4/22 Belle AMPS=265 +6=359 +8=264 PMPS=333 +2=242 +3=308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jason & Belle (GA)

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12392

I haven't posted in the last two days because things have been status quo. Since messing with her PM dose on Friday and Saturday, she has been on 2.5 for almost 4 days and then 2.75 for the last day(if 2.75 is putting the stopper halfway between 2.5 and 3.) Her number went steadily up after Friday and after keeping her on a steady 2.5 her numbers have been on the way down. A very clear arc that has showed me just what messing with dosages with no consistency can do. She seems to be back on her way down and is doing great. Happy, eating, and moving around very well(torn cruciate ligament seems to be healing nicely). Her stomach bug seems to be gone and her poops are getting back to normal.

Even though I haven't posted about Belle's BG's, I have been reading the boards. I must say, you all are some of the most supportive, nicest folks I've ever seen on the internet. I told my wife last night that although the stories here may be difficult at times, it's so nice to see a group of folks that cares about their cats as much as we do. It's cathartic to read the posts, and it's comforting to know you are here.

Jason
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265

I saw the note on your SS about the high carb, IBD food. Have you seen Dr. Lisa's site[/b] on feline nutrition? She feeds a raw diet for IBD but I also think she has other recommendations about food for specific conditions.

It looks like you're seeing some movement in Belle's numbers. That's good to see.

This is very much of a community. It's also a community that is all about the health and well being of our our cats. I think we have all experienced the feelings of anxiety and helplessness when it comes to our furry companions. Likewise, we all have had friends and/or family look at us with an eyebrow raised when we say we can't do something because we have to give a shot. While some of the people we care about may not understand, the people here do and we appreciate and applaud the sacrifices we all make to safeguard our companions. The friendships, even if they are virtual, that develop are remarkable. People genuinely care. (I inadvertently clicked on one of the candle Icons a month or so ago. You can't believe what Gabby's condo looked like with the concern people expressed. I also got a ton of PMs, e-mails, etc. People here care.)
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265

Morning Jason! Nice to read your report on Belle today. I looked back and have the link to your last post...I think it was your last one...on Monday. Is that right? We link our last condo to the first post of each day and that way, it is easier for everyone to check back and read what transpired the day before. You will see how easy it is once you get into the swing of things around here. So, here it is:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=12392 last condo

We are here for you and Belle...and I agree with all the nice things you wrote about everyone on this forum. They have all been so supportive of me and my two sugarbabies! We have been coming here since August and the help I have gotten on this board has made all the difference for us. My female, Raja went OTJ on Dec 5th and my male, Shadow is still doing the dance. He is actually doing his own weird dance, LOL, but we are hanging in!

Although it can be time consuming, I invite you to post every day. Please visit other condos and just say hello even if you don't have any words or wisdom....(Would love it if you stopped by to Shadow's condo any time!) We like to laugh a little as we are going through this process of trying to deal with FD. WE like to give a Whole Cat Report...and notated the AMPS for the day. Then, we update as the day goes by. Sometimes, people will see things that we ourselves do not see and they might bring it to our attention. At the very least,it is fun to be all together like this and learn from each other.

Welcome to you and Belle! Please do not hesitate to ask any questions that you might have in your condo of the day too....there are experts here who know so much about so many issues....hope you will become a "regular" here!! Belle has good AMPS today Jason! NIIIIICE! :thumbup
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265

I thought I did put my last condo in the original post, but I'll be sure that they are in there moving forward. With travel for work, there will be days I don't post and unfortunately, days where Belle does not get tested. I just don't think my wife is comfortable doing it on her own. That may change, but it's unlikely.

As for her diet, I have tried everything on the planet other than a raw food diet. One of the main issues is with me traveling, and my wife working, we wouldn't be able to feed her consistently, so the free feeding that she's done all her life works best. The problem there is that I have to balance her needs with the needs of one of my other cats with CRF. A diabetes diet with high protein (and presumably phosphorus) is very bad for CRF. I have tried her on Blue Buffalo Wellness, and she likes it, but it gave her terrible gas. Since we found that she also had a stomach bug, I may try it again when she's 100% over the bug.

