because I hardly let him go without R once he hits yellows. Maybe I should try and stay away from R but I think he would be at 40u or more if I strictly stick to Lev. I actually think the tumor taking a nap causes the 2-3 days of low #s. A week from Monday he goes in for SRT so everything will have to be rethought but the vet said it will not be instantaneous and he had one cat that didn't respond at all to the SRT. I pray Bronx responds to it well!
 
Last edited:
No idea, because I hardly let him go without R once he hits yellows. Maybe I should try and stay away from R but I think he would be at 40u or more if I strictly stick to Lev.
His numbers are looking so good. It seems what you have been doing is working. Antijinx. Will be interesting to see what the next couple of days have in store.
 
His numbers are looking so good. It seems what you have been doing is working. Antijinx. Will be interesting to see what the next couple of days have in store.
He has done this before for a few days and then we get pinks all over the SS, I really think it's the tumor playing games. Getting that sucker zapped soon :woot:
 
but the vet said it will not be instantaneous and he had one cat that didn't respond at all to the SRT
First time, I gave Neko a reduction for the ride home. She held the reduction and had another one shortly after. ECID. Most kitties take a least a couple of weeks, some take a few months. Depends where in the life cycle the tumor cells are when the radiation is done. The SRT just neuters the cells so they can't reproduce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top