4/21 Rory PMPS 378, +3 306, +6 297, +9 326

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

Hi Var-ee...welcome to Lantus Land.

We would really appreciate it if you could do the Spreadsheet because we are very numbers driven here. If you do the correct one, per the instructions, it will convert your numbers to US numbers so neither you nor we have to convert them.

I read your Health condo. Did you switch his food totally to canned or raw low carb and remove all dry? I'm just asking because most of us here (although not all) follow the tight regulation protocol. The TR protocol gives Rory the best chance of going Into remission but you might choose to follow Start Low go Slow Approach. You are welcome to post here if you use the latter.

What is Rorys ideal weight or, if he is underweight, what is his current weight?

Lantus is a depot insulin and so it works very, very different from Caninsulin. Depending on which approach you are following, the initial dose is held several days to fill the insulin depot. It's likely you might not see lower numbers for a bit because he must fill this depot...and then we will have to see if the dose is enough.

I suggest you read the Stickys at the top of this forum. Let us know if you need help with the spreadsheet.
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

Welcome to LantusLand, the greatest place you never wanted to be. :lol: :lol: Good for you for getting the Lantus for Rory. Marje is a very experienced member and will give you excellent advice.
Liz
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

Rory weighs 6kg and I have taken away the dry food.. he is normally a heavy eater, since I took away the dry food he eats more frequently. yesterday which was the first day I gave him Lantus.. today though he barely ate or drank any water. I have very different numbers now. Today getting blood was very hard since he is getting dehydrated..
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

if I use googledocs I dont know how to add this webpage so people can view it. it asks for an email address under add people. it wont let me do anything other than that or close and cancel :( can you see my sheet. I have not filled anything in yet and its 3 am here https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc ... 5WEE#gid=0 edited it.. it is updated now.. off to bed for 4 hours until dosing starts again..
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

Yes, I can see your spreadsheet. Have a good sleep.
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

It would be a very good idea if you mixed water in with his food at every meal. How dehydrated is he? Try grabbing his scruff and see how long it takes to go back into place. If he is very dehydrated you may want to get him to the vet.
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

Welcome to Lantus Land!

You don't need to add in anyone's e-mail. There should be an option for sharing with "anyone with the link." Since we can open your spreadsheet with the link you provided, then it's fine. You may want to put the spreadsheet in your signature. That way, you don't have to keep copy and pasting the link. The instructions are in Section B in the post on linking spreadsheets.

If you enter your data on the tab for "World mmol/L" (the tabs are at the bottom left of the page), the spreadsheet should automatically convert the numbers to mg/L which is the measurement system we use here since most of the members are from the US. It looks like you've been entering your data on the US tab. The way the spreadsheet is set up, it doesn't convert the numbers.
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

OK I updated it but I think I should give him a bit more insulin his next dose. his numbers are too high
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

Hi Var-ee and welcome.
When I click on your spreadsheet I get the "World" version, but if I go down to the bottom and click on US version, it automatically converts. In any event, it is visible and the numbers are there.

Get some rest, read the "Stickies", especially the one on "new to the group" and the one on the characteristics of Lantus and Levemir. Ask questions. And if you are still having technical difficulties, we have a "Tech Forum" on FDMB that may be able to help you out with your spreadsheet, signature, etc.

Have a fine evening,

Ella & Rusty

p.s. Google Docs is not noted for ease of use, but once you get it set up, it is OK.
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

You are doing a great job with getting everything set up. It's a lot to learn! You want to keep the same dose for 5 to 7 days and only adjust if he goes below 50 (then reduce the dose) or stays high, like above 300, then you could increase after 3 days. The protocol is explained in this sticky, which is very confusing. Mostly, you will want to ask an experienced member to give you advice (usually Marje or Sienne).

Could you change the subject line of your original post to this?
4/20 Rory AMPS 311;+3 299;+6 292;+9 320
Then everyone can quickly see what's going on with Rory for this cycle. When you get a new reading, edit that same subject line, since that's the one that shows up in the forum. Thank you!
Liz
 
Re: "newbie Var-ee needs help with initial lantus dosing"

ella I already converted it before your post. And Anne, . also I have not given the same dose at any time so can someone please tell me what dose I should give.. he does best so far with 1 unit but I have ranged my dose from .5 - 1
he is eating a lot today and just had a big drink of water
 
Re: 4/20 Rory AMPS 311;+3 299;+6 292;+9 320

You want to hold the initial dose for 5-7 days unless he goes below 50 (then reduce) or stays high, like above 300, then you might increase sooner. I asked Marje to stop by. 6 kg would translate to an initial dose of 1.5u but you've already given a few shots so let's see what Marje recommends now. I like those flat numbers!
Liz
ETA: now you can change the subject line to
4/20 Rory PMPS 308
 
Re: 4/20 Rory AMPS 311;+3 299;+6 292;+9 320

Var-ee

I'm looking at Rory's SS now.

One favor please....could you please open your SS from google docs, go to "file" and click on "publish to the web". It will give you a box...be sure that there is a check in the box that says something like"update whenever change is made"....or something to that effect. Then go to the bottom box and copy the link. That's the one you want to paste into your signature block; it should have "pub" in it instead of "ccc". Thank you and let me know if you need help with that.

As far as dose.....lantus likes consistency so we try to shoot the same dose every 12 hours unless a dose reduction is earned or the dose needs to be increased. I agree the starting dose should have probably been closer to 1.5u; however, we don't want to just take him way up from .75u in one step especially if you've removed dry food recently.

My suggestion is you hold this .75u dose for at least five days (ten consecutive cycles) so the depot can fill. It's important to read the stickys at the top of this page for the tight regulation protocol and other important notes for this site. Please let us know how we can help or what questions you might have.

BTW, it's probably a good idea to get a before bed test at night.
 
Re: 4/20 Rory AMPS 311;+3 299;+6 292;+9 320

I just did the before bed shot which is almost 2 hours after his injection and he is 252.. if Im still awake I will try again in a couple hours again but I just had a antihistamine needle myself so Im drowsy.. I published my SS to web as asked.... thanks again for all this help.. I couldnt have did this without you all
 
Re: 4/20 Rory AMPS 311;+3 299;+6 292;+9 320

Hmmm...the SS is still showing "ccc" instead of "pub". You can always change it manually. What happens when it is "ccc" is that every time anyone opens it, it saves it to their google docs.

When the +2 test is much higher than the preshot, it's likely to be a quiet cycle. If it is similar to the PS, you should expect a typical, active lantus cycle (see below). If it is much less, you might see a very active cycle early on.

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

If you can check him at +4 or +5 if you wake up, that would be fine.
 
I think I got it to be pub now.. I notice he started climbing early today his numbers are staying high.. I will be happy when its safe to increase his insulin :(
 
Good job with the testing! It's not great for him to be high but it's ok for the short term. The main thing is to keep him safe. It's also nice to see fairly flat numbers.

We usually start a new thread (we call it a "condo") for each day for each cat and include a link to the previous condo. Then it doesn't get too long to read through and we can trace back the history if there are questions. Maybe you could do a new condo starting tomorrow.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top