4/20 Yemala PMPS 453 +1 434 +3 377 +6 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hroswitha

Member Since 2011
Davey here again. Looks like she's eeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaasing back up into a normal-ish range, yeah?
 
Re: Yemala 4/20 AMPS +12 = 27

Good Morning; Yes, rough night. You need to try and pull those numbers up. Feed and add karo, syrup, honey, whatever to her food and retest in 20 minutes. Post your number. Not too much food. Follow the same protocol you did last night. Ice cream with honey, etc.
 
Re: Yemala 4/20 AMPS +12 = 27

Still here. Mala has been eating continually for a bit, so there's no point in taking new numbers for another 20 minutes or so. She is a-symptomatic - walking fine, focused, alert, hungry, interactive.
 
Re: Yemala 4/20 AMPS +12 = 27

Please continue to monitor her BG. When you have time, provide a little information as to her age, health including any illnesses, age, weight, etc. Are you adding karo to her food?
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +12 = 27

Mala is 11. Basic info is in the profile. She recently had a bout with an ear infection, and the steroids to cure that put her back onto the juice.

Her first shot of lantus 4/19 was at 6 AM. I have her spreadsheet attached. Normal curve for a kitty fresh on the juice, it seemed to me.

Then, last night. Caught first 27 around midnight.

She weighs 9 lb. 1 oz. as of 4/10. Healthy weight for her - she's beefy and bow legged.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +13 = 96

Mala has just tested at 96. We're at +13, and the numbers are still way too low.

She has eaten appx. 2.5 oz low carb wet food - won't eat gravy stuff at all. Had 1 mL karo before wet food. Is asymptomatic - walks well, interactive, hungry.

Whoops - she's eating AGAIN. Quite the appetite, after a night of ice cream and maple syrup.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +12 = 27

This 27 is an automatic dose reduction to 0.75U .
You have 3 choices--Skip the shot, let the shed drain & start over tonite at the lower dose.
Give a BCS(very reduced dose like half reg.dose) dose and leave out food if you will not be home.
Shoot the reduced dose & monitor all day to be sure he doesnt drop again--
Please check with the dosing helpers also!
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +13 = 96

I'm not inclined to give her any more insulin now. She's not responding to it as predicted. When we start over, it will be on a lower dose.

Once the numbers move up into healthy range, we'll leave her be until this evening.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +13 = 96

You can remove the 911 from your condo. You are right about the insulin, let her shed drain and monitor her bg.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +13 = 96

Totally agree with Barbara--I would let the shed drain, as it seems that she needs less insulin, to come back to normal numbers--Good Luck! Hope she will be back at OTJ soon!
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS +13.5 = 82

More karo at 7:45. Silly kitty won't eat gravy food - prefers the low carb.

Will test in just a few more minutes.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

Mala had karo syrup at 7:30, but is only at 56. This is +14, and no sign of normal numbers returning soon.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

Hi guys .. just wanted to drop in since I haven't been in yemala's condo I don't think .. Crazy numbers alright .. I hope she comes up for you!
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

Back down to 56, and she just had a squirt of liquified ice cream squirted down her throat. She's full - ate her entire breakfast, and isn't inclined to eat more, thank you very much - she says. She dreads seeing us.

Mama bean has brochitis and daddy bean should be at work, but is staying home to take care of kitty. What a world, what a world.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

Hi
I just replied to your other thread....I did not see this one.

Give small amounts of food so she does not get too full.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

Feeding her small doses isn't practical. She shares her house with 4 civvie cats, and they all eat at the same time.

Question to you all - her numbers are dropping again, but as ragged as papa bean and I are, she's even worse. Little sleep for anyone, and lots of sore ears for the baby girl. At what point can we stop torturing her and let her rest? She's starting to hide from us - not a good sign from this most out-going of kitty girls.

For the record, no insulin this AM.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

I agree with holding off on insulin this morning. However, it's not a matter of draining Yemala's shed -- she doesn't have one yet!

I think we need to consider a different starting dose! What I'm thinking is that tonight, providing her numbers have stabilized, you start over with a dose of 0.5u. Let's see what some of the others think about this, though. Could you also take a look at the syringe photos in the New to the Group sticky? Since it's been quite a while since you've given insulin, I just want to be doubly sure that you are dosing 0.5u and that you're using U100 syringes. If you don't have syringes that are marked in half units, they will be very helpful so you can dose consistently.

