? 4/20 - Angel PMPS 335, +2 167

Status
Not open for further replies.

missMeows

Member Since 2015
Good evening all!

So after a good day yesterday I gave a darn fur shot this morning. Determined to keep going I gave the new regular dose of 1.5 units this evening. Well, I checked her +2 and it dropped... A lot. Is this typical? I know to expect a drop but when reviewing other users numbers, none seem to be as drastic. I suppose I need to keep myself awake tonight to try to get a +4 at midnight. I've arranged with my work to change my schedule tomorrow to try to get an accurate +2 in the AM as well.

Boy this is tiring! But to see my kitty actually chasing a toy tonight and being very active for the first time in a while does seem to make it a little worthwhile :)
 
Hello and welcome. Not sure I've visited you before. Good plan on getting another test. I might even get a +3.5 test instead of a +4. We have a few kitties here who like to drop early in the cycle, so it's not typical but not unusual. If you like to look at other's spreadsheets, check out Mikey.Take a look at some of the other condos. It's always interesting to see what other cats do. Wrigley went from 436 to a +2 of 112 tonight. :rolleyes:

But to see my kitty actually chasing a toy tonight and being very active for the first time in a while does seem to make it a little worthwhile :)
I love it when that happens. :):):):)
 
Hi and thank you! Yes, it's my first time posting in this forum and I hope I'm doing it right :)

Thanks for linking that SS. Its nice to know that she isn't the only wacky kitty out there. I'll try for the +3.5. Anything that will let me sleep (with no worries) sooner is always smiled upon :)

I'll keep browsing around in the meantime ;)
 
Turns out I have visited before, though she looked familiar. ;) Here's your first post for anyone interested. When you do you next post, it helps us refer back if you provide a link to the previous post here.

There are a couple of methods people here use for determining the dose, the Tight Regulation Protocol and the Start Low, Go Slow Method. If you take a look at the Sticky Notes describing them and figure out what you'd like to follow, it helps to put it in the signature. And then we'll know how to help you. And yes, lots to read here! Don't worry about getting it all at once. And please ask questions, we all love to help here.
 
Thank you again. I'll make sure to always link my posts. I didn't realize I was to relink posts outside of this lantus forum :)

I've looked over the two methods SLGS and the Tight Regulation Protocol and read them over multiple times. I'm honestly not sure which to do. They seem to sort of overlap themselves in ways. With people saying that the instructions are more like guidelines and you can modify it to work for you... I can't seem to make a choice :-/

I'll keep reading though... Lots to take in :)
 
Just did her +3.5 and she was 165. So staying pretty stable :)

Perhaps a dumb question but how come in my SS when I post a half time like 165 @3.5, the cell doesn't change colors but in other users SS the cell is the right color?
 
If you do a test on the half hour, the SS doesn't recognize the part with the "@" symbol so you have to color it in yourself with the little paint can tool at the top.

Miss Mews looks like she's just doing a flat blue surf tonight. You could probably just leave a little food out for her and call it a night.

As for the methods for dosing, a lot of it depends on your ability to test. The TR or tight regulation protocol is based on scientific research and is a little more aggressive than the Start Low Go Slow (SLGS) which was what was used here before TR came out. For newly diagnosed cats that have their blood sugar get controlled in normal range (50-120 human glucometer ) quickly after diagnosis, they have a good chance of having their pancreas heal and becoming diet-controlled. Both TR and SLGS have had cats become regulated and some ultimately go into remission. TR has faster increases and kitties earn reductions at lower points, which means getting at least 4 tests a day, two at preshot and two others somewhere during the cycle.
 
Thanks for all the info! I knew it had to be something easy for the SS. I'm using "sheets" app on my phone and it didn't have a paint can tool. :)

I just woke up randomly and checked on her. She's sleeping comfortably :) The thing with my kitty... She is always hungry. Leaving a little food out means it will be gone the instant its on the floor! I pretty much just have to check on her. As for high carb food in an emergency... Does her old dry food count? Or does it have to be a high carb wet food?

There is a good chance I'll be able to do the TR protocol. I can test her AMPS and PMPS and a +2 (or more) after dinner. My fiance can test when he gets home from work (usually much earlier than me but it varies). But what about vacations? We are going away for 2 weeks in June and whomever is watching her won't be able to do all that... Any thoughts?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top