4/21 Rocky PMPS 180 +2 148 +4 127 +8 215

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon!

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117546

Well, I tried to sneak in an hour here and an hour there of sleep this morning but it's really hard to do it like that. It wasn't Rocky, it's just my wacky schedule. The rest of the cats in the house wake me up at 6am to be feed them so I just get up and do so or there will be mayhem.

I have to go back and re-read what Jill said about a failed reduction vs. a bounce. Rocky has been in the stinky pinkies for at least 24 hours now, until just now-- His BG dropped from 348 to 183 right now. That is a 165 point drop. ohmygod_smile

I was just beginning to think that the 1.75u isn't doing anything at all to help him. However... I still have my doubts that this 1.75u is going to be enough insulin to bring his numbers back down into the green. I don't know why, I feel like he will only have the one blue number and then he's going to climb right back up to the stinky pinkies.

Rocky's recap of yesterday:
AMPS 109 +1 115 +2 144 +7 363 +11 366
PMPS 382 +2 393 +4 314 +7 312

FDMB is still being wonky for me today. It takes a really long time for the pages to load and I just don't have the patience to wait for it. I am wondering if there are now more users in FDMB and if it should be considered to add more servers to the website? :roll:
 
Re: 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +1 348 +2 183

I'm having the same issues with the FDMB. I had to make the call to reduce Max on my own. He's bouncing again badly and I am so frustrated. Looks like Rocky recovered much better. He likely will go green. I think you are on the verge of something good. Wish I felt I was. I am VERY pessimistic, sigh.
 
Re: 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +1 348 +2 183

Have faith in Rocky - he's doing a great job clearing the bounce. Maybe a little too good a job. :roll: That drop might cause a bit of a bounce again. ohmygod_smile But it too will pass. I don't know what carb food you fed Rocky at +1 today, but you might want to consider giving him something with a bit of carbs at his +1 meals so he's got a bit on board when he onsets.
 
Re: 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +1 348 +2 183

I didn't feed Rocky carbs during his AM mini-meals today. I fed him a greater amount of food at his PMPS.. Marje told me to feed him more at the +1, and I just did it wrong. ohmygod_smile ..

I'm so freakin' TIRED of these headaches... :YMSIGH: Yesterday was the best day health day of my life for about, oh, let's see.. 2 months now?? It was sunny and clear and no wind. Today it is overcast and warm. I am extremely sensitive to barometric pressure. My head feels like it is in vice-grip the day before it rains. We are suppose to get a small amount of rain tomorrow.

I am wondering.. *if* Rocky should one day get to OTJ, and I have been feeding him this 0% carb food, can I then switch him to a LC food? This Nature's Variety Instinct canned cat food is expensive.

Elise, I hope that you can use the calipers to help Max navigate the dosing scale. I know you'll get it figured out in no time. :YMPEACE:
 
Re: dosecrease 2nite? 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +2 183 +3 145 +182

Rocky is climbing right back up in the BG numbers, just as I thought he might do.. :roll: It looks like his nadir today was 145 and AMPS +3 and that he is not headed for greener pastures. He has already spent over 24 hours in solid pink numbers before this tiny dip onto blue water.

Perhaps this is a failed reduction and an increase in his insulin dose is necessary tonight? :roll:

We are 5 hours away from Rocky's shot time so I'll see what his BG is at AMPS +11. I suppose it I see lower blue numbers I might be willing to put on my patience pants and sit on my hands. However, if I see higher blue numbers or a BG going into yellow, I'm not sure how much patience I'm going to have..

I think I would like to increase his insulin dose to a "FAT" 1.75u tonight, if I do increase. Would that be Ok?
 
Re: dosecrease 2nite? 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +2 183 +3 145 +182

This is too early to say it's a failed reduction for Rocky. I would hold the dose a couple more cycles yet. The sudden drop today could also cause a bounce. Time to send the patience pants out to the tailor and get them refitted.

From Jill a few nights ago:
a failed reduction manifests itself with numbers that trend upwards over more than one consecutive cycle. it's the upwards trend that signals the failed reduction. you won't see an upwards trend over several consecutive cycles when kitty is bouncing. you'll see more wobbling when kitty is bouncing.
Rocky's been taking 4 cycles to get over a bounce from a low lately. Also, his numbers are not trending upwards. His numbers are wobbling.
 
Re: dosecrease 2nite? 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +2 183 +3 145 +182

Hey Tina,

Since it looks like Rocky might be breaking the bounce today, you might really be able to see what he can do with this reducie tonight. Paws crossed that he'll settle into it nicely!

Healing vines are headed your way for the headache!
Shelly
 
Re: dosecrease? 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +2 183 +3 145 +182 +11 2

I can't figure out how you are estimating that it is taking Rocky 4 cycles to clear a bounce, Wendy. He was clearing them pretty fast when he was on 2.0u of insulin.

Jill also said:

A bounce will always be preceded by a drop into lower numbers than kitty's body is used to or a a fast drop. that's a given. it gets tricky when we're trying to figure out if the bounce is over and the high numbers we're seeing is in fact a failed reduction. first off, understand that you want to figure out (from data) how long it's been taking kitty to clear a bounce.

I guess it's whether or not the CG thinks the higher trending numbers are from not enough insulin or they believe it's a bounce. LOL.. as Jill said, "it's not a science."

I do believe, however, that the 24 hours Rocky just spent in pink numbers after that drop from pink to green numbers was a bounce. I kinda don't believe that he is bouncing any more, but we'll see what his numbers show us overnight. If he keeps going higher even after his PMPS shot tonight I don't think he's bouncing. I think he is trending upward and it's a failed reducie. :YMPEACE:
 
Re: dosecrease? 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +2 183 +3 145 +182 +11 2

Hi there :cool:

I agree with Wendy - the fast drop this morning may trigger a bounce.

Hold steady at least another cycle and then re-evaluate. I just don't feel 3 cycles are enough to call a reduction failed at this juncture.

Tina & Rocky said:
I am wondering.. *if* Rocky should one day get to OTJ, and I have been feeding him this 0% carb food, can I then switch him to a LC food? This Nature's Variety Instinct canned cat food is expensive.
Have you been feeding him 0% carbs all this time?
Personally, IMHO, the idea of feeding 0% carbs seems unnatural. It would not be the case in nature - even for an obligate carnivore. The prey they eat must contain some carbs. and there may be need for some - for the central nervous system, the kidneys, the brain and the muscles (including the heart) to function properly.

That's my $0.02 :cool:
 
Re: dosecrease? 4/21 Rocky AMPS 318 +2 183 +3 145 +182 +11 2

Look back at 4/10 - 4/13. He was in green, bounced high three cycles and just got to blue on the fourth and then green on the fifth. He bounced again, you increased, he came down to 47, and then you decreased.

I've always had a hard time being patient during bounces and often increased during a bounce only to have the numbers come down fast on me. What I've really been trying to do is, when I want to increase, I wait ONE more cycle. In this case, that also lets you get a little past the depot from the 2u dose to see what he's doing.

Does that make any sense?
 
Re: 4/21 Rocky PMPS 180 +2 148

This just caught my eye--- I should have re-tested Rocky's 235 at AMPS +11 because it looks out of place in that string of blue numbers now for the day. I sort of feel that it was not an accurate BG number but at the time I believed that his BG was going to go up so I did not think to retest.

If' I'm correct and that is an inaccurate test at AMPS +11 it means that Rocky is not going to bounce tonight and this is a very slow downward move in blue numbers.

It's hard for me to believe that he is going to make it to green. I think the only other time he surfed blue numbers was on 4/15.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top