There's no danger at this point of a hypo. If you're not giving insulin, you can breathe a bit easier -- although I wouldn't want to see Yemala surfing in the 20s.

You mentioned having a Profile for Yemala. If you do, it's not linked in your signature. If you don't, the format is linked: Profile template
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 14 = 56

Renee: I was so worried about Mala last night....what a night you had. Mike finally went to bed at 2 our time (4 yours) and we thought you had her under control. I am sure you must be exhausted. I hope you are all doing ok and I'm so glad to see her at 56 now. You can all get some rest; she'll be ok as Sienne said.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 15 = 87

Whoops; I think I just munched a post up at the top, there, with the editing and the overwriting and the whatnot. O Dopey Me.
Well, this is Davey again (Renee is conkolicious on the couch, poor lamb), and it look like Maybe Mala's eeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaasing back up into a normal-ish range, yeah?
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 15 = 87

Davey: she's looking much better now and her numbers *may* climb but as Sienne said, with no shot this morning, she's out of danger of a hypo. Please be sure you all check your syringes and make sure you are using the U100. One of our other members was given U40 syringes by her vet and her kitty got way too much insulin using those but dialing in the correct dose. The other thing is that it is pretty important that you all look on Janet and Binky's list and get some high carb foods off of it that Mala will eat. The food seems to hold them steadier for longer then the karo or even the gravy. Some folks use Temptations on the food to bring them up. The problem with dry food itself is that it takes a while to kick in (longer than you want) and keeps them high for a very long time so it's a last resort if you have nothing else. But I'd try to get some of those medium and high carb foods today and have on hand...especially if she won't lick gravy (although you can always syringe a mix of gravy and karo into her just like you did ice cream and syrup).

Hope you all get some rest and Renee feels better soon. Good job last night!!!! The DH has been initiated!!!
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 17 = 57

Just checked the syringe, and yup, it's a U100. At +17, she's at 57; it's been several hours since she's eaten, so while that maybe seems a little low, it doesn't seem DANGEROUSLY low, right? We're holding off on giving her another bang of insulin until maybe +24, and also rather inclined to give her poor ears a much-needed and well-deserved rest and wait till about +21 to test her. How's that grab yez? Or should we definitely give her another poke at +18?
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 17 = 57

Good..glad it's the correct syringe. She is safe at 57. As Sienne said, since Mala had no insulin this morning, she is not in danger of a hypo now. She might surf along here. You can definitely wait until +18 but I believe it is safe for you to wait longer....she may slide back a little but she should be safe. If you are more comfy, check her at +18 and if she's up, then take a few hours off and give all of you a rest. I would definitely do a +23 and post for help so an experienced person with dosing can discuss with you dosing options. If she stays down all day, it may be suggested no insulin tonight or just a token dose. Try to get some rest today.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 17 = 57

Got it. We're all kind of done in for now. Kitty is tired, we're even more so.

I'll check her again at +21 if I can and post numbers.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 17 = 57

Sienne - as far as a profile goes, Google docs has changed its format, and no longer permits the html editing that allowed others to write a longer profile. Mala's profile is in my signature. This is the technique now recommended through the tech forum. if there's another way to do this, please let me know and I'll be happy to do so.

I have linked in her spreadsheet, which is now woefully irrelevant, given last night. Once she's back on a more normal day, I'll restart that also.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala AMPS + 17 = 57

What a first day! These numbers are so good for +17! Yamala may have decided she don't want no stinkin shots! :lol: :lol: Hopefully since it was steroid induce the rise in BG could be very temporary. :-D

We ususally put in a link to the previous condo so others can back check, here's yours for yesterday.Yamala 4/19 Not surprising that you forgot w/ the run she has been giving you. Also, next time you update the subject, change AMPS to AMBG. That will make it clear that there was no shot this morning.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala +21 = 332

Thank you for the link to the condo. It was in the initial post, but got pulled out this morning during updates. Apologies.

She's not had insulin yet today. At +21, she's at 332. We will shoot with her dinner, but what number?

I'm working on a new profile. It will be up as illness and the needs of my son allow.

