4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, PMPS 381, +5 293, +10 270

Status
Not open for further replies.

Patty & Champ

Member Since 2011
Yesterday

Champ seems to be liking this dose so far, though I know a bounce is in our near future. He had a BG of 294 at 4:30 this morning when I woke up. I had to feed the little man something cuz he was sooo hungry so I gave him some parboiled chicken breast. I don't know if that would account for his higher reading at 6 a.m. for his AMPS or not. Either way, he's down to 269 at +2 so I'm happy! :-D

I hope everyone has a terrific hump day!!!
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269

Those are pretty good numbers for Champ. Overall, he's making progress, don't you think. I still wish that Gus had better #s, but compared to when we started....much improved. You're doing really well with Champ, Patty. Have a good day.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269

Hi guys .. I agree, you are doing really well with champ .. And this yellow at +2 is looking pretty nice too .. still have most of the day to go, maybe a blue or two in the future? have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269

I sure wouldn't mind a blue or two before the dreaded bounce. I'm keeping my fingers crossed!! I'm going to do some close monitoring for the next few days to try to get a good feel as to how he responses to dose increases and when the subsequent bounce happens, etc. I think I may experiment with his feeding schedule, too, to see if that makes any significant difference. I know I need to cut his feeding back, but when he's in the pinks, he's just so hungry and I can't see him miserable like that. I'm just going to have to be tough, I guess. :-D
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269

Patty,

Here's the link to yesterday's condo. Please link your condo each day. 4/19

From yesterday.....

Patty & Champ said:
Oh course, Champ is not so pretty in pink. I gave him his first fur shot today, but it was so obvious that I sprayed it all over his fur and my finger that I went ahead and gave him a sk 1.5u. I wasn't going to let him go 12 hours with no insulin in him. I'm not a risk-taker so I'm 99.9% certain nothing got into him. I'm going to keep an eye on him because of the 0.1% chance. :-D


NEVER reshoot when you get a fur shot! It doesn't matter if you saw the tip of the needle sticking out and watched all of the insulin squirt out....you can never be 100% sure that you didn't get some insulin in, and it's not worth the risk of an OD. I've given two fur shots in a row, it is NOT the end of the world. The kitty will get back on track. I've given fur shots that I was positive that Tinkles got little to no insulin, only to have him react as if he got a full dose. You can never predict how much they got, so it's always the best course to just wait until the next dose. Safety first!

Also, please do not feed within 2 hours of shot time. You want your PS tests to be free from food influence.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269, +4 219

Hi Laurie, I normally link Champ's condo, but just spaced it this morning. Trying to do too many things at one time!! :-D

About the fur shot yesterday... I completely understand what you're saying, but I knew I didn't even have the needle in him at all. I pushed the plunger before I stuck him and watched the insulin shoot onto his fur and my finger. His numbers from yesterday are a good indication I was right about the needle not being in him at all, and I did do early BGs just to cover all my bases. I do understand your point, though, and if I ever have a time when there is any inkling in my mind, of course I won't shoot again. If I hurt my cat, I don't think I would be able to forgive myself!!

With the food...ahhhh, it's so hard for me to let any of my children go hungry, human or furry. I know I need to be strong. At least I only gave him the chicken breast which I was told, since it's 100% protein, it doesn't affect their BG very much. But I'm not going to do that anymore. He needs to lose about two pounds so he might as well learn how to be a little bit hungry from time to time. :lol: :lol:

Thank you for taking the time to read Champ's condo and keep me on the right track. I'll do my best to follow the rules! ;-)
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269, +4 219

Oh, it looks like Champ may get to BLUE today! The dosecrease seems to be working! :-D Hang in there!

If you really feel Champ needs a mid-night snack try to set an alarm about +9, so the food spike will be cleared by preshot. Since you are trying to get him to lose weight, sacrificing your sleep probably isn't necessary. :lol: Once they start to become regulated they can metabolize the foods better and will naturally start to want less food.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269, +4 219, +6 243

Starting to go up already!! What is Champ's problem with the color blue? :-D
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, +11

All part of the dance, Patty! Every once in a while your partner steps on your toes.

Have a fine evening, guys,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +2 269, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, +11

I got a minute to catch my breath and say 'hi'. It's not so much the R testing but the everyday life things that get in way of that focus. Champ is being a stubborn boy. He just seems to dislike those blues and then bouncie he goes. Hang in there.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381

I'm not going to bother to check until +3. I don't know why, but I've been feeling very pessimistic today. I've always been a very stoic person who never cries. I always felt like I had lost control if I cried. Now I cry all the flippin time and it's making me a basketcase. Of course, the fact I'm going to be 50 this summer might have something to do with it. Not the age, I couldn't care less about that. But the fact I may be getting ready to go through "the change of life" and I getting all hormone-ridden. Ewww. If even sounds ominous. All I know is I'm a big crybaby now, I worry all the time about my cat, and it's seriously getting to me. How do some of you do this for years???
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381

