? 4/21/17,Sprocket,AMPS/282, PMPS/ 295, +2.25/202. +4/113, +4.45/108, +5.5/122. Big drop in 4 hrs

Status
Not open for further replies.
He is acting good. Eating well.
:bighug:

Nice run. Hopefully, as the depot fills, it will bring Sprocket down a bit more. The goal is to get them used to lower numbers and continue to bring them down to normal numbers. They may feel off as this happens or they may not. Gizmo had good days/bad days. :cat: ECID!
 
Ya i hope his body is finally getting the hang of good numbers.
He went up a little for +2.5 at 294 but hope he goes down some
He has sugar free appetite stim coming today so that might make a difference.
 
Ok. Had the sugar free cyproheptadine tonight. Ate 2oz for dinner at 630pm.
Pmps at 610pm. Was 295.
202 at +2.25
Big drop. 93 pts.
Fed normal food.

5th cycle at dose too.
Advice?
 
What do you mean by an active cycle??
Down then up or down n up n down??
ECID
I can only tell how it is with Ducia:
if the + 2 lower than PS - as in your case tonight, then the cycle is active.
The last insulin injection hasn't kicked in yet but you are already seen significant lowering in BG.
Be prepared it is going to lower yet, maybe even by big drop. Watch out!

When the shot starts working - again ECID- but with Ducia it is from +3.15 to +4, that number you've got at +2.25 will lower even more. Today Ducia had 3 big drops.

With Ducia it keeps getting lower and lower for hours. I don't know how Sprocket reacts. ECID.
Keep the MC/HC ready. Test frequently and keep the SS updated with BG and food given.

Keep posting on the Board.

Good luck!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Pmps was 295 at 606pm. Shot at 645pm
855pm was 202
1040pm is 113.
I fed friskies 5 carb 1/4 can.

Little panicky

Whats ECID?

He had the sugar free medicine tonight. Before it had sugar. They made mistake.
Plus 5th cycle on dose
 
Darnell, DEEP breaths...the food you fed at shot time has been digested and you're closer to nadir than shot time. Everything is working correctly, you've given some regular food to create another small food cycle - this is how things are supposed to work. All this stuff you've gone thru is to get to this point right here. You'll be fine! Enjoy it!

The most important thing I learned years ago was from Sienne - 'Don't panic, just do'. If you see a low number, you're already beginning to do what's necessary with the next step being 'do' to raise that number. Nothing to panic about... :)

HUGS...and breathe again...
 
Ok. Trying to breathe.

So what if I give 3.5 u again and he drops like this again?
Tomorrow AM is 6th cycle on dose.
He might. You want him getting to lower numbers because it'll reduce the chance of ketones developing again and he'll feel better. You might have to do a little steering with food mid cycle but that's OK. You'll soon get a routine going for that and the more greens you see - and get him safely through - the less bothered you'll be.
 
He might. You want him getting to lower numbers because it'll reduce the chance of ketones developing again and he'll feel better. You might have to do a little steering with food mid cycle but that's OK. You'll soon get a routine going for that and the more greens you see - and get him safely through - the less bothered you'll be.

Ok. One thing this says to me is I have to spend my life steering his bg with a high dose at shot time instead of just reducing a bit to balance him. I can't spend my life at home all the time. I have already missed numerous doc appts for me in past weeks taking care of him and I tell you. People dont care. They are not nice when you say you come come to appt last minute.
 
Thanks. My problem is learning what carb to give n how much so i dont send him flying too high too
It can depend on how carb sensitive your kitty is. If he's quite sensitive, LC food can be used to steer him, maybe about 2 teaspoons at a time. If he's not too sensitive, you can try 1 - 2 teaspoons of HC. You can mix half LC and half HC to make MC. You also have to consider how low he is. If he's in the 100s, LC might work. If he's 50 or lower, get the HC out right away. When a situation arises, you try things, make notes on what you did and how it worked so you know what to do or not do the next time. It's all experimentation.
 
Ok. One thing this says to me is I have to spend my life steering his bg with a high dose at shot time instead of just reducing a bit to balance him. I can't spend my life at home all the time. I have already missed numerous doc appts for me in past weeks taking care of him and I tell you. People dont care. They are not nice when you say you come come to appt last minute.
Actually, what you do is try a dose for 3 cycles and if you find you have to do this every day then you might consider reducing. Another thing you can do is try SLGS instead. Doses are held longer and the reduction point is higher. That might be less stressful for you. With DKA episodes in Sprocket's past, though, you don't want him lingering in high numbers any longer than necessary.
 
