4/21 Sam's update

Status
Not open for further replies.

NadjaAndSam

Active Member
So my vet recommended me to raise Sam's dose back to 1u and I've been doing so since Monday.
Last night he tested 338 +7 and this morning for his amps 384.
He has been eating semi-raw food as well but sometimes he still wants his old food. Sam threw up yesterday and didn't want to see the ra food. This morning after his shot he also threw up the raw food :/ I wonder what's going on. I wonder if his belly wasn't full enough for the shot but he eats like a bird. I wonder if before his shots I should give his regular food since he eats it more?
Regarding the dose Sam was getting nice blue numbers +6 but not in the past couple days.
 
Vet visit is soon, right? I wonder if something else is going on with him, he's been off on his appetite for a while, feed him whatever he can eat, and get the Vet to check him out.
 
I didn't think too much about his appetite because a lot of people said he will eat less on raw food. I will feed his rabbit food today to see what happens and tomorrow too. The vet appointment is in 1 week from today. Other than that he is behaving just fine but I will mention this to the vet for sure!
 
ECID, Kitten switched to raw cold turkey with no stomach issues, but it could be the food is bothering him. The recommendations on any cat food are always to switch diet slowly by adding the new food gradually to the old, I've just never had to do it cause my cats have iron stomachs.
 
I'm actually suspecting that he didn't have enough to eat before his shot. I once was sick and ate a banana before my meds and I threw up few minutes after because the banana wasn't strong enough to hold my meds.
He has been on this diet 1 week and he is only starting to have issues yesterday. I think I will give his normal food before shots and semi-raw for lunch and snack. we'll see how this goes!
 
Some oral meds require food because they cause stomach upset without them, but insulin isn't one of them. We feed with insulin because the whole reason insulin is used is to lower BG, which is created by food.

Just keep an eye on him, as long as all else is good it'll probably pass. Vomiting can also be a sign of constipation or pancreatitis, nothing to worry about but just watch him to make sure he poops and isn't acting lethargic.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top