Oh Patty, I totally understand. The first time I dealt with this stuff I was a basket case. I'm a little more controlled this time around emotionally, but still worry about my fur-baby. I think as we get older we see that things around us just aren't permanent like we thought they were when we were younger, so if I think about that too much, I really start to tear up. I think it's one of those things that reminds us to enjoy every minute with the people and pets around us that we love and that love us. I think it's truly what being a human being is all about and growing up, facing reality. I recently heard someone talking about the fear of commitment and how everyone used to say how he feared commitment and he came back with, "of course I fear commitment. If I commit to you, it means I've committed to one day maybe watching you die, who wouldn't be afraid of that." It really struck me and made me decide to just enjoy the days I have with my family, friends and kitties, now. I've had my cats 11 years, and I never was a cat person, but they crept into my heart, became my first children, and made me decide to become a vegetarian. I've worked extremely hard and paid lots and lots and lots of money to keep them healthy and alive. I've committed to them, they've returned my love and commitment with love and caring back. It's really the best we can do and a worthy endeavor. So, my thoughts to you are, cry. It's hard, it's sometimes sad and it's reality. It's love and it's messy and love usually makes us cry. Again, it's why we are here. To love to the best of our ability, with a true heart and then move along. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381

Hi guys! Well bummer on the bounce. I hope he clears it soon.

yeah I know on the emotions and the worry - i was the same, all the time, when I first started doing this dance with Mannie. One day I just realized that I was helping him, truly, by doing all we do here. There have been many days when my patience has worn thin, when I worried (still do!), when it seemed like nothing was getting better. Take a moment to look at where you were when you started, and where you are now - you'll see: it is better. The forest is getting healthier, even with those few trees that aren't what we want them to be.

have a good night Patty - you are doing are great job with Champ. :-D :-D
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381

Well, I decided to check out Champ's condo and scrolled back to the part where you wanted to cry. I read everyone's answers to you and I'm sittin' here in a freakin' puddle of love tears. We all feel just like you, Patty. Or we wouldn't be here. Some of us are just better carrying the load, whatever be the reason. There is nothing wrong with coping by crying.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381

Michelle, thank you for holding my hand, especially when I'm being such a whiny baby!! For some reason, I just had this vision today that, whoa, this is my life now and it is not what I want. I'm going to ride this out and it really helps knowing you, and others, are here to help me with it all. You and Bev both have such a harder row to hoe than me and you're doing what needs to be done with a whole lot of bravery and I admire you very much. Just sayin'
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +4 219, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381

(((Patty)))....oh sweetie we all deal with this in the beginning. I'm also not a crier and I'm not moody but my happiness level seems to be tied to Gracie's BG. Mike and I together are working so hard to not let that be the ruling factor but it's difficult so it's ok if you do it. But you are doing so much for Champ...he is getting better!! Even still, it is totally ok to have these days. Even people who have been doing it a long time have occasional meltdowns. That is why we are all here. And on turning 50....piece of cake!!! I got lucky...no "issues"...whoopee!!! Fingers crossed for you.


This has nothing to do with anything but I hope it will make you laugh!
images
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381, +2 308

You lift me up, Marje!!! :-D And that picture is HI-larious...i was lol-ing.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381, +2 308

(((patty)))
alex and i have been at this for 5 years come july. she's been on insulin for 3 months, off for almost 3 years, on for 2 months, off for 5 months, and now back on for 13 months. as far as the diabetes goes, the first three months were definitely the hardest. i remember lots of tears and frustration.

13 months ago i almost lost her (liver & kidney problems of an unknown origin)... twice.

fast forward to today, i'm so happy she ONLY has diabetes!


things WILL get easier. life has gone on with some minor adjustments. i have a social life. i do just about as much as before her diagnosis. travel and vacations have been a little trickier, but we work it out. shots and tests have just become as routine as brushing my teeth.

give yourself a break. heck, take breaks. indulge yourself. you're doing a fantastic job helping champ!
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381, +2 308

Linda, I can't believe I missed your post!! And, of course, it made me cry. I'm a frickin faucet tonight. Knowing you and others have had the same feelings I'm having makes me realize I'm not going to go crazy, that it's a natural process. It gives me hope!!

All of you who have taken the time to make me feel better, all I can say is thank you so much!!! I don't think you realize (or maybe you do!) how much it means to me to know you're all here for me to unload on. I wish I had people in my life here in my home town who have been as good to me as all of you. I'm sending you all bone-crushing hugs. :-D
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381, +2 308

:YMHUG: patty, i'm just now seeing this. we went to hear our son present his thesis today.

everybody has days like that. everybody - even without a diabetic cat. when all the cats passed away here in LL last month, I was reminded clearly that my punkin is a sick kitty, but it's manageable with my help. all you can do is your best. and you are doing that and champ is responding. just treasure every day with your little buddy. This is a slow ride we're on, you might as well enjoy it.

i understand what people have said that we have "extra sweet" kitties. i think i have more of a bond with punkin than i've ever had with my other kitties, just because of caring for him with the diabetes. in a way, it's been a blessing.
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, +8 285, PMPS 381, +2 308

Julie, I'm glad you got to go out and be a proud mama today!! I truly believe everything you've said. I just need to believe that I'm stronger than I think. I have confidence in myself that I will; I just hope its sooner rather than later :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 4/20 Champ AMPS 342, +6 243, PMPS 381, +2 308, +5 293

Oh, now...do i get the impression you feel crying is a bad thing?

it's emotionally cathartic...and for those who love deeply, and feel deeply...it's a fact of life!

it think it says something truly lovely about you...
it's not easy being a caregiver!

hang in there, Patty...and we will hang in there with you!

celi & binks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top