4/20 Kineta AMPS 376 +3=93 +4=58 +5=63 +6=52 +7=88 Waiting and watching

Cassia & Miss Kineta

Member Since 2019
Last night she threw-up her food a little less than 2 hr after eating. Now I'm not sure if she ate too fast, or if it was some new lower carb treats we tried the night before that didn't sit well... she also had soft poops just before (maybe the stinky poops made her gag?! :facepalm:) Who knows! I took her BG after that and then 2 hr later when she got her bedtime snack and again 3hr later. She seemed to be ok. Other than throwing up, she was her normal self. Ate her bedtime snack and breakfast this morning with no issues.

Yesterday's food/readings went like this:
AMPS 366 - 1 can Purina DM with 1/8c dry Purina DM @ 6:30AM with 2.5u but possibly was a partial shot
PMPS 423 - 1 can Purina DM @ 6:45PM with 2.5u shot
8:11PM soft poop and then threw up
+2 335
+4 (10:30PM) 291, bedtime snack 1/4 cup dry Purina DM
+5 247


And then... today...

AMPS 376 food: 1 can Purina DM, no dry food
+3 93 (hey! that's pretty good! let's see where it's at in an hour...)
+4 58 (WHAT'S GOING ON! Gave her dry food about 1/8cup and some dry kibble treats...)
+5 63 (ok, we're going back up slowly, have some more treats...)
+6 52 (stop that! gave her more dry food 1/4 cup Hills W/D higher carb than Purina DM and a few treats...)
+7 88 (ok that's better. now stay there! we'll check again in an hour...)

She has been her normal self, not showing any signs of hypo. I wonder if she was dropping this low during the week... now I feel bad. But maybe it is from throwing up last night?? Maybe because I didn't give her dry food this morning?


Our food update....

We are eating canned food FINALLY! :joyful: Since she had been eating better and her weight was going back up, I was persistent - if she wanted food, she had to eat her canned food! She sniffed and walked away a few times before reluctantly going back to snack, but now she is just fine and eager to eat it! It's been about a week and a half now, I gave her some dry food with her canned food for the first several days when I could not monitor throughout day just in case. Last weekend I started adjusting how much dry she gets to try to reduce the amount of the high carb she gets. She has been eating Purina DM chunky canned food, which I think is like 10% carb according to the food chart. I had already ordered the cans after her diagnosis and I didn't feel like returning them or wasting them, so that's what she ate. We just ate our last can of Purina DM this morning.

I have a couple types of canned food (some FF and a purina true nature) to try since it's slightly cheaper and lower carbs than the Purina DM chunky... I actually used Dr. Pierson's food list to figure out the approximate cost per ounce for every type of canned food that was less than 10% carbs and 45-50% or greater protein (based on the recommendations in that document, but not being too finicky on what the exact numbers were). From there, I narrowed down our choices based on the cost, can size (how many cans per day we'll need) texture kitty likes...chunky, shredded, or a chunkier pate...she won't eat much if the texture is too 'mushy', she just licks it and is done with it. I found that (for us) our best choices would be ProPlan True Nature, Fancy Feast, and Tiki Cat. (If anyone is curious, this is what I came up with: FF costing about 1.80/day, ProPlan 3.72/day, and TikiCat 2.40/day, of course this can vary as it depends on the price at the time of purchase). Anyway, we'll be cracking open one of those cans this evening to see what she'll eat, I think now that she seems to be feeling better she'll be more open to new foods, buuuut you never know! I'll be able to monitor her with the food change tonight and tomorrow and as I did with the initial change, I'll give her some dry food initially just in case to help keep our BG from dropping too low.
 
Since you are using the AT2, any number below 68 is our “take action” number, where we feed higher carb food to bring their numbers up. And she needs to have her dose reduced to 2.25 units. Going to wet and lower carb food can make quite a difference in dose needed.
 
Last edited:
Will be reducing our dose tonight and monitoring tonight and tomorrow. Probably keep a reduced dose through the week.

Up to 118 at +8! HC food at +6 must have helped some.
 
Back
Top