4/20 Rocky PMPS 382 +2 393 +4 314 +7 312

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning everyone, and Happy Easter if you celebrate it! ~O)

Well, I haven't actually had that cup of coffee yet as I was really wanting to go BTB but instead I had better stay up and monitor Rocky. He went deep green diving last night- giving me a BG of 39 at PMPS +2. That is a 186 point drop!! :o :shock: @-)

I don't know if he has ever gone THAT deep green diving before last night. :? From that BG of 39 it was a slow ride back up the BG numbers. I didn't get to bed until 4AM. It's Ok though, I had the telly on and the Latin Mass singing from the Catholic Easter Mass service live from Rome, Italy was kind of putting me in and out of sleep every 15 minutes. :lol:

Yesterday's condo:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=117496

Rocky was uncooperative with the ear poke this morning and his ears were very, very cold. The blood droplet was so small and the only thing that squeezing and pumping his ear did was make him run away from me. (I always use the heated rice sock :YMPEACE: )

Rocky's SS yesterday:

AMPS 384 +2 379 +8 284 +11 204
PMPS 225 +2 39 rt-54 +2.5 +39 +3 53 +3.5 39 +4 47 +5 50 +5.5 66 +11 135

Elise, it would be great if Rocky's pancreas is healing and we can wrap up this FD. Even if that doesn't happen for Rocky he is quiet a healthy, happy, and loving boy. :-D cat_pet_icon
 
Re: *Reducie, BG dropping at 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109

Whoa Rocky!!! Good catch, Tina.

I know you were thinking of switching him from zero carb food to a higher LC food. Not sure if you did but I think it would be a good idea if you haven't so you can control these early drops. You are doing a good job of feeding in the early parts of the cycle. The only thing I might suggest (and you might be doing it) is to feed more of the portions early in the cycle. In other words, if he gets 2 ounces in the morning cycle (just an example), I might feed the larger portion of that at AMPS and +1.

Hope you get some rest today. Good luck with the reducie.

2008-02-21-2054-25.jpg
 
Re: *Reducie 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109 +1 115

That's a good idea Marje about feeding the larger portion at AMPS +1.. I had not thought of doing that before and will definitely do it now.

As far as introducing carbs into Rocky's diet, I have been feeding Rocky sort of half and half, his NVIV and then the LC Fancy Feast Chicken depending on what his BG is showing me. Lately, when he's under the 50 I feed him the MC foods. What I had on hand right now was the Friskies Country Style Dinner. It has 11% carbs in dry mass.

His BG is going up so it looks like I get to give him a break from all of the ear pokes. Whew...my poor little boy...(Well, he's not so little. :lol: ) His BG is on the way back up, probably setting up for a pretty high number bounce, a-la "Rocky style", per usual, after he spent a lot of hours in green numbers last night.

I hope you got to go to your Easter Brunch at that Buffet. Happy East to you too. :-D
 
Re: *Reducie 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109 +1 115

Tina

We don't use the "raw" dry mass number to calculate %calories from carbs. Looks like from Dr. Lisa's that it is 10% calories from carbs so that is close to the 11% but when you look for the % fat, protein, or carbs, you want to look at calories not DMB.

BTW, Julie and I discussed your concerns that he might be acro because the vets said his organs were large. Neither one of us think Rocky is an acro cat. Not with these low doses that he's responding to. His organs are probably big because he is ;-)
 
Re: *Reducie 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109 +1 115

Glad you caught that 39! Wow Tina!! Looks like China has a cliff diving partner!!

Hope Rocky doesn't take up her habit of almost always doing it at night too! Makes it really hard on us beans!

Time for you to get a nap in!

Hope you have a great Easter Sunday!!
 
Re: *Reducie 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109 +1 115

Good catch last night! :shock: :mrgreen: And congrats on the reduction. I'm glad you took the full .25U reduction as the protocol recommends for the 30's. Be good today Rocky, momma needs some rest. So sorry he's taken to night time lows. That is such a bad habit they get into. :lol:

Regarding large organs - Neko is an acrocat but when she had her CT scan, her organs were normal size. Her echocardiogram showed her heart out of normal range by .1mm, not considered significant by the cardio vetty and she's a large girl. So, it's not given that having large organs means an acrocat or vice versa.
 
