4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 / +11 = 123 12 = 99/ +12.5 = 86

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262

Hi guys .. sunny yellow for yemala today .. hopefully blues and greens are in the near future ... have a great day!
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240

Mama bean still too sick to take the +3 reading this morning. Been in bed trying to kick the crud. But her +6 numbers have stayed in the yellow. I'll try to get the +9 later this afternoon.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

Okay, now she's got a +11 of 123. What do I shoot? I need some advice here.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

I'm not an expert, but I'll take a look at the SS and see anything stands out to me!
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

I'm not able to see the spreadsheet, and I wasn't able to track backwards on your link to yesterday's conversation about dose.

I see that Sienne recommended .5 for today. If you don't feel comfortable, you could do a BCS dose of .25. But if you can monitor, since you don't have a shed built up yet, you could go with the .5. Are you able to monitor tonight?
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

Also, don't feed now. Test again 15 minutes before shot time to see if she's rising.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

She is due to eat and receive a dose at 6 PM. I will test before doing either.

I have reset the spreadsheet so it should show up. She's been on Lantus a grand total of 3 days. A disastrous first night has made us cautious. A dose of 1 unit sent her into hypo, and we had a long night keeping her with us.

I can shoot a tiny dose, if the word comes down to do so.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

Good, your spreadsheet link works!

I would be concerned myself. I don't think I have the experience to be of value to you, though.

The fact that she's dropping now, at the end of the cycle, catches my attention. If she isn't coming up at shot time, I would think about stalling, at the very least. I don't think, given your recent experience, that I would shoot a dropping number.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

I'm still holding off, but the 4 civvie kitties are starving. I'll have to feed soon, even if I don't shoot insulin.

I'll take another peek at her bg in a few more minutes. Any advice?
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

Can you put her in another room while you feed the other kitties? Once you've fed her, you won't really know what you're dealing with. You don't want to shoot a number that's rising only because of food.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123

All right - she's at +12, and her bg is falling. It's now at 99. I have to feed them now - she's so hungry - but I'm holding off on insulin. I need some advice on what to shoot, if anything.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123 12 = 9

Cathy - I can put her elsewhere while others feed, but she does have to eat eventually. The question is, when?

Poor thing. She won't understand why mama hates her so much.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123 12 = 9

She won't have to wait forever. I know, it's hard.

You can stall and hour, and then either shoot, or BCS (reduce to a bic Chicken s**t dose!). I think what we don't like to do is both stall TWO hours AND BCS.

You have so little experience since re-starting, this is tough. I think you probably want to try to get some insulin into her, but you need to see that BG rise -- that's what I think.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123 12 = 9

I just realized you posted her +12, and it's falling. I would not shoot now. I would stall. Test again in 30 minutes. 15 if you can't stand it. nailbite_smile
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123 12 = 9

Am stalling. She's in the bathroom, attempting to rip the door down as her minions (all other cats) eat happily. She hates it.

Her bgs have fallen through the day, and that's on a mini-dose of .5. Man, what is it with this cat?

I'll test again at 6:30 and see where we are.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123 12 = 9

That sounds like a plan. Post at 6:30. I'll be around -- hopefully, more experienced people too!! But see if she's going up, or still going down. That should give you good information.
 
4/21 Yemala AMPS 262 ~+6 = 240 +9= 218 +11 = 123 12 = 99 +12.5 = 86

Ran out of room in the subject line.

At 12.5, Mala is at 86. Still dropping.
 
I don't think you can shoot this dropping number.

You can either stall further, to see whether she levels out in an hour, so that you could give a token dose -- which might be .25 -- or you can skip the shot tonight.

I wish someone more experienced were here to help with that choice, but I think you've ruled out shooting now.
 
Kathy is right, your choices at this point are to either keep stalling until she turns upward, or skip the shot. You don't have enough data to shoot this low yet. Be back, I want to take a better look at your spreadsheet.
 
I'm guessing (based on clearly not enough data) that Yemala may (I'm really hedging here.) have a late nadir. What that means is if you push the cycle ahead by 6 hours it will explain the drop at shot time. If you knew this was the case, you could shoot because you would know that by +6 her numbers would be high. This may also be the bounce from the 27 the other day clearing. Of course, based on the 3 days Yemala's been on Lantus, this could just be your kitty messing with you.

You don't have the data yet to shoot this low. Further, I would not suggest that you shoot a dropping number. (Been there. Done that. Don't recommend it unless you really know what you're doing and know your cat.)

For now, your best bet is to stall. I know Yemala wants to chew your ankle off. You really need to see that numbers are heading back up. Generally, we don't suggest that a newbie shoot below a BG of 150.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala +11 = 123 12 = 99/ +12.5 = 86 13 = 76

So is this stall both food and insulin? I will do whatever is best for her.

