4/21/13 Rags AMPS-226, +6 -322

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon to all. Hope all is well with everyone and their babies.

Rags is doing better today, thank goodness !!! I'm not but he is and that's what is important !!!!

Becki & Rags

(((HUGS)))
 
Re: 4/21/13 AMPS - 226, + 6 - 322

Hi Becki

I'm glad to see a condo today and that he started out his day so nicely! Good job shooting the 1u again.

I hope you feel better as the day goes on!
 
Marje, I don't know WHY his name was not in the topic line, this tablet makes me crazy !!!!

I'm sorry that I don't understand your terminology on this board, but when you say " held a shot". Thar's what I thought you meant. That I didn't give it. Now I know, thank you !! I did read your post, I read all of them, as I said, I just didn't understand the terminology.

Anyhow, yes I can and did feed him. I "thought" when I was trying to get him regulated only, that he should only be fed when shot. That is what my Vet said. I have been feeding him throughout the day, and his numbers go HI. that is what concerned me.

I do know that everyone here are "volunteers". and that you can't have eyes on everyone, but that is what was said. I'm happy that you explained that as well, now I know. I will not panic anymore, at least I'll try not to, ha, ha !!! You know, it's MY BOY and' I DO worry too much !!!

Thanks once again for your help and everyone that does help me !!! You all are VERY MUCH. Appreciated !!!


Bvecki & Rags

(((Hugs, Hugs and more HUGS !))) P.S. Thank you for the Caring !
 
Oh Hey Becki! I finally found your condo for today. Kept doing a search for Rags and nothing was coming up with todays date. Lots of beans have been very late in posting and updating their condos for today. It's the lazy Sunday blues! ;-)

Did you see my question in your post from yesterday on which error code you were getting? Knowing could help us narrow down the possibilities of what is going on there with the meter. If you don't have it, make a note in your notebook the next time it happens.

Nice to see those numbers from today, a "Sunny Yellow" and a "Stinky Pinky". We call them that because those are the color codes for those numbers on the spreadsheet.

Sorry to hear you are not feeling well. Sending feel better vines and get well vines.

You might want to see if other people concur, but I'd like to see some test numbers before the +6. We base dose increases/decreases on the nadir. I don't think we have found Rags nadir yet. It looks to me like he is going up already at the +6.

Wink used to do that, have a really early nadir, between 3.5 and 5 usually.

This is also day 6 on the bid dosing. I'd like some folks to chime in on if it's time to increase the dose and by how much or if we still need to hold onto those patience pants and wait a bit more. Opinions appreciated. Thanks.

Becki, Please, anytime some of our terminology doesn't make any sense to you, ask what we mean. Saying something in a slightly different way or explaining more is something we can and will do to help you. OK?
 
Deb, you crack me up !! Thank you for the "well" wishes !! I don't know what the heck is going on with me.

Yes, you are right about the way you all say things that I don't understand. I guess that's why I get confused sooo much !!!

I think I need a jumpsuit, not patience "pants" !!:-) :-) :-) BLUE, LIGHT !!! Ha, ha

When I typed in the "new topic". Of course I put Rags name in there, I always do. When I went to look for it I couldn't find it either. This da-- tablet types what it wants to. It even changes words on me and I took OFF the "spell correct" .

You always ask the impossible of me !! You know I'm having a HARD time even getting one blood test let alone more. I'm getting four a day. Soon I will be doing a twelve hour curve. Probably Tuesday. Will that work for you ?? Yes, Marje agrees on the dose increase.

As for the meter, I will take notice of the error code. I thought it always meant not enough blood and I couldn't understand that. His ears are bleeding really good !!! My poor boy !! He really tried to get away from me when I took his +6 today. I had to actually hold him tight which I've never had to do before.

God, these Dove dark chocolate candies are delicious ! I never eat just plain chocolate, I love M & M dark choc. Peanuts
I gave them up for Lent one year. After Lent my Grocery store had them on sale for 99 cents a bag. I bought 16 bags ans gained like 50 pounds. Imagine that !!! Ha, ha ! That was when I had money, before all 23 if my kids,

How are you and your babies doing ?

Thanks,

Becki & Rags
 
As far as a dose increase, I've asked Jill, Libby, Sienne, and Dyana to also weigh in because there is the concern that "if" we think he needs a dose increase, he will need to be fed more than twice a day.