Re: 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109 +1 115 +2 144 +7 363

Marje, Chris, and Wendy,

Yes, let's hope that Rocky doesn't take to diving at the wee hours of the night. Maybe it is some kind of payback for the pokes? :roll: :lol:

I have to wonder if letting Rocky put on a few pounds has actually helped him some. He doesn't have that little bit of a saggy tummy thing like some normal weight cats do and he still has the indents at his hips, so he looks better to me. I weighed him on infant scale a few days ago and he was 15.4 pounds. that's up from 13 pounds. I don't want him to gain any more weight though. I have a 17 pound male cat, "Digger," and he is really long. Digger is a stripped Tabby but I swear he could be part mountain lion, he's so big. Rocky is a little bit smaller than Digger. Rocky's body isn't quiet that long. Digger and Rocky are truly big-boned. Like their bones are thicker or something. I have a female Nebelung cat, "Cinder," and she has a long body but her bones are some much smaller in comparison. She probably weighs 7 pounds.

About Rocky's organs.. at first the ultra-sound tech thought that Rocky's liver was enlarged but then when the vets compared it to the size of his other organs they decided it was a 'normal' size for him. But they said it was bright pink in color. :cry:

Oh, and I almost forgot, at the time of his DKA they said the upper part of his digestive tract, they didn't say what part, looked raw and irritated. Rocky is still burping after he eats. I noticed this just this morning. I think he might be gulping down air when he eats. Do they make "slow-eat" bowls for cats? I think I need to try that with him so that I can figure out if he's burping from gobbling up food or if it's because his stomach is irritated.

I have not tried any probiotics with him yet, but Rocky has never vomited the entire time that I've had him, nor at the hospital. I don't believe he ever vomited at my friend Stacey's house either. So, something may be giving him indigestion, it's just trying to figure out what it is that is difficult.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Easter Sunday. Although I did not get a nap in it has been a slow and relaxing day for me. Heading out to feed my ferals now. :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 4/20 Rocky AMPS 109 +1 115 +2 144 +7 363

Yes, they do make Slow eating cat bowls but you can also try spreading his food out on a plate or just putting a big rock in his bowl...anything that he has to "work around" will slow him down.

Have you tried giving him 1/4 10 mg Pepcid AC 30 mins before he eats? If he's having some acid issues, that will help reduce the amount of acid in his stomach.
 
Re: 4/20 Rocky PMPS 382

Rhiannon that slow eating bowl looks bigger than the dogs head! haha_smiley Do you think it is IRL? :roll:

Chris, the one's you posted look a bit smaller. But my day is so crazy nuts with taking care of this animal shelter in my home and I'm not sure that I could keep this new feeding bowl clean. I'd have to buy like 14 of them or something, so when one is in the dishwasher I'd have another spare one clean. :lol:

Well, seriously.. I think I need to try it and see if it stops the burping. If the burping continues even with the slow eat bowl it probably means that Rocky has some other health issue is going on. :YMSIGH: I need to start researching that-- "chronic burping cat." It is chronic. It is every time after he eats any of these mini-meals. Now, he does get a lot of water during the day. I mix (1) measured tablespoon of water into each of his AM and PM mini-meals. That means Rocky is getting a guaranteed 8 tablespoons of water a day into his system. Maybe it's overkill..
 
Re: 4/20 Rocky PMPS 382

Tina, Max has had periods when he did that burping after eating. My vet never had an explanation. I thought it might be from eating too fast, acid, or maybe nausea. It hasn't happened in a while and I forgot about it until I read your condo. Looks like you should get some much needed sleep tonight.
 
Re: 4/20 Rocky PMPS 382 +2 393

For Rocky I don't think the burping is a sign of nausea. I just think somehow he is getting gas in his gut. He eats like a dog taking huge bites of food.

It does look like I'm going to be getting some sleep tonight. YEAH! Only, I wish that Rocky was at least in the 200s. The reduced 1.75u better bring him down lower during his AM cycle tomorrow but I kind'a have a feeling that it won't do that. :roll:
 
Re: 4/20 Rocky PMPS 382 +2 393

I know how you feel. Max got just the one dose of 2 and he dropped to 49 again.

I have the calipers but they look intimidating to me. I'll try to figure them out tomorrow.

Sleep well.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top