4/21 Rudy PMPS at +14 175, +1 244, +2 346, +3 342 (PM - token dose/delayed by +2/see SS for all #s)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Another yellow at +8 just now. That's rare for him. He seems to be holding this cycle well. Paws crossed.
 
Last edited:
Those yellows are sure better than pink!!! Now let's see some blue Rudy...... once you start to see those flat yellows we know blue is on the horizon as long as he doesn't decide to bounce. I said that very quietly:cool:;)
 
Bumping...

Still need an answer on dosing. See my comment above. He's due for testing, food and insulin within 30 minutes. Please and thank you.
 
Ok. My question answered itself. He was 121 just now at his PMPS. No dose given. Just fed. Will monitor. Have Friskies shreds and maple syrup on hand just in case.
 
WOO HOO RUDY!!!!
I'll tag @Bobbie And Bubba to help you understand future dosing!

Thank you!!! I posted for guidance, but didn't get an answer. I ended up following what the SLGS protocol said for not shooting below 150 at supper just now.

His bg is up a little now. Seems perfectly fine and happy. I'm absolutely thrilled to finally hit blue. :cool:
 
I imagine he'll be high in the AM, and the depot will have to refill some, but you're on you're way! Very exciting!!!!:cool::cool::cool:
 
I imagine he'll be high in the AM, and the depot will have to refill some, but you're on you're way! Very exciting!!!!:cool::cool::cool:

Yay!!! I'm ok with giving him a token dose later if that's what I'm instructed. For now - we'll just enjoy the blue. :cool:
 
Awesom blues. :cool:

Over time and as you gather data you will be able to lower the no shot threshold to 90. Typically when you shoot low, the cat stays flatter the entire cycle.
 
If you did, his next test would be food influenced and you would need to wait till 2 hours to test again and if you wanted to shoot then you could but your schedule would be off 2 hours as you wouldn't shoot again for 12 hours. Can you have you schedule off that many hour? You can regain your time by moving the shot time up 30 minutes a day or 15 minutes each cycle.
 
If you did, his next test would be food influenced and you would need to wait till 2 hours to test again and if you wanted to shoot then you could but your schedule would be off 2 hours as you wouldn't shoot again for 12 hours. Can you have you schedule off that many hour? You can regain your time by moving the shot time up 30 minutes a day or 15 minutes each cycle.

I can totally swing a later cycle then readjust back if he needs a shot later.

He had dinner at 650pm. It's now 810pm. What time would he get a shot if needed? What # am I looking for to shoot? Full 4.75 units? Many questions. Sorry.
 
Like Wendy said, over time and more data the no shot number will lower to where you will be shooting any number 90 and above. The next time you get a blue number close to the 150, stall without feeding and wait 20 minutes and retest and if he comes up to closer to 150 ( you test enough) and then you can shoot to stay more on schedule.

I just saw Wendy's post, and if you want to test now and if he is close to 150 I would shoot and shoot the 4.75 dose because he hasn't earned a reduction yet.
 
And then get a +2 to see how active the cycle will be. If the +2 is the same number or lower as the test you get right now, then the cycle could be active and more test would be necessary.
 
He'll be ok to shoot a full 4.75 units at 150? Do I offer more food? He had a decent meal 90 mins ago.
 
If it were me and since you don't have a lot of data with shooting lower number, I would stick to the guidelines in SLGS and I highlighted in blue what you could do tonight if you don't mind having your schedule off by a few hours and regaining your schedule later.

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4.
There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.

You could test again in 30 minutes to a hour and see if he's come up to at least 150 and decide then.
 
If it were me and since you don't have a lot of data with shooting lower number, I would stick to the guidelines in SLGS and I highlighted in blue what you could do tonight if you don't mind having your schedule off by a few hours and regaining your schedule later.

Q4.4. My cat's pre-shot level was way below the usual value. Should I give the injection?
A4.4.
There's no hard and fast rule, but if you don't have data on how your cat responds to insulin, here are some general guidelines.
  • Below 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), don't give insulin.
  • Between 150 and 200 (8.3-11.1 mmol/L), you have three options: a.) give nothing; b.) give a token dose (10-25% of the usual dose); c.) feed as usual, test in a couple of hours, and make a decision based on that value.
  • Above 200 (11.1 mmol/L) but below the cat's normal pre-shot value, a reduced dose might be wise.

I'm on option c. Fed. Tested. And I'll see where he is at 850pm (+2). This is what I would do based on that number:

If he's over 200 - I'll dose him with 4.75?
If he's between 150-199 - Give token dose of 1 unit fattened?
Still under 150 - do nothing and retest in an hour and dose based on the values I laid out above?

Yes? No? All this help is unbelievable. :)
 
I'm on option c. Fed. Tested. And I'll see where he is at 9pm (+2). This is what I would do based on that number:

If he's over 200 - I'll dose him with 4.75?
If he's between 150-199 - Give token dose of 1 unit fattened?
Still under 150 - do nothing and retest in an hour and dose based on the values I laid out above?

Yes? No? All this help is unbelievable. :)
Sounds like a good plan above ;)
 
If his BG have raised and you shoot it isn't necessary to give him anymore food until his regular next time to eat or unless of course you need to steer him later with food. I will try and circle back in a bit to check on you but I am not able to stay on too long as I have to get my mom ready for bed and I have had a very long day. If you have any questions or need any more guidance later, put a ? mark in your title and say something like, I need help .
 
Was 175 at what would have been original +2 mark. Gave 1 unit fattened up. Will monitor.

I updated his ss with new PMPS and moved original data to notes section. This post's title reworked as well.
 
Was 175 at what would have been original +2 mark. Gave 1 unit fattened up. Will monitor.

I updated his ss with new PMPS and moved original data to notes section. This post's title reworked as well.
Good job Jen! So if you gave the insulin at what would have been the +2, on the SS in the cell with the units put +14, which means you shoot 2 hours late. Then every one knows you waited 2 hours for the numbers to come up and shoot.
 
Good job Jen! So if you gave the insulin at what would have been the +2, on the SS in the cell with the units put +14, which means you shoot 2 hours late. Then every one knows you waited 2 hours for the numbers to come up and shoot.

Thank you! I think I fixed the ss correctly. I just entered his latest reading too.
 
Thank you! I think I fixed the ss correctly. I just entered his latest reading too.
The +14 in the unit cell is all you need to do. The rest of the cycle is as it actually looks so what it is the +2 cell is 2 hours after the shot so those numbers don't have to change. Make sense?

So put the 175 in the PMPS cell with + 14 with it. Then all test after are in the corresponding cell for how many hours after the test. I'm hope I'm making sense.

Looks like he is starting to bounce up all ready seeing those blue numbers caused his liver to panic. But how nice to see them and you'll see them again. :)
 
The +14 in the unit cell is all you need to do. The rest of the cycle is as it actually looks so what it is the +2 cell is 2 hours after the shot so those numbers don't have to change. Make sense?

So put the 175 in the PMPS cell with + 14 with it. Then all test after are in the corresponding cell for how many hours after the test. I'm hope I'm making sense.

Looks like he is starting to bounce up all ready seeing those blue numbers caused his liver to panic. But how nice to see them and you'll see them again. :)

I fixed the ss again. Looks correct now. I think.

He's back in the pink. This is all normal? His #s looked so much better before the token dose. Do I need to continue to get a bg hourly since he's up to pink? Or can I get some sleep in between pokes? I'll be awake at least another hour, so I'll poke again then and set the clock for a few hours away.
 
He's bouncing from the blues. You can call it a night. Love seeing that blue on his SS. :)

Back to his regular dose tomorrow.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top