4/21 Esse AMPS 150 PMPS 338

Lauren & Esse

Member Since 2025
Last Thread

So I've been looking at the SLGS notes again and noticed that it's recommended to start with .5u if your cat is already on a low carb diet. Esse has been low carb for about a year (after his first high-ish fructosamine) but our vet prescribed him 1u to start. Could that be why we're getting these lower pre-shot numbers, 1u might be too much? We do plan to do a curve in a few days--testing is getting incrementally more peaceful but I don't think we're at a place yet where we can do it every 2 hours without traumatizing him--but would it be okay to try switching to .5u without the curve, just to see if it regulates the PS numbers a bit more?

Going to go ahead and order some u100 syringes with half-unit markings now, since the ones we bought from the vet don't have them.
 
I think the diet change is helping but some insulin support is needed. Can you get a mid cycle test so we can see how low 1 unit is taking Essie? Since you are having to skip shots I think you could decrease the dose and see if that allows you to shoot every cycle. One suggestion if you have the time is to stall without food if the preshot has is too low to shoot and retest in 20-30 minutes to see if the bg rises enough.
 
Yes, the diet change last Spring did lower his levels for sure but then by this year's check-up we found they weren't cutting it.

But thank you!! I am leaning towards trying .5u (once the syringes get in) so we don't feel like we need to skip so much (and trying to get mid-cycle values to see what's actually going on).
 
Back
Top