4/20 Brody AMPS 222, DKA, Newbie - Advice Please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Michael, I don't have dosing advice but if you haven't shot yet you should change your subject line to AMBG. AMPS means preshot and is understood to mean you've already shot. If you reflect AMBG instead, advisors know that means you have not yet shot and that will get them looking at your condo a lot sooner.

I'm assuming you're working today and will be unable to monitor, correct? This is important information that you should include in your original post so advisors know up front what the situation is.

Have you decided whether you're following tight regulation (TR) or start low go slow (SLGS). It will make a difference as to the advice given.
 
Here's the Last post for Brody (we like to have the link to your previous posts so it's easy for people to go back and see what's been going on)

I'm really not sure what you're asking for, so it's important to give us a few more details in your post Michael

If you're concerned about shooting a 222, we would tell you to shoot it. Our "stall and ask for help" number is 150 here, so if Brody is over 150, most of the time we'd want you to shoot.

VERY important here is that Brody was just recently in DKA so it's even more important that you don't skip his shots. In this case, if I was concerned about going too low, I'd give a higher carb food and still get that insulin into him

Next is that Lantus craves consistency, so it's important that you shoot every 12 hours. By skipping shots you're not going to get a good depot in place as well as increasing the chances of another DKA

We need to get at least 6 cycles into him at the 1U dose to see how that dose is really going to work (unless he were to drop below 50)
 
Nothing like trying to get advice when you're running out the door - it can be crazy, can't it?!:rolleyes:

When you have a chance, would you rename Brody's spreadsheet to include his name? If you want help with it, just holler. It'll help make sure that the advice for Brody comes from looking at the right spreadsheet.

Looks like he's off to a good start! When you get to 6 consecutive shots at the 1.0u, then let's look at his tests and figure out if he needs a dose increase. You're doing a super job of getting some information in the pm cycle that's going to be really helpful for evaluating his dose.

Hope you're having a good day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top