Suzanne & Darcy
Member Since 2020
Well, it's a good thing I decided to get up last night and keep checking him. He's dropped low again on the 15 units (not dangerously low when I was doing my tests, but lower than I want him to be at night!) He was 78 at midnight. I didn't like this. Gave 1 tsp. HC, 1 a.m. he was at 83. 2 a.m. he was at 77 (I figured at this point he was going to stay low, but mostly stable since he hadn't shown signs of significant drops). I left him alone until 4 a.m. and then I did not test but just checked up on him to make sure he looked okay/normal. He was fine so I didn't test anymore until 5:45 a.m. for his AMPS... which was 67 (fun). I probably should have skipped entirely, but decided to shoot half a dose of 8 units (rounded up to 8 units) instead of 15 units. It's about +2 now, so I'll test again... but here's what's really bothering me (except that he really has very little appetite)....
He is definitely showing signs of having problems with using his back legs. First, this morning he started shaking his hind right leg like it was bothering him. My daughter picked him up to clean his back foot... thinking that he had stepped in kitty litter and had something stuck in his back foot paw pads. There was nothing there. Watching him, he's definitely wobbly on the back legs and not walking all the way up on his foot properly. He had trouble getting up the stairs... got half way up.... stopped and wouldn't go any further.
So... can a cat get diabetic neuropathy when his numbers really aren't that bad? I am surprised at this. I do know how to treat it with Zobaline/methylcobalamin and I will order some immediately, but this just perplexes me.
Well that's my long story for today... sorry to be so long-winded.
I hope to have time to check in on all of you today. Soon I will need to take Ginger to the vet to have an x-ray done of her lungs (since something was there a month ago and we started antibiotics and the nebulizer treatments).
I'm toying with the idea of bringing Darcy as well and having them run a quick in-house CBC to see if it can indicate why his appetite is so poor (hate to spend the money though.) Besides, at this point, I will have to take him in the car with me anyway since he may drop low. I would be away from the house for a few hours. Decisions.
yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...04-7-108-10-111-pmps-111.246372/#post-2779731
He is definitely showing signs of having problems with using his back legs. First, this morning he started shaking his hind right leg like it was bothering him. My daughter picked him up to clean his back foot... thinking that he had stepped in kitty litter and had something stuck in his back foot paw pads. There was nothing there. Watching him, he's definitely wobbly on the back legs and not walking all the way up on his foot properly. He had trouble getting up the stairs... got half way up.... stopped and wouldn't go any further.
So... can a cat get diabetic neuropathy when his numbers really aren't that bad? I am surprised at this. I do know how to treat it with Zobaline/methylcobalamin and I will order some immediately, but this just perplexes me.
Well that's my long story for today... sorry to be so long-winded.
I hope to have time to check in on all of you today. Soon I will need to take Ginger to the vet to have an x-ray done of her lungs (since something was there a month ago and we started antibiotics and the nebulizer treatments).
I'm toying with the idea of bringing Darcy as well and having them run a quick in-house CBC to see if it can indicate why his appetite is so poor (hate to spend the money though.) Besides, at this point, I will have to take him in the car with me anyway since he may drop low. I would be away from the house for a few hours. Decisions.
yesterday: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...04-7-108-10-111-pmps-111.246372/#post-2779731
Last edited:





