Liz & Minnie
Member Since 2021
Minnie's last post 4/15 https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-15-minnie-pmps-99.246204/
Been taking a bit of a break to recover from the stress of the last month. Such a pleasure to be sleeping in bed again! Minnie is eating well and ketones sticking at 0.4. BG was looking positive last week but the last few days she's been stuck in the yellows and yesterday almost all pink. Just finished a tub of strips expiring 4/30, and got a wildly different between the last strip and first from the new container on the same blood sample, which made me doubt all the previous readings...but moving on.
I'm going to be out this evening so was too chicken to increase the L dose even though I know she will likely have NDW. AMPS was >300 so I gave R but dropped her more than 100 so a bounce won't surprise me. Will increase by 0.25u tonight. Ha, I hate the 0.25 doses!
Have emailed internist for her opinion on what to do with the insulin.
Had 2nd follow up with the vet and more bloodwork. Potassium doing ok. Picked up the spironolactone - $9 from Costco for the pills. First 2 were successful with pill pocket, this morning she licked the pocket but wouldn't take it. I tried multiple ways of 'hiding' it in her food but now she doesn't trust any of the food. It has a minty smell. If she's off pill pockets now I will try some cooked meat, then have a couple of goes at pilling her but otherwise will get a compounded liquid. Much more expensive but worth it to avoid stressing her even more. The poking and injections are enough, she already is starting to hide from me.
Thanks for digging this out! There is a lot to read there.
Been taking a bit of a break to recover from the stress of the last month. Such a pleasure to be sleeping in bed again! Minnie is eating well and ketones sticking at 0.4. BG was looking positive last week but the last few days she's been stuck in the yellows and yesterday almost all pink. Just finished a tub of strips expiring 4/30, and got a wildly different between the last strip and first from the new container on the same blood sample, which made me doubt all the previous readings...but moving on.
I'm going to be out this evening so was too chicken to increase the L dose even though I know she will likely have NDW. AMPS was >300 so I gave R but dropped her more than 100 so a bounce won't surprise me. Will increase by 0.25u tonight. Ha, I hate the 0.25 doses!
Have emailed internist for her opinion on what to do with the insulin.
Had 2nd follow up with the vet and more bloodwork. Potassium doing ok. Picked up the spironolactone - $9 from Costco for the pills. First 2 were successful with pill pocket, this morning she licked the pocket but wouldn't take it. I tried multiple ways of 'hiding' it in her food but now she doesn't trust any of the food. It has a minty smell. If she's off pill pockets now I will try some cooked meat, then have a couple of goes at pilling her but otherwise will get a compounded liquid. Much more expensive but worth it to avoid stressing her even more. The poking and injections are enough, she already is starting to hide from me.
Been missing your posts.Something in your first post triggered a memory that finally surfaced. An FDMB kitty name Mannie (not Minnie) who lived in Seattle (of all places
) and was diagnosed with aldosteronism and was prescribed spironolactone. If you are interested, you can follow along Michelle & Mannie's posts, here is the post where he got his diagnosis. You will see that Michelle's posts were quite the read.
She tried to keep the diabetes thing light hearted, and helped teach me to have a life and a diabetic cat too.
Thanks for digging this out! There is a lot to read there.
Something in your first post triggered a memory that finally surfaced. An FDMB kitty name Mannie (not Minnie) who lived in Seattle (of all places