For now, until one of us gets back to you, just continue to shoot 1u. But can you let us know, please, how often you would be willing to feed him? I do not think it is the food that is making him high mid cycle as long as you are feeding low carb canned or raw food.
 
Marje, if you'll look at my SS and my posts, I HAVE been feeding him throughout the day. I was giving him three meals a day, then I cut it back to small meals in between because I was hollored at to do it. He IS getting fed during the day !!

Thank you !

Becki & Rags
 
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: Was it the "stinky pinky" that cracked you up or something else I said?

I think I need a jumpsuit, not patience "pants" !!:-) :-) :-) BLUE, LIGHT !!! Ha, ha
And matching accessories in perhaps royal blue? A jaunty hat, wide leather belt with silver buckles, pretty matching shoes and some 'bling' - like some long dangly, large size earrings in silver and turquoise, a simple but elegant lapel pin for your jumpsuit.

Oh, gosh! Those 'healing vines" should be working by now. There was a vet tech on here some time ago who frequently misspelled 'vibes' ad 'vines. So instead of sending someone "vibes", we send "vines". A little inside joke here on the FDMB.

Glad you are enjoying the Dove dark chocolates. I ration myself to only a couple a day or I would gain a lot of weight also.

You always ask the impossible of me !! You know I'm having a HARD time even getting one blood test let alone more. I'm getting four a day. Soon I will be doing a twelve hour curve. Probably Tuesday. Will that work for you ??

Tuesday is fine. I didn't mean right this minute. :o After all, you are already way past the +4 +5 times from this mornings shot. ;-) When you can. Keep bribing him with those treats and before you know it, he will come running to be tested. :shock: Just the sound of you shaking the treat bag will get him on his test spot instantly. ;-) ;-) ;-)

As for the meter, I will take notice of the error code. I thought it always meant not enough blood and I couldn't understand that.
That is what I was asking. Next time it happens, write down the error code.

Sometimes, an error means that you actually got too much blood. I did that a number of times. I'm blind in one eye so my depth perception isn't the best. I would get a nice big blood drop and then put the strip way down in the middle of the big drop instead of along the side to let the strip do it's gentle sip action. Can't tell you how many times I did that and flooded the strip with too much blood.

How are you and your babies doing ?

Wink, Monet and Delta are all fine. Monet loves the warmer weather and being able to go out on the screened porch. Wink does too but not as much. Little Delta says it's too cold today and wants to be coaxed out and wants to wait for some warmer weather.

See my PM to you for how I am.
 
Becki

I did look at his SS before I asked. Here's what it says for yesterday:
7:30 a.m. 1 1/2 cans ff with water. 5 am. Pieces of F/D chicken.7:30 p.m. 2 cans ff with water. Three am F/D chick treats.

Perhaps I'm reading it wrong, but it looks to me like he got 1-1/2 cans of fancy feast at 7:30 am and then only freeze dried chicken until 7:30 pm when he got 2 cans of fancy feast and then later got three pieces of freeze dried chicken.

Today is about the same...he got 1-1/2 cans of food and F/D chicken treats.

So the treats are not really "food".....they are very low carb treats. Food would be the fancy feast or other similar canned food.
 
 

Attachments

  • patience pants.jpg
    patience pants.jpg
    37.5 KB · Views: 705
Becki

Jill, Libby, and I have talked and we think you should continue to shoot 1u of insulin at his regular times for now. Remember if you get a 200 or below, please post and ask for help before you decide what to do, ok?

Also....is it possible to feed him one cam of fancy feast at shot time and 1/2 can of fancy feast at about 12:30 or so during the day? At night, you could feed him 1 can at shot time and then 1/2 can before bed. Would that work?

I understand you are off on Tuesday? If you are, that would help us plan our next step.

Thanks, Becki.
 
Deb, on the jump suit, no silver, ONLY GOLD !!! YES to the long dangling earrings. And a bag of m&m 's peanuts in each pocket.

OK about the meter, I will let yo know.

The treats and dinner make him run, cause he knows what's coming. Had a hard time getting him in tonight. Thank God my feral cat, Babes Cakes came. He scares my boy right in.

No it wasn't the stinky pink, it's YOU ! YOU are soooo funny !!!

I'll check out my PM



Thanks, Becki
 
Marje, that's exactly what I've been trying to do. My SS sheet keeps changing, my numbers and what I write. You only looked at one day. Yesterday his numbers were high all day. I offered him food, but he doesn't always want it. I do the best I can.

