Re: 4/21 Merlin AMPS/437
Darn, slept through my alarm so I didn't get a before bed or nadir reading for tonight.
The vet appointment went well. She spent 50 minutes with us and never rushed us. The vet was interested in all the information that I brought, listened to my explanation of each page, and took it to put in Merlin's file i.e. protocol, U100 conversion table, spreadsheet, numbers for human meter & pet meter, etc. She had no concerns with changing to the Micro meter and using U100 syringes. He only has gained a pound since last October and now weighs 9.9 lbs but overall felt that he looked much better. She confirmed that Merlin does have diabetic neuropathy but felt that he also has arthritis in the back and hips so felt that he probably would not get much better. She was very interested in his food and feeding schedule. Confirmed that he needs a dental cleaning. This costs so much here but they don't use the drugs that have been discussed here at this site and discouraged. She said that she would give us 75 dollars off the procedure if I schedule within the next two weeks. She told me to continue giving him lysine and Methyl B12. When looking at the SS, she said that she never had someone do this much before. She felt that I didn't have to take his blood as often but did encourage I take curves about once a month. I probably won't be able to test as much in the day anyway starting next week due to not being at home during the day. I asked her about the TID and she didn't agree. She was ok with the sliding scale and suggested to not make extreme changes i.e. she suggested slow changes and for example not go from .4 to 2U within 12 hours. She felt that going between .8 and 1.2 is good. Before, about a month ago, she indicated she wanted do a fructosamine but after looking at the ss, she didn't feel it was necessary at this time. Thought that Prozinc is still good for him and really wasn't familiar as much with Lantus. I think that is about it.