? 4/22 AMPS 291, + 2 338 +4 283 +6 261, + 8 265 why highest numbers NOW?

Vasalisa

Member Since 2024
Previous post

We have been in the yellow so long and we were slowly lowering by just a bit and now suddenly the highest numbers I've seen. No outward signs of uti or other infection, (her numbers are higher now than when she DID have a uti). She was actually showing ALOT of sudden improvement over a 2 day period and now this.

I wondered if she has found a random lost Temptation treatment under the couch or something when she was feeling better (she's been mostly staying in one room since diagnosis but was feeling so good she ventured down the stairs two days in a row) but it's been days, her glucose wouldn't still be rising right?

Is this just a factor of unpredictability in the unregulated kitty?? No ketones. Could the insulin have gone bad, nothing unusual happened with it
 
Last edited:
Is there any chance you can get a test later in the cycles once in a while to catch the nadirs just in case she’s going lower than yellow? I don’t think so but it’s possible. I think being a cat and yes they are unpredictable. It’s time for a curve and almost certainly an increase to 1.75 unless you see a bg under 150. It’s the 7th day on 1.5.
 
Is there any chance you can get a test later in the cycles once in a while to catch the nadirs just in case she’s going lower than yellow? I don’t think so but it’s possible. I think being a cat and yes they are unpredictable. It’s time for a curve and almost certainly an increase to 1.75 unless you see a bg under 150. It’s the 7th day on 1.5.
Thank you so much for your reply!! I totally agree, I'm at the beginning of a curve right now, we are approaching + 4 and hopefully I can increase the dose to 1.75 tonight. I am faithfully waiting the 7 days between changes because SLGS says to hold for no less than a week, but it is difficult since it seems like she so obviously needs more insulin! Maybe I'm missing something (that happens a lot lol) and I need to be moving faster?

There was one night where it seemed Meatcat might dip lower than yellow for her PM cycle but of course I wasn't able to get home and test. I definitely think you're right though.

Night time has been the worst lately, I'm caretaking for a friend at night and it seems like the situation is declining, I used to be able to leave and come home to test every once in a while at night but it's been a terrible couple of weeks and I'm not sure where things are headed.

It's good to know it *may* just be another bump on the road to regulation, I feel so ignorant and insufficiant so often on this journey.
 
We all felt just like you when our cars were diagnosed. If you could get rid of the YA dry you could switch to TR but you would need a minimum of 2 tests each cycle, preshots and one other test each cycle. Since you are seeing flat yellow I would just stick with SLGS for now. How long has he been on prednisolone?
 
We all felt just like you when our cars were diagnosed. If you could get rid of the YA dry you could switch to TR but you would need a minimum of 2 tests each cycle, preshots and one other test each cycle. Since you are seeing flat yellow I would just stick with SLGS for now. How long has he been on prednisolone?

Unfortunately the prednisolone has been with us for the entire time we have been together, about 4 years. I'm positive that contributed along with other factors (lifelong high carb dry food till 4 years ago, extremely obese, lost a couple pounds in the last 4 years but still obese) to her diagnosis.

Thank you, I am glad that even if I feel like I'm drowning at least it's an average response- it genuinely feels comforting to hear that lol
 
Back
Top