4/20 Xander AMPS 177 +3 114 +4 102 PMPS 151

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
Previous post

Xander's appetite has been doing really well with no nausea meds, only his small daily mirataz dose. Today is a little lower but still not bad. The only concerning thing is his numbers/nadir has been unusually high. Maybe its still taking some time to restabilize after skipping a shot and a reduced dose a few cycles ago? We'll see what today's +3 gets us.

I hope everyone has a great week!
 
I agree with Briana, it takes some time to rebalance the depot after a skip, so hang in there.
With the pancreatitis, it's good you now know how to manage it and that will help Xander to feel his best.
You have the meds and know the protocol that works for him.
You've got this Albert!!!! πŸ«‚ :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: :bighug: πŸ«‚ 🐈πŸ₯°
 
Vet called. Some things to monitor are his RBC was a little low this time, his kidneys are a little elevated so it could be the beginning of CKD but its still relatively minor, and his ultrasound showed some mild lymph node enlargement which could be GI irritation, IBD, or other.

I feel bad for not doing more testing at this point, but she feels its best to manage it at the moment with his usual meds as needed. Somewhat reassuring that its nothing major, but also the fear of the unknown is hard on me.
 
So, he has pancreatitis? How are they instructing you to treat it? πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ πŸƒ to precious Xander!
Yep another flare confirmed by the specfpl test. She recommends just continuing with the daily mirataz for now with ondansetron/cerenia as needed. She said we could also add on pain relief in the future if he needs it. I know cats hide their pain notoriously well but he's acting his normal self and no pain signals with touching his abdomen.

His specfpl number is more than twice as high as it was when he had his first flare, but it doesn't seem worse now that we have the meds. He's been eating his target calories or more since we've been dealing with this. In fact, Saturday and Sunday he was eating large meals for him. Its odd that his glucose numbers are suddenly higher, but im hoping thats just his depot restabilizing rather than the effects of pancreatitis.

The ultrasound results didn't seem to worry her too much towards IBD, although she said a definite confirmation of why the lymph nodes are thickened is through biopsy but didn't recommend doing it.
 
I didn't really notice any trends in his blood glucose around the time of his last flare, or since the beginning of his appetite fragility about a month ago, only the past few days since the vet visit and skipping his shot because of the ultrasound.
 
Yep another flare confirmed by the specfpl test. She recommends just continuing with the daily mirataz for now with ondansetron/cerenia as needed. She said we could also add on pain relief in the future if he needs it. I know cats hide their pain notoriously well but he's acting his normal self and no pain signals with touching his abdomen.

His specfpl number is more than twice as high as it was when he had his first flare, but it doesn't seem worse now that we have the meds. He's been eating his target calories or more since we've been dealing with this. In fact, Saturday and Sunday he was eating large meals for him. Its odd that his glucose numbers are suddenly higher, but im hoping thats just his depot restabilizing rather than the effects of pancreatitis.

The ultrasound results didn't seem to worry her too much towards IBD, although she said a definite confirmation of why the lymph nodes are thickened is through biopsy but didn't recommend doing it.
Gotcha! Poor little fella! Jude is also notorious for hiding his pain--hardly ever shows any issues when he has an FIC flare, which are apparently quite painful.
I think that skip just bumped his numbers up. You could always give him a bit of an increase to get his numbers back down if he doesn't come back down in due time.
 
Gotcha! Poor little fella! Jude is also notorious for hiding his pain--hardly ever shows any issues when he has an FIC flare, which are apparently quite painful.
I think that skip just bumped his numbers up. You could always give him a bit of an increase to get his numbers back down if he doesn't come back down in due time.
Yeah fingers crossed he readjusts. Today's nadir was a bit better. I'll give it a few days to see, don't think I can take the stress of appetite unpredictability and new dose glucose unpredictably at the moment o_O

Maybe we'll eventually get back to place of only using mirataz every few days 🫰 He went over 3 months doing great since he was first diagnosed with pancreatitis in December
 
I'm glad Xander is eating well and feeling well! Hope he won't need any pain meds, but if he does, your vet is willing to prescribe them.
Hugs to Xander and Flare, I hope you are feeling better today, Albert. :bighug: 🐈🐈
 
Back
Top