Jason
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265

:oops: Oh,apologies.....I guess I missed it. I am so sorry! ohmygod_smile
Good job! Sounds as if you will have some problems getting things worked out as far as consistency...oh well, all we can do is to try. Just do your best!! :roll:
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265

This is the #1 priority in my life, so we will make it work!

PS: DOn't tell my wife, mother or boss I said that! nailbite_smile


Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
:oops: Oh,apologies.....I guess I missed it. I am so sorry! ohmygod_smile
Good job! Sounds as if you will have some problems getting things worked out as far as consistency...oh well, all we can do is to try. Just do your best!! :roll:
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265

Mum's the word! What happens in Lantus Land STAYS in Lantus Land! :lol:
(no one ever really says that...but i thought I'd throw it in there....) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS= 265 +6 359 +8 264

Do you guys have any sense on why she spiked so high at +6 and came back down at +8? I'm still learning how this all works, and that was a confusing one. I tested the +8 264 twice, and got 266 the second time, so at least the meter seems to be working.

Jason
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS=265 +6=359 +8=264

Jason & Belle said:
Do you guys have any sense on why she spiked so high at +6 and came back down at +8? I'm still learning how this all works, and that was a confusing one. I tested the +8 264 twice, and got 266 the second time, so at least the meter seems to be working.

It could be an inverted curve. When a curve is upside down it could mean that either the dose is too high or too low. It could also just be new dose wonkiness (NDW) since this is still relatively soon after you increased Belle's dose. It could mean that something startled Belle and she threw a high number. In other words, give it a chance to see if there's a pattern or if it's a one time occurrence.
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS=265 +6=359 +8=264

Her PMPS was up again but her +2 was the lowest I've seen in a few days. Those numbers could mirror her eating habits. And I'm not sure I'm even at 2.75. It may be what's considered a fat 2.5. I'm basically at the bottom of the 2.5 line.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Jason & Belle said:
Do you guys have any sense on why she spiked so high at +6 and came back down at +8? I'm still learning how this all works, and that was a confusing one. I tested the +8 264 twice, and got 266 the second time, so at least the meter seems to be working.

It could be an inverted curve. When a curve is upside down it could mean that either the dose is too high or too low. It could also just be new dose wonkiness (NDW) since this is still relatively soon after you increased Belle's dose. It could mean that something startled Belle and she threw a high number. In other words, give it a chance to see if there's a pattern or if it's a one time occurrence.
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS=265 +6=359 +8=264

The micro dosing is hard. A magnifying glass or reading glasses may help. What is important is that no matter what you call the dose, you're as consistent as you can be with measuring it.

Any chance you can squeeze in another test tonight? That's a good sized drop early in the cycle. If you're crashing, make sure to leave food out for Belle to munch on.

There are several beans here who have cats with CRF and FD or who have a multiple cat home with different cats with these issues. (I think Linda/Bear is one and maybe WCF/Meowzi.) They typically post on Saturday. You could drop by their condos or post on the Health board for suggestions regarding food.
 
Re: 4/22 Belle AMPS=265 +6=359 +8=264

She's up to 308 at +3, so she is having some big swings. As for dose,I have been consistent, but I probably have been giving her this slightly bigger dose for a few more cycles than I've noted on the spreadsheet. She's still on Amoxicillin for the stomach bug, so as soon as she's done with that, I'm going to start giving her Blue Wilderness again. I wasn't testing regularly when she was eating it initially, but her numbers were in the 200's at her first curve at the vets on 2U, so even though her dose is higher now, without the food, her BG's are higher as well. I'm hoping the food will make a difference.

Edit: I just read about Liver Training School. Although Her BG's aren't falling into the normal range, it sounds like what may be happening to her.


Sienne and Gabby said:
The micro dosing is hard. A magnifying glass or reading glasses may help. What is important is that no matter what you call the dose, you're as consistent as you can be with measuring it.

Any chance you can squeeze in another test tonight? That's a good sized drop early in the cycle. If you're crashing, make sure to leave food out for Belle to munch on.

There are several beans here who have cats with CRF and FD or who have a multiple cat home with different cats with these issues. (I think Linda/Bear is one and maybe WCF/Meowzi.) They typically post on Saturday. You could drop by their condos or post on the Health board for suggestions regarding food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top