? 4/20, Chaz, amps 131, +5 46, dosing question

Kelly & Chaz

Member Since 2019
Well, he’s finally seeing some great blues and greens, we are so happy to see this!!! Now we’re working hard to manage the lows, keep him safe and trying to avoid the bounces. He earned a reduction two days ago with a 49, but then had a 46 today. Does this warrant another reduction this quickly? Cautiously optimistic that we’ve made some progress and maybe looking at an overall lesser dosage need. What do you think oh wise ones???

last thread: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-the-roller-coaster-high.228295/#post-2556687
 
What is the difference to you, between a 3.0F dose and a 3.0 unit dose. Just trying to figure out where the depot is.
 
What is the difference to you, between a 3.0F dose and a 3.0 unit dose. Just trying to figure out where the depot is.
The 3.0 plunger is right on the line, the 3.0F has a tiny bit of space between the 3.0 and the plunger top, beyond the 3.0. Does that make sense?
 
Yes it makes sense, just trying to figure out how much of a dose change it was. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction, so this cycle had a tiny bit of the 3.25 unit depot and a bit more of the 3.0F. I think I'd be inclined to hold the dose, provided you can keep monitoring. The other thing I'm factoring in is that he is was in remission, but relapsed. It can be harder to get back into remission the second time, so we try to make it harder to earn reductions if kitty is back from remission.
 
Yes it makes sense, just trying to figure out how much of a dose change it was. The larger depot influences 4-6 cycles after a reduction, so this cycle had a tiny bit of the 3.25 unit depot and a bit more of the 3.0F. I think I'd be inclined to hold the dose, provided you can keep monitoring. The other thing I'm factoring in is that he is was in remission, but relapsed. It can be harder to get back into remission the second time, so we try to make it harder to earn reductions if kitty is back from remission.
Ok that sounds reasonable - I will hold at 3.0 and keep a close eye on him. To be honest, I don’t think he was ever really in a remission state the first time. I didn’t understand enough about what I was dealing with, his symptoms improved, and I wasn’t home testing then. The big drops with the Vetsulin scared me (curves done at vets). So with the vets concurrence, we stopped the insulin to see how he would do. Within two months the symptoms reappeared and we started insulin again, this time armed with much more knowledge, home testing etc. and Lantus instead of Vetsulin. All thanks to this wonderful group.

thank you for your input Wendy!
 
Last edited:
Back
Top