4/20 Bella AMPS 308, +3 196, +6 126 PMPS 352

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...ps-209-2-5-189-5-5-154-pmps-162-3-114.289001/

Good morning,

I’ve been reading some info on the forum and maybe it’s because it’s early in the morning and I’m tired but can someone please explain “bouncing.” I’m trying to understand it. I know it happens but technically it’s not good for them right?

How do you stop it or try to control it from happening? Bella was 114 last night and for about a week her numbers weren’t good so we got a new insulin pen because we felt something was wrong with the one we’ve been using. Yesterday her numbers were better and we got the 114 last night so we fed her a half can of a 5% food so she wouldn’t go to low during the night while we were sleeping. This morning it was 308.
 
Bouncing is explained as
Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
 
You're right that there is a lot of references to "bouncing". Simply put its:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
That 114 last night could have been an indication that Bella was going to continue to go a bit lower.

Today is cycle 11 on this dose. If it were me, I would take her up to 1.25U. :cat:
Lets see what others think @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom
 
Here's another post explaining how bouncing works:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-of-bouncing-that-helped-gussie-i.184405/

There are 2 ways to reduce bouncing:
  1. Get her body used to lower numbers - to do this you want to get her to a dose where she spends as much time as possible in lower numbers.
  2. Prevent sharp drops in her numbers with food
Agree with @Angela & Cleo on the increase. With TR, you evaluate the dose every 3-5 days. Bella is no longer "new to green", so you don't want to hold doses longer than 4 day if she isn't seeing greens on that dose.
 
You're right that there is a lot of references to "bouncing". Simply put its:
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
That 114 last night could have been an indication that Bella was going to continue to go a bit lower.

Today is cycle 11 on this dose. If it were me, I would take her up to 1.25U. :cat:
Lets see what others think @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

It is cycle 11 but I do believe there was an issue with the Lantus pen. As soon as we switched she got better numbers. I could be wrong but that’s what I believe.
 
Here's another post explaining how bouncing works:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...tion-of-bouncing-that-helped-gussie-i.184405/

There are 2 ways to reduce bouncing:
  1. Get her body used to lower numbers - to do this you want to get her to a dose where she spends as much time as possible in lower numbers.
  2. Prevent sharp drops in her numbers with food
Agree with @Angela & Cleo on the increase. With TR, you evaluate the dose every 3-5 days. Bella is no longer "new to green", so you don't want to hold doses longer than 4 day if she isn't seeing greens on that dose.

I really do want to see how she does with the new pen because I do believe there was something wrong with it. Not sure if when my mom had her while we were away and something went wrong with the pen. I’m going to see how she is in a few days. I just checked her and it was +3 196 so that’s a big drop from 306.
 
Update: it was 126 when I checked at 1:00 (+6 hrs AMPS)

I also want to add that I don’t want it to come off like I’m ignoring the advice of everyone. I appreciate all the help you all give and have given to me since we started this journey.
I really do believe there was something wrong with the insulin pen we were using because we soon as we switched her BGs were better. Yes, she had a 306 this morning which was most likely a bounce from going lower last night but she’s come back down pretty quickly. I’m hoping to see some greens within a day or two.
 
Back
Top