When I feed him his extra meals, I give him what he didn't finish in the morning. Sometimes I offer two cans, but he doesn't eat it. I try to keep him at his 3 1/2 cans a day spread out if I can. Sometimes he may get an extra 1/4 of can.

I am trying to do what you all want but never have been able to succeed. All I can say is I'm doing the best that I can.

The other night when he did get a 200 I was told NOT to hold it that LANTUS is different. Was told not to panic. Said I had to hold it on Novolin, and was told it is different on LANTUS. Now you want me to let you know if it hits 200 and wait for further instructions, correct ?

Becki
 
He was outside again today? I'm really surprised because last time he was outside, he would not come in for hours and it threw off your entire schedule. You said you were not going to let him out anymore.

Remember this from this past Wednesday?

Re: 4/17/13 Rags - AMPS

by yo hon » Wed Apr 17, 2013 7:57 pm

I took a bowl of food out, but I can't find him anywhere. Looked allthrough the woods. I left his bowl outside with a cover on it, cause he is due for his test, feed and shot.
What do I do if he doesn't come ? No shot, no food, yes, I'm in a panic !!!!!

And this from that same Wednesday.

Re: 4/17/13 Rags - AMPS

by yo hon » Wed Apr 17, 2013 10:13 pm

I guess I have to be selfish, the 7:30 a.m. will be best for me.

NO my boy will NOT be going out anymore, trust me !!!

I guess I'd better test him around 12 or 1 tonight, do you think ? He can have another 1/2can tonite, right ?

YoHon & Rags

I bet he nagged, and whined and complained until you caved in and let him out. That happens sometimes to me when Monet begs and begs to be let out on the screened in porch in the coldest weather. I give in and let him out. At least it's a small area and I can easily chase him back inside if I need to. Don't want frostbitten kitty ears or toebeans.
 
Becki

Remember he is not on Novolin anymore. On lantus, if you get a pre shot BG of 200 or less, post and ask for help. We have options other than skipping so if you ask for help, someone can give you the options.

Please forgive me if I am not clear but you are saying that you have been offering him his fancy feast all through the day and evening and sometimes he eats it, sometimes he doesn't. Is that right?

I know 100% that you are doing your best. I never doubt that.
 
hi becki. good job getting those blood glucose tests and feeding rags more then twice a day! :mrgreen:
are you ready for the next step? it's time for you to learn rags' response to lantus. it'll take a little work. :-D


this is what you want to find out next:

when do the following things happen with rags? you can click on the blue type for more information.


Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose

  • how do you find when lantus begins to lower rags' blood glucose (onset)? -- by getting random spot checks the first few hours after the shot. that means getting spot checks at +1, +2, +3, and +4. you don't have to do all those tests in one day! get them over several days or weeks.
  • how do you find the lowest point in the cycle (nadir)? -- by getting random spot checks at +5, +6, and +7. again, you don't have to get all those spot checks in one day! get them over several days.
  • how do you know how long the action of the insulin lasts in rags' system before it poops out (duration)? -- by getting random spot checks at +9, +10, and +11. these do not have to be done in one day! get one every once in awhile over the next week or two.

once we get this information, we may even find out rags has a late nadir. we won't know until we can see more data.


every cat is different in how they respond to insulin. some cats even have late nadirs... as late as +11 or +12. those extra spot checks will offer more information. they'll tell us how to best help you help rags.


please ask if you have any questions...



PS --- i want to be very clear about getting extra spot checks. i'm not asking you to get all these extra spot checks in one day or even one week. get them when you can. do them over a couple of weeks. ok?
 
Jill, I am planning on doing a 12 curve on Tuesday, will that be OK ? Every two hours

I'll get them on his SS soon as possible. I have to work tomorrow and will not be home til approx 3:00. Tuesday I have to make up some hours, about 2 hours. I'll start his 12 curve when I get home.

THANKS for the info. You left on my post.

I'm getting my bath now and will take his 10:30 p.m. and post, then off to bed. After I feed him a little.

Thanks,

Becki & Rags
 
yo hon said:
Jill, I am planning on doing a 12 curve on Tuesday, will that be OK ? Every two hours
doing a curve on tuesday is fine. however, a single curve on a single day will not give you the information you need to know about rags' response to lantus.

you will still need to get random spot checks as i described in my post above. think of each spot check as a piece to a puzzle. the more pieces you have the easier it is to see the whole picture.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top