Actually, what you do is try a dose for 3 cycles and if you find you have to do this every day then you might consider reducing. Another thing you can do is try SLGS instead. Doses are held longer and the reduction point is higher. That might be less stressful for you. With DKA episodes in Sprocket's past, though, you don't want him lingering in high numbers any longer than necessary.

That's what i keep being told. I want to do slgs but everyone says do TR.
Because of his dka history and ketones.

I can't steer his bg daily by food. If he keeps dropping I cant do that daily.
I dont understand this.
 
It's almost your +5, right? He's not that far from nadir and his BG has stayed about the same. There's no real difference between 113 and 108. What does your gut tell you to do?

Its at +5 now. Did shot at 645pm.
Its now 1145pm.

To me it says 113. I fed 1/4 of 5.5oz can. 5 carb. Anf he dropped 5 pts in 45mins.

To me it says he would of dropped alot more if i didnt feed him

He has eaten alot now. I cant guarantee he will eat more.
This is a huge drop.
I know i got sugar free med difference n 5th cycle of dose but still huge drop.
 
That's what i keep being told. I want to do slgs but everyone says do TR.
Because of his dka history and ketones.

I can't steer his bg daily by food. If he keeps dropping I cant do that daily.
I dont understand this.
Thing is, you don't know yet that you'd have to steer daily. So far tonight you've given a little LC food and his BG is at a really good level. It might have gone there without the LC snack. I suggest you don't give any more food but keep testing so you see what his natural response is to this dose for the next couple of hours.
 
Its at +5 now. Did shot at 645pm.
Its now 1145pm.

To me it says 113. I fed 1/4 of 5.5oz can. 5 carb. Anf he dropped 5 pts in 45mins.

To me it says he would of dropped alot more if i didnt feed him

He has eaten alot now. I cant guarantee he will eat more.
This is a huge drop.
I know i got sugar free med difference n 5th cycle of dose but still huge drop.
113 and 108 are essentially the same number. Meters are allowed to have up to 20% variance. He's been surfing for 45 minutes.
 
I usually only give carbs from 0-3. Ff pates
A 4 or 5 carb he does not have usually. So for him its a higher carb than normal.
I did a 7 before n it was too much.

Its midnight here now. Test a few more hours then 6am is test/ feed/ then shoot time.
I may have to do this again in morning with no sleep if i don't reduce dose???
 
I fed 1/4 of 5.5oz can. 5 carb. Anf he dropped 5 pts in 45mins.
That much food will take some time to metabolize.
Anf he dropped 5 pts in 45mins.
5 p drop mean nothing
He has eaten alot now. I cant guarantee he will eat more.
That's where giving a little after test comes in handy. If he doesn't want to eat - offer only liquid gravy from HC, not the HC meal itself, squeeze the liquid on the plate and offer. The gravy isn't heavy on the stomach and the most cats I heard of cannot resist that HC gravy.
 
I usually only give carbs from 0-3. Ff pates
A 4 or 5 carb he does not have usually. So for him its a higher carb than normal.
I did a 7 before n it was too much.

Its midnight here now. Test a few more hours then 6am is test/ feed/ then shoot time.
I may have to do this again in morning with no sleep if i don't reduce dose???
Still dont get it.
OK - try this: test again at +6 and see where he is. If he's still in the same blue range he's surfing and odds are it'll go on for a little while until he slowly starts to go up. Give the same dose tomorrow AM. It'll give you the day time to test and see how he does on it while you're awake. You have to get used to lower numbers if you want to keep Sprocket away from DKA.

How long does it take the food to metabolize to bring bg up?
It usually takes 20 to 30 minutes to start affecting BG. How long the effect lasts depends on many factors.
 
I usually only give carbs from 0-3. Ff pates
A 4 or 5 carb he does not have usually. So for him its a higher carb than normal.
I did a 7 before n it was too much.

Its midnight here now. Test a few more hours then 6am is test/ feed/ then shoot time.
I may have to do this again in morning with no sleep if i don't reduce dose???


OK - try this: test again at +6 and see where he is. If he's still in the same blue range he's surfing and odds are it'll go on for a little while until he slowly starts to go up. Give the same dose tomorrow AM. It'll give you the day time to test and see how he does on it while you're awake. You have to get used to lower numbers if you want to keep Sprocket away from DKA.
 
OK - try this: test again at +6 and see where he is. If he's still in the same blue range he's surfing and odds are it'll go on for a little while until he slowly starts to go up. Give the same dose tomorrow AM. It'll give you the day time to test and see how he does on it while you're awake. You have to get used to lower numbers if you want to keep Sprocket away from DKA.

