4/21 Bud AMPS 436 PMPS 265 yellow preshot? Yes please!

Status
Not open for further replies.
I doubt you'll miss any low numbers tonight!

Too bad that didn't fall on a day off. Shooting a lower preshot when you can monitor can make a huge leap forward in gaining control of a cat's blood sugar.
 
Once you've had this situation you're very likely to have it again. Have you read up on shooting low, ie shooting the full dose into normal numbers?

Do you have the "where can I find?" Post?
 
I have read it before, but could probably use a refresher course as its really uncommon for Bud to throw me low preshots. Had this been a day I could've monitored, I would have asked for dosing advice this morning as I don't have enough experience to tell me if I should have shot a full 1.0 or shoot less when a much lower than normal preshot happens.
 
Lantus dosing is based on how low the dose takes the cat, not on the preshot. On this group, we suggest 150 as a "ask for advice if it's lower than this" number. If you can monitor and he's eating normally, it's likely ok to shoot. We wouldn't normally suggest reducing the dose unless he went under 90.

On that where can I find post, look in the second half for "shooting low" and for "tight regulations protocol myths debunked " and on that one look for "shooting a dropping number ".

It's good to look at the main page here too. Notice when people have a preshot less than 100, then notice how little the blood sugar moves after that lower shot.
 
Here's the link to the "Where Can I Find?" post.

Take a look at the information on shooting low (mentioned above) to get yourself read up and ready for the next occasion. It's very likely to come again!

By the way, tomorrow would you start a new post? Even if they're short, we encourage everyone to start a new one with a new day. That helps keep things manageable.

Looks like he's ready to recover from that skipped shot yesterday morning. Fingers crossed that he comes down a bit for you. Nice and slow please, Bud!
 
I had to leave to take my daughter to gymnastics but I'll be home right at +2. Fed some 15% carbs to hopefully slow any drops but Buds proven before that sometimes a bit of higher carbs won't slow him down! Lol Yes, nice and slow please!
 
It didn't hurt anything to give him 15%, but just for the future, you don't need to do that. Even low carb will often encourage a cat to surf along. If the dose is high enough that it's going to get him under 50, you want to know that! Ideally when you're home to monitor too. So I'd just feed him tonight like you normally would.
 
Usually I feed low carb with injection and then feed a little medium carb at +1 hoping to slow fast drops. I'm wondering if that's been helping the fast drops and bouncing I've had with him. But since I was on my way out the door and couldn't feed the medium carb at +1, I just fed medium carb with injection.
 
@manxcat419 hope you don't mind me tagging you. Saw you were online. Bud is 106 at +4. Test in another hour or sooner?
ETA: going to feed some medium carb although it didn't slow him down as usual! Lol
 
Changed my mind and fed low carb as I know he won't stuff himself on that in case I need him to eat more later.
 
He's probably good for an hour, but that is quite a drop and he does seem to drop quickly once he gets going. Can you get another test in about 30 minutes just to be on the safe side?
 
He's probably good for an hour, but that is quite a drop and he does seem to drop quickly once he gets going. Can you get another test in about 30 minutes just to be on the safe side?

Sounds good. Guess I'll stay comfy on the couch and not head to bed quite yet. Hope he surfs. I don't want a full pj party tonight! Lol
 
I hope he does surf for you - he might level out not too far from where he is now. But it's better to be sure that's what he's planning before you call it a night.
 
No problem - I'm about for a while yet (West Coast) so if he doesn't want to surf, I can stick around for a good while yet. :)
 
I almost hate to reduce but I can't be worried about him at work either! Seriously Bud, either the other cats are giving him more insulin to get the "good food" or Bud just isn't that carb sensitive!
 
Hahaha :) I have a very clear mental image of the other cats giving Bud extra insulin now!! ;) Some cats are less carb sensitive though - Rosa can eat the Friskies Mixed Grill pate which is usually just into the medium carb range at 11% and it doesn't make any difference to her levels at all. You might find Bud is the same and can have slightly higher carbs without it having much effect.
 
I think it's worth another try at the reduction - this is the second time he's earned it...it might well stick this time (anti-jinx). :)
 
I think it's worth another try at the reduction - this is the second time he's earned it...it might well stick this time (anti-jinx). :)

I just hate to lose momentum but I will definitely reduce since I can't monitor tomorrow. Yes, hopefully it sticks this time! (Anti-jinx)!!!
 