And thanks for everything to everyone.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala +21 = 332

just saw post and if me, I would give no more than .5u, maybe even .25u. let's see what the more experienced have to say
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PMPS = 453

Davey again. Hokay, gave Mala as close to a .75 shot as I could manage with the dinky syringe -- the Lantus dealie only shoot full units, dontchaknow. She's just happily snarfed a heapin' helpin' of 9 Lives Tuna and Egg, and has sauntered downstairs to visit the Euphemism with every evidence of health and contentment.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +1 = 434

Ummmmmm.... Don't use the Lantus pen to dispense insulin. Take off the needle and insert a syringe into the rubber gasket in the top. We don't use the dispensing mechanism. It's not terribly accurate at small doses and it only dispenses in full units.

Please plan on shooting 0.5u tomorrow.

I think what they meant in the Tech forum is to link the Profile to your signature. You can use whatever format you want in Google docs -- the template or something more creative. (See Gabby's Profile in my signature.)
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +1 = 434

Two people are posting on this account. The previous poster is my husband, Davey, and he's still getting up to speed on this whole thing. This is Renee. We don't shoot directly from the Lantus pen, only with the 100 unit insulin needle.

I'm working on the profile, but still struggling with illness myself. It never rains but it pours.

Will post the PM +3 numbers in a little more than an hour.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +1 = 434

Hmmm +1 is down a little already, it may be another busy night.

I think you can use any format for the document to be uploaded to Google docs, A Word file or a PDF would be fine, you can have pix in it if you want. Look at some other profiles to see what kind of info is included. When you are in Google docs click on the Documents menu (above the Google docs logo in upper left), on the Documents Lis that opens click on upload button (below the Google docs logo in upper left). Then follow the prompts to upload the file from your computer. OR you can create a new document right in google docs click the creaet new button instead of the upload one. The template from before just made it easier to format and get all your info in.

Once you get your document up loaded be sure to "share with anyone with the link" , copy the URL and paste it in your signature using the URL button in the User Control Panel>Profile tab>Edit Signature page.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +1 = 434

+3 = 377. I picked up more food today - some high carb FF that doesn't depend on gravy. I hope she will eat it, but she's stubborn.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +3 = 377

Super on the food!

Could you all fix your subject line please so we can see all of her numbers each cycle....it's a quick peak. In the morning, your subject line should look like this (made up numbers):

4/20 Yemala AMPS 235

As you get more numbers, go back to your FIRST post of the day, hit edit, and add the numbers into the subject line and then hit "submit" and your subject line will look like this:

4/20 Yemala AMPS 235 +2 205 +4 196 +6 180 +10 195

Then after you get PMPS, go back into the first post of the day, hit edit, then take out all the AMPS stuff and start over with PMPS:
4/20 Yemala PMPS 435
keep adding as you test:
4/20 Yemala PMPS 435 +2 390 +3 377
Always hit submit after the first post of the day once you edit the subject line. It's really helpful...you can see other condos as examples as you scroll down.

Thank you and here's hoping for a quiet night for you all.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +3 = 377

Got it. Starting tomorrow, we'll change the way we post numbers. Thank you for your patience - this is a work in progress.

Mala seems to be vomiting this evening. She lost most of her dinner since 6 PM. She's now yowling and asking for more food - I think she's hungry. Do we feed more?
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +3 = 377

Tomorrow is fine...no worries. Just thought I'd tell you while she's higher :lol: :lol: Yes...lots to learn but we're here to help.

You want to be sure she has food on board when she has insulin in her system or she could drop like a rocket. Do you think she had a hairball or did she just do a scarf and barf? I would just feed her small amounts and make sure she keeps it down before you feed her more. If she vomits again, post again with something like "Vomiting" in the subject line and click on the ? above. Hopefully it was just a freak thing and she'll keep her food down now.
 
Re: 4/20 Yemala PM +3 = 377

Fed a small amount of LC food. So far so good. She ate happily, but her vomiting may be from eating too fast. She looked distressed and chagrined after the second barf. Then, she made her personal groomer, Gary, bathe her thoroughly before condescending to sleep next to him.

She's low energy tonight, but I don't think we'll see the low numbers. +6 just came in = 377

Tomorrow's shot - I've been getting advice stating to shoot in the .5 range, despite the higher numbers she posted this afternoon. She's new to the juice - should we stay at a consistent dose of .75 or drop it?

