4/22/18 Olive AMPS 145; +5=55; +5.5=47; +6.5=52,63; +8=90; PMPS 304; +4=210; +6=97; +10.5=189

Status
Not open for further replies.
:eek: Olive, please head back closer to the shore! Of course she picks a day when you have lots of things to get done to visit the sharks. Oh our sugar babies and their timing! o_O
 
:eek: Olive, please head back closer to the shore! Of course she picks a day when you have lots of things to get done to visit the sharks. Oh our sugar babies and their timing! o_O

Timing is everything. But all the stuff I need to do is at home so it's not to bad.
 
She is handling this very well. Alert active really liking the extra fuds. Coming up slow on 6% carbs. Maybe I need to change to 12%???? I don't want to sky rocket her to the moon.
 
Last edited:
Olive is back on her board. Totally skipped the 70s & 80s, guess she isn't a disco kitty. So I open the new cat litter and this brand comes with a free mouse toy. Toy is cute and soft but it's ears are covered in sequins. To me that's a choke hazard. So I spend next hour cutting the sequins off, and PJ is the one who claimed the toy. She is flipping it, dropped it in the water bowl, carrying it around the room. She is having a ball with it.
 
I think for a recent diabetic it is 1 number under 50. For long-term diabetics it is 3 (on separate days). If she goes into the 30s it's an automatic reduction. I always use discretion when considering whether to do a reduction, but since Olive is recently diagnosed, I think your best bet is to follow the protocol.

Surf safe, Olive! I'm up on the beach, but I've got my eye on you and LagoonMeisterin China and the deputies will make sure you are OK. Now, come down from that bounce!
~ LagoonMeister Rusty
 
Yes I agree with Ella, it's 1 number under 50 for a recent diabetic.
Congratulations Olive; I believe that's your first reducie!
 
This is where I got the reduction info of nadir 40-50 on 3 separate days.

http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm


Phase 4: Reducing the dose

When the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a healthy cat and stays under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week, attempt to reduce the dose. Alternatively, if the nadir glucose concentration is 40 - <50 mg/dl at least three times on separate days, try lowering the dose. If the cat drops below 40 mg/dl once, reduce the dose immediately! The reduction is done very slowly in a step-by-step manner (0.25 or 0.5 IU increments). At each newly reduced dose, try to make sure the cat is still stable in the normal range before reducing the dose further.

If I reduce in morning should I reduce by 0.25? I don't think she will hold reduction, but you never know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top