It might not be a bad idea - or put them so high up none of them can possibly get to them!! ;)

Sounds good - that should be high enough carb to bring him up a little. :)
 
It might not be a bad idea - or put them so high up none of them can possibly get to them!! ;)

Sounds good - that should be high enough carb to bring him up a little. :)

Ha! Kiki and Izzy are the crazy ones and like to hang out on top of the kitchen cabinets and my china hutch! Height is no match for them... And Kiki can open doors... Lol I think I have my suspects!
 
Mr. Kiki in action....
 

Attachments

  • image.jpg
    image.jpg
    34.8 KB · Views: 46
I think you do. :D We have two who like to climb as high as possible too - I keep finding them in places I'm sure they shouldn't be able to jump to! Top of the china hutch is a favorite with them too. They even managed to get over the baby gates we'd put up (stacked 2 high) in the hall to keep them out of the back bedrooms!!
 
They're beautiful...though of course a little naughty for climbing all the way up there! :D They look so much like 2 of the cats here - Regan (Rosa's twin) and Dr Girlfriend (one of our housemate's cats). Much as I know none of the cats here should probably climb up on things like that either, they're just so adorable when they do that I can't quite manage to stop them!! :D
 
I think you do. :D We have two who like to climb as high as possible too - I keep finding them in places I'm sure they shouldn't be able to jump to! Top of the china hutch is a favorite with them too. They even managed to get over the baby gates we'd put up (stacked 2 high) in the hall to keep them out of the back bedrooms!!

2 baby gates?! That's amazing!
 
I can't stop them either, it's too stinkin cute! They are siblings born to a momma cat that lived under the mobile home we used to live in. Kiki came into the house through the vents and Izzy managed to somehow wind up under my sink!! (Yes the under belly of it must not have been critter proof lol) I couldn't kick them back out.... ;) momma cat was feral and wouldn't come close to us so I couldn't rescue her.
 
They're a pair of little monsters, they really are - Licorice, our little tabby found her way over and Regan was right behind her. Regan is old enough to know better but she just follows Licorice's lead, knowing she can't get into trouble for it if it wasn't her idea!! :rolleyes:

That's a lovely story of how you came to own them too. :) Rosa and Regan were feral as kittens - and having had them for 12 years now, I still say that ferals that have learned to love people make some of the most loving cats around. :)
 
Kiki was a sweetie from the get go but Izzy was so timid. She's come a long way and sleeps on my legs every night!

Bud is 77 at +5.5
 
They sound so much like my 2 - Rosa loved the whole world right from day 1. Regan got overattached to me very quickly, but took a long long time to be comfortable with anyone else - and even then she had to know them quite well to relax with them. She's so much better now - she'll let Michael's kids and our housemate and his GF pick her up for cuddles these days but it took years for her to get to that point.

Bud really isn't carb sensitive is he? I'd have expected him to be a little higher after the food you gave him! Do you think he might like a bit more of that mixture?
 
I'm of course all the cats first choice but if I'm not home they'll try to snuggle with my husband but have little success lol except Izzy, I think he has a soft spot for her ;)

I know Bud would love more of that mixture, but question is, which way is going to get me to bed quicker? Feeding more or just testing to see if he's rising without more food? Lol
 
I think my two got lucky there when I moved here - Michael is a cat lover too. He has 2, I have 2 and our housemate has 2 though we pretty much all look after all of them! :)

That's really difficult to know - if he's rising without food then you can go to bed, but if he drops back without the carbs then you'd need to test again. Maybe try another 30 minutes without food and see where he gets to - if he's rising you can leave food out and sleep. If he drops back then it's only half an hour more than if you gave him more carbs now.
 
He's sleeping so I think I'll let him be and grab that +6 in 9 minutes and go from there.

Tim will swear up and down that he hates the cats but I always catch him petting Izzy and talking to all of them. LOL
 
I think that's a good idea - if he's still rising or level at that point, I think you could leave him some food out...maybe a little of the higher carb just in case...and get some sleep. :)

That sounds like my Dad - he says he doesn't like cats, but there are always a couple of ferals that hang round at my parents' house (because he puts food out for them) and the cats that we've owned as a family have somehow always ended up on his lap being petted. :D I think he just doesn't want the dogs to get jealous. ;)
 
It's actually probably good that he's sleeping not running around - as I found out yesterday morning, running around can knock 30 points off Rosa's number easily. If he's happy to sleep, I'd let him lay down for now!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top