While i am awake!??
When do I sleep??
Its midnight now.
I will be up for a few more hours then i am to do this again tomorrow??
 
Complex. Yea he's been complex.
I thought he was doing great yesterday n today till his medicine goes from having sugar to no sugar and then he drops alot!

Makes no sense to me.
 
I thought he was doing great yesterday n today till his medicine goes from having sugar to no sugar and then he drops alot!

Makes no sense to me.
It makes sense because sugar in meds put a break on insulin working, and kept Sprocket from benefiting from that insulin. Now he gets medicated as he should have been! The drop is understandable - no sugar in the way of insulin working and healing Sprocket.
The last read of 108 is a good number, truly!
 
Well would you look at that - blue skies at last! Not just any blue - Sprocket is seeing BG numbers in the normal range!

When I was in the thick of it with BK , due to his high dose condition I was shooting Lantus and a fast acting insulin at each PS along with an additional booster of the fast acting insulin at +6 for both AM and PM cycles. Since BK was my office cat, I slept (more like napped) on a futon in my office so that I could keep an eye on him. After about 6 weeks I was strung out and close to burned out. What made all the difference was the 5 compartment programmable timed feeder. It allowed BK to feed himself. essentially managing his BG with the timed meals.

Hang in there Darnell. Tomorrow will likely be a bounce - take advantage of bounces and rest.
You are on the right track here. It will get easier.
 
HUGS and HUGS Darnell - I know you're exhausted, this REALLY won't go on forever. You did just amazingly wonderful last night. The complication of ketones is the reason you're having to push all this so hard. When the body recovers from the effects of those, this whole dance will be easier. There really IS sleep and rest in the future.

More hugs and yes, try to get rest and naps if you can today....spoil yourself, you deserve it.
 
Just wanted to tell you to hang in there. You won't have to be "feeding the curve" and on edge forever. As his body gets more use to being in normal numbers, the blood sugars really even out and start to become very stable for a lot of cats. Their body is able to better regulate and you don't get the huge scary swings. You'll also get more used to it, and less fearful as you learn his patterns.

Remember, he was very sick for a period of time, and you are just getting out of that. Things will start to feel more normal soon, especially if he stays in good numbers and stays healthy.
 
Just wanted to tell you to hang in there. You won't have to be "feeding the curve" and on edge forever. As his body gets more use to being in normal numbers, the blood sugars really even out and start to become very stable for a lot of cats. Their body is able to better regulate and you don't get the huge scary swings. You'll also get more used to it, and less fearful as you learn his patterns.

Remember, he was very sick for a period of time, and you are just getting out of that. Things will start to feel more normal soon, especially if he stays in good numbers and stays healthy.

Thanks. It does feel like forever. Almost 7 weeks total now. I would love to see be a kitty that stays steady for awhile. 100&200s without huge drops.

His body obviously didn't like that at all.
Today he is bouncing in low 300s.
I am trying to keep him healthy. I hope we will be ok when we reduce fluids more this week.
I am still testing ketone strips but not liking the relion strips. Hard to tell of negative is a trace or not. Its got some hue of negative & trace. Its weird.
Sometimes I have to put in wet litter so could not work with that.

Do you remember any other dka kitties stories?
 
Hard to tell of negative is a trace or not. Its got some hue of negative & trace. Its weird.
I had the same for a long period. It still hard to distinguish in the bright electric light, but if I can check during the daylight on my balcony I can clearly see that the Trace color block has a little pink hue in it as compared to the testing pad which appears in the daylight as pale skin color, very light beige without any pink -ishness at all. Then I take it as Negative result. I put question mark next to the result if in doubt and wait to recheck in the day time to verify. Hope it helps.
I use Trueplus strips, but think all of them are confusing because color blocks Trace and Negative are so much alike. I read many posts saying just the same - hard to tell.:bighug:
 
I had the same for a long period. It still hard to distinguish in the bright electric light, but if I can check during the daylight on my balcony I can clearly see that the Trace color block has a little pink hue in it as compared to the testing pad which appears in the daylight as pale skin color, very light beige without any pink -ishness at all. Then I take it as Negative result. I put question mark next to the result if in doubt and wait to recheck in the day time to verify. Hope it helps.
I use Trueplus strips, but think all of them are confusing because color blocks Trace and Negative are so much alike. I read many posts saying just the same - hard to tell.:bighug:

Problem is you have to read the result at 15 seconds. It changes after that which can result in wrong result. Instructions even say that.
Think if I used a flashlight on it would it help?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top