Is it possible to get syringes that allow a more accurate dosing of smaller amounts? The 100 unit needles are hard.

Last question for the night - how to change the url for her spreadsheet and profile into nicely named links? We've finally got the profile finished - please have a look and tell me what we've missed.
 
Ok....insofar as dose, lantus likes consistency so it's best to stick with one dose and raise/lower per the protocol. I think most of us thought you would shoot .5u tonight. I'm not sure what to tell you because the .75u is ok for her in this bounce but I don't know what she'll do if she clears it. I would put "dose ??" in the subject line and see what others think. Normally, if we reduce, we only do it by .25u at a time but with the length of her low numbers last night, I think Sienne was being cautious.

You have to buy the U100 syringes for lantus BUT you can get them in 1/2 unit markings. There are several brands that different people use: Relion from Walmart, BD, Monoject, GNP. All of them come in 1/2 unit markings. So you need to be buying U100, 3/10cc with half unit markings and then it is up to you whether you go with a long needle (1/2") or short needle (5/16") or what gauge but the long needles do not have any smaller gauge than 29. You can order BD, Monoject, or GNP off Hocks.com. Several of us really like the Monoject; Sienne and some others use the GNP; some like Relion...it's just a personal preference but the thing that will help the most is the 1/2 unit markings.

To change the SS and profile links (by the way...she is adorable...I love tortis) then you would do this for each one and put in your signature block just as you have done the long links.
NAME YOU WANT TO USE
and same for profile
NAME YOU WANT TO USE

Hope that helps....hope some others come along tonight to give you dosing thoughts.
 
We decided to shoot the .75 this evening as her numbers were above 400. I'll look for advice for tomorrow for AM shot before we give it, and post her numbers. Our household is up at 6 AM central standard time, so I hope some experienced hands will be on deck to help. (Thank you again to all, BTW)

I'll pick up more syringes tomorrow if I can. Bronchitis is still getting me down, but the meds should kick in soon.

One more question (I keep saying that)... I think I get what a bounce is. It's the spike in bgs as the insulin begins to wear off, right? So, what's a cycle? How longer are they, or do they vary cat to cat?

Mala kept her extra snack down just find tonight. She's sleeping, and likely dreaming of a day with less sore ears. Poor baby.

She is our beautiful queen, is she not? Thanks for looking at her profile. I'll fix the url tomorrow.
 
That's a great idea to post early. The East Coast folks and also Sienne who is on your time zone will be up and can give you some thoughts. And ask as many questions as you need to....we're all here to hep each other learn.

It's the spike in bgs as the insulin begins to wear off, right? So, what's a cycle? How longer are they, or do they vary cat to cat?

Nope on the bounce....it's not a spike in BG as the insulin wears off. When the kitty has FD, the BG numbers are high and the liver gets used to high numbers. When the insulin kicks in and the BGs come down really low or really fast, the liver "panics" and releases counterregulatory hormones and glucose in order to bring the number back up where it is used to being. We call this bouncing or "liver training school" (LTS). Some cats pass LTS quickly, some bounce every so often for months. ECID.

A cycle is 12 hours and lantus can have carryover. Some cats get a second dip from lantus at the end of their cycle where their number goes a little lower (but not as low as nadir). A typical lantus cycle should look like this (note the possible dip at +10/+11):

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.

What varies cat to cat is onset, nadir, whether they get a dip, etc. And lots of other things are ECID, too. You have to learn how Mala will react to lantus, food control, etc.

Healing vines to you so you feel better tomorrow, Renee.
 
hello and welcome to the group! nice job handling yemala's low numbers!

marjorie asked me to stop in to offer input on dosing. unfortunately, i'm not able to view yemala's spreadsheet. based on the information in this thread, i agree with sienne's suggestion to drop the dose to 0.5u bid. lantus does like consistency with dosing. the dose is adjusted based on nadir with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

there are "stickies" (threads marked with stars) towards the top of this forum. please take the time to read through them. they contain most of the information you'll need when using lantus. if you look down the list you'll also see some other threads marked with stars. take a look at those, too. it's a lot of information to digest. refer to them often. they'll make more sense as time goes by.

keep asking questions. we'll do our best to help.
hope to see you posting often...
 
Thanks, all. I am doing my best to read and digest everything. Just posted her AMPS for 4/21, shot a .5 of Lantus. New thread started for the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top