4/21 Binie, surgery on thursday, right dose? how to shoot before surgery?

Heike & BInie

Member Since 2024
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-18-binie-amps-467-3-390-6-354-9-408.288953/

Good afternoon,

looking at Binies numbers the last days with 2,25 IU I realized two reductions have been too much. Now I wonder what to do, with the coming surgery next thursday:

My shottime is 07:00 am. Her surgery is at 11:00 am. They will remove a lump under a infected wound not healing. The lump can be anything, so there is no diagnosis yet. The vet told me to not feed her for 3 to 4 hours before surgery and give her normal dose of Insulin. So I could feed her before her usual shot at 07:00 and than let her fast.

My question: Should I keep the dose 2,25 IU, which is too low, to keep her safe during the surgery? Should I switch the shooting time somehow? If I feed her before 07:00 am, than she will fast until the afternoon because the surgery is scheduled for two hours and she will need time to wake up before she can eat anything. Besides I am not sure, if she will feel like eating so maybe she will be a long time without food.

Besides keeping her safe at the day of the surgery my vet told me, that her bg may goes down after the surgery because she is not struggling with an inflamation any more. That could be another reason to keep the actual dose of 2,25 IE?

Binie is still eating very well, which makes me quite happy after this long time of always struggling to get enough food into her.

Thank you so much for your advice!

Hope everyone has a relaxed sunday with their kittys! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi @Heike & BInie . That's great that you have the surgery scheduled. Hoping Binie will get some relief.

Have you seen this post, specifically the chart at the end. Will the vet be monitoring Binies BG during the surgery?

I think you have plenty of room for an increase. Four days is a long time in FD :).

Tagging some others for their input @Wendy&Neko @Marje and Gracie


Thank you Angela for the interesting information! That already answered some of my questions... So maybe it would be good to shift her injection time to 8 am, feed her before and than she has 3 hours, before the surgery start. Seems I can go up with the dose now again and on thursday I give 1/2. And yes, they will monitor her bg during surgery. I asked them not to use the libre during surgery because I heard that during anaesthesia it gives wrong number. They will do ear pricks and just use the libre after the surgery before I pick her up.

One more question: I talked with the vet about additional examinations we can do while she is in anaesthesia. They will do a dental x-ray and a blood panel. Anything else which is advisable to rule out conditions, which may caused the diabetes?
 
Sending you much good luck with the upcoming surgery for Binie. Wishing you an easy surgery with a stress free and fast recovery. Big hugs, Heike.
 
Sending you much good luck with the upcoming surgery for Binie. Wishing you an easy surgery with a stress free and fast recovery. Big hugs, Heike.

Thank you so much Staci! Somehow I dread everything which is coming so much and on the other hand I really hope, it helps her to become more stable and comfortable. Whatever these lumps may be, they are bothering her. I wish you and Ivy a relaxed sunday and a safe and calm night! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Is Binie going to be under general anaesthesia? Everytime Neko was going to have anaesthesia I was told to give a half dose in the morning. I have had a cat have a lump removed under a local instead of general anaesthesia. So that could make a difference. With a local, they can eat more quickly afterwards.

If you don't see anything under 150 after tomorrow you can increase. Then you could decrease before the operation.

Besides keeping her safe at the day of the surgery my vet told me, that her bg may goes down after the surgery because she is not struggling with an inflamation any more. That could be another reason to keep the actual dose of 2,25 IE?
It's also possible that she'll see a temporary increase in BG numbers after surgery, due to inflammation from the surgery itself. I agree there's a good chance her numbers will eventually go down, it just might not be right away. After one of Neko's dentals, I actually had to increase for a week.
 
Is Binie going to be under general anaesthesia? Everytime Neko was going to have anaesthesia I was told to give a half dose in the morning. I have had a cat have a lump removed under a local instead of general anaesthesia. So that could make a difference. With a local, they can eat more quickly afterwards.

If you don't see anything under 150 after tomorrow you can increase. Then you could decrease before the operation.


It's also possible that she'll see a temporary increase in BG numbers after surgery, due to inflammation from the surgery itself. I agree there's a good chance her numbers will eventually go down, it just might not be right away. After one of Neko's dentals, I actually had to increase for a week.

Thank you Wendy! Binie will have general anaesthesia. She is not very cooperative at the vet and there is no other choice. I will see what her numbers are tomorrow but I think she will not come even near to 150. So I will increase on tuesday and give half dose on thursday. That her bg maybe goes up after surgery temporarily makes sense. One reason more to increase, if she doesn't go under 150 by tomorrow. I will keep you all updated! Have a relaxed sunday evening! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/4-18-binie-amps-467-3-390-6-354-9-408.288953/

Good afternoon,

looking at Binies numbers the last days with 2,25 IU I realized two reductions have been too much. Now I wonder what to do, with the coming surgery next thursday:

My shottime is 07:00 am. Her surgery is at 11:00 am. They will remove a lump under a infected wound not healing. The lump can be anything, so there is no diagnosis yet. The vet told me to not feed her for 3 to 4 hours before surgery and give her normal dose of Insulin. So I could feed her before her usual shot at 07:00 and than let her fast.

My question: Should I keep the dose 2,25 IU, which is too low, to keep her safe during the surgery? Should I switch the shooting time somehow? If I feed her before 07:00 am, than she will fast until the afternoon because the surgery is scheduled for two hours and she will need time to wake up before she can eat anything. Besides I am not sure, if she will feel like eating so maybe she will be a long time without food.

Besides keeping her safe at the day of the surgery my vet told me, that her bg may goes down after the surgery because she is not struggling with an inflamation any more. That could be another reason to keep the actual dose of 2,25 IE?

Binie is still eating very well, which makes me quite happy after this long time of always struggling to get enough food into her.

Thank you so much for your advice!

Hope everyone has a relaxed sunday with their kittys! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Since Wendy has responded on dosing and Angela posted the chart, I’d just like to make another comment. Depending on what anesthesia they use, the BG could drop after surgery and into the evening cycle. This doesn’t seem to happen with alfaxalone but ECID so just be aware. Alfaxalone has been used successfully in Europe long before it was used here so it’s likely your vet will use it.

Lots of good surgery vines for Binie!
 
Since Wendy has responded on dosing and Angela posted the chart, I’d just like to make another comment. Depending on what anesthesia they use, the BG could drop after surgery and into the evening cycle. This doesn’t seem to happen with alfaxalone but ECID so just be aware. Alfaxalone has been used successfully in Europe long before it was used here so it’s likely your vet will use it.

Lots of good surgery vines for Binie!

Thank you so much for the good wishes and making me aware! I didn't think this could happen (bg drop after the surgery) and I am not sure which anesthesia she will get. I haven't heard about Alfaxalone so far but I will ask. After the surgery she will stay at the vet until the afternoon and I am so relieved she has a sensor, so it is easier for them to monitor. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Thank you so much for the good wishes and making me aware! I didn't think this could happen (bg drop after the surgery) and I am not sure which anesthesia she will get. I haven't heard about Alfaxalone so far but I will ask. After the surgery she will stay at the vet until the afternoon and I am so relieved she has a sensor, so it is easier for them to monitor. Thank you! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You’re welcome!
 
Back
Top