4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 pmps 254 +3/262

Status
Not open for further replies.

julie & punkin (ga)

Very Active Member
happy kitters! breakfast down, bath done. i'm gonna try to get punkin in to the vet today and get his mouth rechecked. he seems a little sensitive to jaw scritches on one side and i want to make sure there's no post-dental infection or anything.

anya was a hoot last night bringing her treasures in to us. first it was a pair of bright red ear muffs. then a baggie with a camera card in it. then one of those purse packs of kleenex. last was one of my beaded earrings from guatemala. i don't even know where she finds them all, but she carries them to the coffee table like the best trophy she's ever gotten. runs fast with them too, just in case they're going to wiggle free & get away! :lol:


yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=41615

ETA: appt at 10am, in one hour from now. i'm wondering about increasing his dose again, too, but hate to do it. i'll ask for advice first.
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275

Good luck with the vet visit...I hope everything checks out well for Punkin.

Anya was a busy girl last night, wasn't she? Did you see that video that was out a month or so ago...the kitty who stole stuff from the neighbors all night long? Funny stuff. I love it when cats carry stuff around...I've got two who do it. Probably one of the cutest things ever.
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275

Hi guys .. I hope that the vet visit goes well for punkin and that there isn't anything going on with his mouth .. It is to cute when cat's carry stuff around in their mouths .. mocha does it with her "baby" that is as big as her head .. not sure how she does it especially with 9 teeth missing! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275

Champ is way too lazy to carry anything. My daughter once put a postcard on his head, just set it there like a hat. Champ just sat there with it on his head because he was too lazy to even shake it off. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275

Julie....if the vet did not do post-procedure x-rays, you may want to have that done....to make sure there are no tooth fragments left or some other issue.

Good luck with the vet visit!
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 dental site infection

he's got quite an infection at the site where they pulled out the 2 teeth, so the vet gave him clavamox. he started to give him metacam and i asked for a substitute. said there's no sub, "well there's one that i've heard of but don't know much about." he said it was an anti-inflammatory - i'm going to go looking for more info on the metacam. i asked about the possibility of root fragments and he said he wants to recheck punkin monday and if the antibiotic hasn't done the trick, he'll send us to another vet that has a new dental x-ray machine.

i was wishing i had my camera so i could do a video to contrast punkin with butthead in the car. :lol: punkin makes butthead look like the sweetest little angel. well, butthead IS the sweetest little angel. punkin had his usual chorus of yowling, and then so i would know how serious it was, he pulled out the emergency, 911 yowls for a mile or so, returning to his usual yowling when the 911 didn't work. :lol:
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 dental site infection

(((Julie & Punkin))) thank goodness you got him to the vet.. I hope the infection clears up quickly & am sending good healing vines!! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 dental site infection

Metacam is not to be used for cats any longer. The FDA has announced that there is a boxed warning on the package now. The use of Metacam in cats is associated with renal failure and death.

http://www.metacamkills.com/

http://www.fda.gov/AnimalVeterinary/NewsEvents/CVMUpdates/ucm231254.htm

If something is required for pain, Buprenorphine or Tramadol are OK (expect some sedation with Buprenorphine and possible agitation with Tramadol).
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 dental site infection

Hi Julie, Thank goodness you refused the Metacam! I hope that Punkin's infection clears up with the Clavamox. It would be a good idea to have the dental x-ray in any event. If the problem is a root that was left in his mouth, the antibiotic might knock out the infection for a while, but the cause of the infection would still be there.
Feel better, Punkin! Sending you some healing vines.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 dental site infection

Linda & Ella - thanks for the info on the metacam. I had told them to put on his file not to give him any when he was there 3/29 for his dental, but i suppose the vet didn't see it.

i REALLY want to have confidence in this vet and REALLY don't want to change vets . . . but this kinda stuff is making me nervous. I don't even know if there is someone better in town. I'm sure he doesn't want me telling him I won't do what he wants to treat punkin . . .

Linda, i looked at both of those links - thank you - and then emailed them to the vet. Hopefully he'll look at them and stop using metacam for cats.

punkin's been sleeping downstairs all afternoon. i skipped his +9 to let him snooze - I did see the infection site and it looked SO painful and swollen. The upper teeth are hitting the spot on the lower jaw where the 2 teeth were removed.

I'm not glad he has it, but i feel a little vindicated because i'm always afraid i'm being a hypochondriac for him. He moved away from my hand last night when i scritched on the right jaw, then this morning when he was washing his face, he didn't really even touch the right side. licked the right paw, waved it in the air twice in front of his right cheek, (cleaning by osmosis, just like my kids!) :lol: then proceeded to do a thorough job of licking the left paw and washing the left cheek. and i did think his mustache area on the right side looked swollen. poor kitter.
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 dental site infection

This kind of warning (it's colloquially called a "black box" warning) is the most serious the FDA will announce short of recalling a drug. Your vet should know better. I'm also not sure I understand the rationale behind waiting for an x-ray.
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 dental site infection

Poor little punkin! I hope the clavamox does the trick and punkin is feeling better in a few days.
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 pmps 254

Do I wait to worry about his numbers and to consider a dose increase while he's got this infection going on?
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 pmps 254 Question

I've heard that Metacam was very dangerous for cats. I'm glad you refused it. Why do vets still think it's OK to treat cats with it? Poor little Punkin. We send him get well wishes. :cry:
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 pmps 254 Question

Depending on what goes on with the infection, you may need to increase Punkin's dose. Because he's on an antibiotic, once the AB kicks in, you may need to reduce in a hurry. The reason it's important to keep the insulin dose up is that an infection + not enough insulin + not eating = a recipe for ketones. I don't remember that Punkin has a history of ketones/DKA but it's also worth getting a ketone test if his numbers don't start to come back down.
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 pmps 254 Question

Hi Julie - I am so late in visiting you.... AIyee! WOW, and thank goodness you took him back to the vet - poor guy!! I hope the AB's work well, I am sure they will. I am ever so glad you said NO TO METACAM. All the warning and things said by others is true - it should not be given to cats, it will result in renal failure. That I can confirm: I have lost a cat to that drug. Good for you for saying no. Bupe (Buprenorphine) is used by many folks here on the forum, and works well for pain. I hope he feels better soon.

Punkin!! The KTSS can come and bring you some chicken soup, give you a massages and stuff. You will feel better... I am sorry that your toothies have an 'fection. Take your meds so it will go away - OK? ~~ Mannie
 
Re: 4/21 punkin amps 275 +3/165 +6/136 pmps 254 Question

ok, thank you, sienne.

he hasn't had ketones before and he is still eating like a hoover. he finishes his dish and then finishes anya's.

i haven't tested for ketones before, but i have the strips. he's having his second dose of antibiotics now. i'm not positive but thinking they kick in by 24 hours - does that sound right? He's at 7.5 units right now. I'm thinking that i'll see what he's like in the morning and post asking if i should increase if his BG is any higher.


Michelle, how awful. i am so very sorry! i can't tell you how hard it was for me to say anything about the metacam and not just let him do it. don't know why it felt hard, but of course, i'm in love with the punkin and feel a huge need to protect him, and that was my motivation. could the KTSS give the punkin a bath? his fur - yikes. sick boy doesn't feel good and he only wants to groom me. my arms have been licked to pieces in the last couple of days. drives me nuts! the things we endure for our furkids!
 
Oh Julie, I'm sorry poor punkin is sick. I just had my vet suggest metacam, too, along with some other pain meds, but still...I, too, will give her the FDA write up. Guess we have to educate them one at a time...

Get better punkin. We're pulling for you that the AB will kick in very very soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top