4/21 Mikey PMPS 106 +2 111 +3 56 +3.5 47 +4 53, +4.5 59 +5 81

Status
Not open for further replies.
Baby food! Yes, I have some. He's in the litterbox now. If he doesn't eat in the next minute or two, I will break out the baby food.
 
My civie walked away from breakfast this morning. Which is unheard of since it's kangaroo. I gave him a spoon of the good stuff (HC) and it primed the pump and he dove in to regular breakfast. Paws crossed you see the same.
 
No, he didn't. I'm heading up to the vet's to pick up some Flagyl (meta-howevah-you-spell-it) I'll leave him with his food and the civvie locked up with Don. If he eats while I'm gone, I can shoot late. Ugh!
 
I'm back from vet. I'm telling you, these people walk on water! They were closing, but left the med outside with an ice pack for me, and told me I could pay later. Who does that?! Mikey had his first dose, and I've offered him some FF. He's eating, but I'm waiting to see how much he'll eat. If he eats the entire 1/2 can I put down, should I shoot? It would be 1.5 hrs. late, but I can work back, because I'm on vacation this week. @Wendy&Neko @julie & punkin (ga)
 
You could shoot cause this late is a bit like a dose reduction. An alternative is a reduced dose if you are nervous. When kitties have anesthesia and can't eat, vets suggest 1/2 dose as safe.
 
Don vetoed the full dose, so we shot .25. If it was up to me alone, I would've shot the full dose, then called Marje in a panic attack. ;)

He just ate the LC in the past few minutes. The thing is, the FF is only 3%, and he's used to eating 8%. The Voice of Reason (Don) didn't think shooting the full amount was a good plan.
 
Paws crossed for a calm cycle. No predicting what Mikey will do, he's still got the larger depot so I'd keep an eye on him tonight.

You can update the subject line with your new PS now.

BTW, you have a great vet!
 
Thanks, Wendy. I'll watch him closely. Never trust Mikey is my motto. :) Thanks for the remind about the subject line. In all the drama, I forgot all about it.

I'm going over to FB to post how great my vet is. I love them!
 
Mikey is currently eating his +1 feeding, but it's still FF. I'm going to get a +2, and I'll post it then.

Meanwhile, assuming (a baaad idea with Mikey!) that he doesn't go low tonight, and that he eats in the morning, do we go back to the .5 dose?
 
yes, if you've reduced the dose because of vacation, or a cat not eating or being sick, you return to the regular dose when things are back to normal.

your vet sounds like a treasure! hoping Mikey doesn't decide to dive tonight!
 
I'm trying to get Mikey to eat a little MC, but he's refusing. He's eating the 3% just fine. I will test again in 30 minutes. If I don't like his number, I'll add some honey to the 3%. Now I'm wondering if he insists on eating only 3% instead of his usual 8%, should we stay at .25? Of course he's going to bounce, so there's that. I'm so confused! He's eaten the normal quantity of food this cycle, but it's all been 3%. Really, Mikey, can't I have a little peace on my vacation???
 
Hard to answer your question about the % and the dose. My inclination would be to stay with the regular dose, but there isn't a clear-cut answer to your question. Depends on how carb-sensitive Mikey is. Depends if he's eating normally. Depends on the phase of the moon. ;)
 
Hard to answer your question about the % and the dose. My inclination would be to stay with the regular dose, but there isn't a clear-cut answer to your question. Depends on how carb-sensitive Mikey is. Depends if he's eating normally. Depends on the phase of the moon. ;)

Not to mention how bushy his tail is in the morning. Mikey, Mikey, Mikey! Stink'ear!

Maybe I should make Don figure it out. He called it tonight! Mikey had just better not earn a reduction, because if he does, I'm going to be so confused you'll have to commit me!
 
The stink'ear refused to eat food with honey in it at +3.5, so I rubbed some in his mouth. I am every bit as stubborn as he is. He's having some 3% now.
 
Well, at least I got some quilt fabric ironed out of this PJ party. I still don't have a clue what to shoot in the morning. He came shy of the 30's, but only because he knew it would be super confusing for me.
 
Wow, I have no clue what you should shoot. By rights, he should not have dropped like that on .25. I hope one of the experts will be along to give you some counsel. Maybe you should add a ? to your subject line with something like "dose advice". He's earned a reduction, but should it be to .25, since that wasn't his regular dose? Good luck, Mary. Wish I could help you.

Mikey, quit messing with your mamabean!
 
Tonight's drop was influenced by the .5u depot and the lower carb food. I'd stick to .25u tomorrow if he is eating. There's always the possibility that he'll bounce. ;)
 
Dat was de bestest food fight ever Mikey, I wonder if mommybean will notice dat gravy dat got into her undies drawer before she puts dem on...

Mikey, Mikey, Mikey confounding the bean again, yesterday no LC, tonight only LC :confused: I would let the numbers and his appy be your guide in the morning, if he's bouncing and eating I would go with .50. In regard to the possible fur shots, do you wipe the top of the syringe with a tissue to get the excess lantus off before you shoot? I kept thinking I was giving fur shots to Vyktor until someone mentioned to do that.

 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top