She's a stubborn feline, and it figures she won't show a predictable trend like other kitties do. She hasn't even been on the Lantus long enough to do a proper curve yet - we had planned that for Saturday.

So I'm supposed to continue testing and hold off food and insulin, right?

+13 = 76. She's still falling.
 
That's exactly right. If you feed, you'll get a food influenced number. You could then shoot with false confidence and watch the numbers drop. Right now, it's best to hold off and see what the numbers do. Hopefully, they will turn around. In general, the most you would wait is until +14.

One question -- can you afford to shoot late? If you do, your AM shot is 12 hours from whatever time your shoot tonight. It will take a couple of days to get back on schedule.
 
Yes, I can. I'm ABD history medievalist; technically I'm reading, researching, translating and transcribing, and writing now. Kitty can get later shots.

She's still dropping. +13 is 76.
 
I have another question. Yemala was on insulin before, correct? What insulin and what was her breakthrough dose then? How long was she on insulin then? Ok, I guess that was several questions. :lol:

You have probably told the story before, but I don't think I have visited your condo before so I'm trying to get caught up. Sorry...
 
I remember dissertation days! I'm very glad I'm on the other side of it and agree to be on committees. It's much nicer to ask the questions than have to answer them.

So, no worries about time. Just so you know, the most you can typically move shot times is by 15 min. per shot or 30 min. per day.

I'd test again at +13.5. To be honest, I'm guessing this is going to be a skipped shot. You don't have the data to shoot this low and if you delay too long, your PM shot time will end up being so late that you won't be able to get tests during the cycle when you need to. If you end up skipping tonight, I'd suggest lowering Yemala's dose to 0.25u in the AM.

This kind of situation happens. It's likely that by changing Yemala's food to low carb, her BG overall is lower. You have to adjust the initial dose down to a level where you can safely shoot twice a day.
 
Re: 4/21 Yemala +11 = 123 12 = 99/ +12.5 = 86 13.5=76

Mala has been on LC food consistently for 5 years. She's had no change in her diet at all.

She was diagnosed in May of 2006. She went on Vetsulin at first. The vet, who was not hip to home testing, had us shooting 2 units, but her PS numbers always wound up +300.

After a few weeks of this, the board recommended we start reducing doses. We dropped to 1 unit to start, but she was still high at PS time. We dropped to .75, and her numbers came down considerably.

After one month, we were faced with choices - either shoot really low numbers with mini-doses (under 150 shooting .25) or skip doses. We skipped doses. Within 2 days it was clear - she was at the falls, and stayed there until she started on these steroids. 5 years later, and here we are.

She doesn't follow predictable trends at all. She should not have come off the insulin as quickly as she did, but she did.

She's at +13.5 - no food, no insulin. What now?
 
I'm presuming Mala is still below 150 at +13.5.

I think you're going to need to skip tonight's shot. Unless she skyrockets in the next few minutes, this is too low for you to shoot. So, feed your poor starving cat.

Try to get a few tests tonight so you can see when Mala's numbers start rising. That will be good info for future use.

You can shoot at your regular time tomorrow. I'd go with a new dose of 0.25u.
 
Yup. Little hungry cat was at 76 at 13.5. Predictability is for the weak, she says.

+14 = 61 Still dropping.
 
Hi Hroswitha and Yemala,
Been staying out of the way but following your saga all day. Just wanted to say welcome and wish you lots of luck. I hope that Mala can get back to the Falls very soon.
Hang in there!

Ella & Rusty
 
Poor kitty had some lovely tuna and egg for dinner = listed as 8 grams of carbs on Janet and Binky. That was at +14.

I will test her numbers at +15 and +16 to see where she be, and post here. Unless I hear differently, little girl will get a .25 dose tomorrow. So much for consistency with the Lantus.

She did this last time we had her on insulin. She just dropped quickly. One week, she was getting a dose of 1 unit, the next week, she was at the falls. Maybe we just kick-started her pancreas again.
 
PMBG +1 = 86, +2 = 76, +3 = 61 That takes us to ~8 PM CST.

Mala got food around +4. One hour after that, her bgs rose to 96. 2 hours post food, she's at 130.

Everything is charted on her spreadsheet. We'll check the levels again twice more before bed, then let her rest. I'll post the final readings tonight, then post her AMBG around 6 AM CST.

Thank you again everyone for support and advice. She's currently playing with her daddy bean, and has a seriously happy-yappy face going. She's feeling well, and that always means more than numbers.
 
Mala always does things her way. Is there any other way to do them? :roll:

Last reading for the night - 3.5 hours after eating, she's at 163. Her spreadsheet is up to date, if anyone needs to check it. I won't test her again tonight - no insulin this evening means no risk of hypo overnight.

Thanks again.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top