4/21 Oren AMPS-210; PMPS-340;pm+4.5-181; last day of vaca dose, tomorrow back to 5.25

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megan & Oren

Member Since 2015
All goes well (which it rarely does w/ Amtrak!) I should be in house by 8.30 pm, which is ca. pm+1.5
Sounds like Oren did pretty well while I was gone, even managed to hit a green 78 AMPS one morning on the vacation dose of 4.75?! Vet tech gave only 2.25 that morning, and he bounced to 481 by PMPS.
Mostly he maintained 300s with a few yellows probably in between. I don't have the full numbers just yet but will this evening, and will make corrections/additions to spreadsheet.

It was a lovely spring weekend in Amherst and indeed I did catch up on sleep which was definitely nice. Music and hiking and time w/ my man.

But i miss my little sugar baby too. Hope all here are doing ok. I thought I'd pass along this link i just saw in the online news from NPR. It talks about some poor kitties who died from exposure to their owners anti-inflammatory arthritis pain relief cream. Not a very thorough article, but a cautionary tale non-the-less.

http://www.npr.org/blogs/health/201...edition&utm_term=nprnews&utm_content=20150421
 
NSAIDS are known to cause renal failure in cats. This is one of the reasons we inform members about the use of Metacam (meloxicam) for pain management. It has an FDA black box warning (which is just short of the FDA pulling a drug off the market) for causing acute renal failure in cats. Despite the FDA warning, some vets continue to prescribe Metacam. There are some NSAIDS which can be used cautiously if there's no other alternative but I typically will not allow a vet to use one with either of my cats.
 
I didn't read the NPR article, but the article I did read said the meds were not being used on or for the cats ... the cats were only "in contact" with the med from snuggling or licking their beans or themselves after having contact with their beans. Very bad stuff and something we should all be aware of that we might not think about.

Megan, welcome home! Glad to hear Oren behaved himself while you were away. Happy you updated. We've grown attached to him and was wondering. :)
 
Rose, that is what this article said too, contact absorption from the parents. So very sad for all involved. Thanks for the welcome home, tho I'm not quite there yet. Train still on time tho thankfully (anti jinx!)
 
Last edited:
It's nice to see an Oren condo and hear an update on the little guy. Sounds like he did well. Some cats don't eat as much while their beans are gone, which is one reason for reducing the dose while there is a petsitter.
 
Home finally, actually on time for once! Kitties looked well, except civvie Patty had scarfed and barfed her dinner all over the hallway rug! :(

so here's a recap of the week:
Thurs 16th AMPS-439 +3-275, PMPS-211
Fri 17th AMPS-291 PMPS-333
Sat 18th AMPS-358 PMPS-355
Sun 19th AMPS-186 PMPS-386
Mon 20th AMPS-78 only gave 2.25U PMPS-481
Tue 21st AMPS-210 PMPS-340

I've put all these numbers into spreadsheet.

all doses 4.75 except for the 78 amps
unbelievably he hit green even on this dose!? does that mean tomorrow I should go back to the full 5.25?
 
I would go back to 5.25u and wait for him to go below 50 before reducing the dose. Of course, you can do whatever you want, but my thought is that even if the dose is on the high side, we don't have "proof" by way of a blood test, that tells us that this dose is too high. Even getting to 78 on 4.75u doesn't say that 5.25u was too high. If your goal is to get him tightly regulated, you want everything between 50-120. He was just starting to make progress toward that with the 5.0u+ doses.

Let's see what other input you get on it. Maybe someone else can make a case for dropping the dose.
 
I like Julie's idea of the 5.25U dose, as long as you are around to test as before. You never really did get a chance to see what it can do. Oren could have been eating less or there could have been a number of other reasons he got the 78 in there. Normally we go back to the last good dose after interrupting it for vacation or other reason.

Welcome home. I'm impressed that you can tell which kitty did the scarf and barf. ;)
 
well @Wendy&Neko no mystery there, as I had Oren segregated in his own room while gone! Also, she tends to do this every once in a while. I think it relates to her being a stray found in the woods; "never know where my next meal is coming from" habit breaks hard! She tends to eat quickly.

Oren doesn't really ever seem to have a problem w/ eating, I don't think he ate any less while I was gone, but the majority of the numbers were above 200 so I think 5.25 seems reasonable.
I am working from home tomorrow, so I'll be able to test, but then again on Thur, will be the 11 hr away thing. He was doing well before the big reduction and although I would have preferred blues/yellows while gone, he didn't go sky high on the lowered dose.

5.25 it is! I'm going to get a before bed test tonight too, to make sure I didn't forget how!;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top