? 4/20 TR Jenks AMPS 83 +5 46 +7 46 +9.75 41 PMBG 78 +4 86 Jenks not eating, tips???

Status
Not open for further replies.

AZJenks

Member Since 2014
Important stuff first:

I don't know what Jenks' deal is today. Last night at +6.5, I put out some food before going to bed. I tried a new 14% Turkey & Gibs savory shreds, which he sniffed and pushed away. I tried a 9% Classic Seafood Entree, which he usually likes. Same result. About an hour later, I tried a 6% Mariner's Catch, which he finally ate.

This morning at AMPS, I gave the usual 9% Ocean Whitefish & Tuna. Pushed it away. He ate a little 9% Classic Seafood Entree, but not a lot.

Now we find him in the 40s. So at +5, I thought I'd just give him some food and send him on his way. After opening 6 different cans of food, and a lot of swearing, I have no idea what to do. He won't eat anything. No Turkey & Gibs. No Sea Captains Choice. No Salmon. No Flaked Tuna & Egg. No nothing. I even resorted to the FortiFlora, which didn't change his resolve.

At first I thought maybe something was "off" with the food. But these cans come from different stores, so that can't be very likely. And his two civvies were running from plate to plate eating everything in sight. They'll probably throw up later.

So right now the only thing I'm relying on is a tablespoon of gravy an hour. He'll eat that, and dry treats.

Behavior seems normal. He had a normal bowel movement this morning. What's up?

If he's not going to eat, I can't give him any insulin. So my plan is to try to feed him prior to PMPS before deciding to shoot. If he refuses to eat anything, is it best to give a BCS or skip it entirely?
What would make him suddenly lose his appetite?

Now for a bit of fun. It is 4/20 after all. So I tried one last ditch effort to stimulate his "munchies":

That's right, some premium bud:

ZL5bCa7.jpg


Jenks indulged in quite a bit:

lHAl055.jpg


Don't worry, this patient has a card for his medicine! It's all legal:

XWnCfFp.jpg
 
@Wendy&Neko - He seems fine. Alert. Comfortable. He had what appeared to be a normal litterbox visit this morning. He really played in the catnip. Now he's just kind of lazing around, like he usually does.

So far, nothing seems out of the ordinary, except for the sudden lack of interest in food he's always eaten in the past.
 
hahahaha on his little treat today! that picture of him covered in dust is hysterical. Nice card! Sprinkling catnip on the food is one trick for getting cats to eat. Oregano is related to catnip and some cats will eat that. It's safe.

My first thought when a diabetic kitty won't eat is pancreatitis. Have you read Marje's Primer on Pancreatitis? It's in the New to the Group sticky, near the bottom in the single topic posts.

I would consider skipping tonight if he's still not eating. You may want to ask the vet for an appetite stimulant. He can't go too long without food.

Sending healing and "eat your food" vines to mr jenks. I hope he perks up soon.
 
Rusty is not food-motivated, but if I hold the bowl for him he will eat.

Perhaps offer Jenks some meat and broth baby food (e.g., Beech Nut Stage 1). Make sure there is no garlic or onions listed in the ingredients: just meat and broth.
 
My Dusty had gastro issues that had to be treated. I give her an appetite stimulant every few days and she is great. I gice it 15 minutes before eating and she eats everything and its cheap but prescription from the Vet.

I love the license and I am always impressed with folks that can do pictures like that. lol
 
Thanks @julie & punkin (ga). It's sudden onset is what's most concerning. He at a little Mariner's Catch again at +8, but not much more than a few nibbles. He's lapping up gravy, and eating dry treats just fine. He just doesn't want anything to do with wet food right now.

I read the Pancreatitis Primer and, unless I'm missing something in my observations, he doesn't appear to exhibit any of those symptoms.

The problem is, we're now down to 41, and the only thing I can get into him is gravy. So if he's not going to eat anything, I have no choice but to skip the shot tonight.

I just got back from the store and bought a couple different/new varieties of food, so maybe that will pique his appetite.

I'm also going to try to take him outside to eat some grass. If, for whatever reason, he has an upset tummy, maybe that will help him void whatever is troubling him.

@Linda and Scooter & Jack - Thanks for offering your experiences! I hope this is something that resolves itself, but it's good to know what sort of options exist.

@Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) - I'm open to trying anything. Thanks for the suggestions! Are there any particular meat/broth flavorings in that brand that have already been vetted for having safe ingredients?
 
Last edited:
Have you tried adding some water to the food to make it all more "gravy-like"?

Sure hope whatever is going on with Jenks is over quickly and he's back to eating his fuds!
 
I'd be concerned too. I think because he's running solid in greens, I would worry less about skipping the shot than I would about giving the shot, having him go low and not being able to get him to eat. I'd skip if he's not eating.
 
Jenks got to spend about an hour outside milling around in the grass. He seemed as mobile and active as usual.

I offered him Mixed Grill (11%), which is one of the new ones I picked up at the store, and he ate as much of it as he usually eats of any other variety on a normal day. So that's great news. He had some sort of appetite!

The problem is this: PM reading of 78, which is surely still inflated with gravy and karo from +10. I'm sure that number will wane as they start to wear off. Additionally, even though Jenks ate, he has a stomach full of grass which he'll inevitably throw up in a few hours. If the food goes with it, and he doesn't eat later in the night, we could be in trouble if he gets a shot, even a reduced one.

Therefore, I think the prudent course is to skip the shot tonight and revisit things tomorrow if his appetite recovers overnight. This will be our first time ever skipping, so I guess that will be interesting, at least in the name of science. He had a sufficient depot to make it through 24 hours of BCS shots without a hiccup, so it's probably reasonable to assume that he can manage just fine for 12 hours without a dose.

If, for whatever reason, I can't get him to eat overnight or in the morning, we'll probably have to skip the AM shot too and try to get him to the vet. Safety has to be paramount here.

I'm hoping he just has an upset tummy, which will pass with time and rest.
 
Good plan to go to the vet if no improvement. Sometimes kitties just have an off 24 hours. Try to get a ketone test in if you can. The formula for ketones is infection/inflammation + not enough insulin + not enough food. Paws crossed he keeps down his latest meal.
 
Max has chronic pancreatitis and his only symptom when diagnosed was inappetence. Sometimes baby food works when other foods fail. He is likely nauseous. I hope all is better by morning.
 
Fed some 9% Ocean Whitefish & Tuna at +6. Jenks ate well. Hopefully that means we're in for a good morning. Bed.
 
Thanks @tiffmaxee! I picked up some baby food (just meat and broth) tonight to have on standby, just in case.

I always have some here. My cats have all liked Gerbers. Max eats Beechnut most of the time but if something is bothering him I have to give him Gerbers. Tiffany was even picky about flavored. So if one doesn't work try them all before giving up.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top