? 4/22 Benny, AMPS 105

Erin & Scott

Member Since 2019
Previous

I'm so baffled by what's going on with Benny. He's at the vet right now with Scott, so we're hoping to get some insight, but since we started him back on insulin a week ago, he's just not following predictable patterns at all. Previous to his going OTJ, he was very predictable, so now I don't know what to think.

Initially he was responding well to the 0.25u we were giving him, but then we started seeing his numbers holding steady or actually increasing after his shot. So we went up to 0.5u yesterday, and his AM cycle was back to "normal" with a nice PMPS of 96. However, after his next dose, his BG actually started rising.

He was at a good AMPS, and he had dropped nicely at +1, but I'll have to wait till he's back from the vet to test again. I'll be interested to hear what the vet thinks, but I'd also welcome any insight from folks here. I suspect that he has something going on - perhaps an infection - that knocked him out of remission in the first place, but it's so hard to tell. He doesn't have any overt symptoms, other than a somewhat reduced appetite.
 
Hi, hope you've learned more by now. Perhaps a blood glucose curve for am insulin shot plus another for pm insulin shot would be helpful. Please let us know how things are going!
 
We have; we've taken him off of one of the meds he was on, and off the insulin as well, as it was the meds that seemed to be messing with things. We'll continue monitoring closely, just to make sure there's nothing else going on.
 
Back
Top