4/20 AMPS 153

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sammysmom

Member Since 2013
I just realized I should probably have posted this in a new topic. We have been struggling to find a good dose since getting lower pre shot bgs. Last night Sammy's PMPS was 199 and i wanted to make sure he was rising. Got 201 and gave a super small dose .25 and + 3 was 93! I gave him a small snack since it was late at night and I couldn't stay up much later. This AMPS was 157. I did not give a shot. Any ideas about dosing this evening if we get a number in the 200-250 range? It seems that we generally get a higher numer in the morning. But with no insulin this morning, wondering what people think? Thank you.

Angie
 
A little scary for you, but great news! You are lowering the dose and he is responding. You might get some numbers today and see if he gets above that 200 mark. (Wait until 2 hours after he last ate.) If he gets up there, you might consider a small dose like the .25 and then monitor. It's only under 40 that we worry and then you can use carbs to bring him back up. Better you try this on the weekend when you can be around? It is hard to tell what his patterns are going to be from now on, but it may be that you will have to start "chasing" the dose - waiting until he is over 200 and rising and then give a tiny dose. If this pattern holds, he is on his way to remission. (anti jinx :mrgreen: )

Did you get the U100 needles? They will be helpful in this process as you can give .1 or .2 units if you need to.

What food? Any chance you can lower the carb level a little? Sometimes that pushes them into lower numbers without insulin.
 
From your other thread:

Good job not shooting! And given the drop you saw, I think I wouldn't shoot below 200. Are you using U-100 syringes with the conversion chart? It may be time to consider that if not.

To me, it looks like he is flirting with diet controlled status. Since you skipped this morning, get a test at +2-ish after feeding and see if he is spiking much from food and another round +4 to see if it comes back down on its own. You might even run a loose curve of midcycle tests just to observe what is happening.
 
Can I get the u 100 needles from any pharmacy or do they need to come from the vet? I can get a +2 and a +4. He went into a remission once before, last January when I started the spreadsheet. However, relapsed. I'll keep tracking but I was a little concerned that I gave him .25 units last night and three hours later was in the green. Thanks for the help. I'll keep posting, you guys are the best!

Angie
 
Oh and I forgot, we feed him ff classic turkey and giblets mixed with the DM. It's been a fight to get him completely off DM. He has eaten for so long before I found FDMB that he just has a hard time with change :) but we are working on it. Only wet food.
 
U-100 needles are available at most pharmacies. Does your state require a prescription for them? If yes, you'll need one from your vet, which means you'll have to convince the vet this can work.

Ohio does not require an Rx for insulin needles.
 
It does depend on the state, but for most, I don't think you need a prescription. You want the 1/2 unit U100 needles. Someone said Walmart sells a bag of 10 for only a few dollars.
 
+ 4 BG=219

I think I wil test again in two hours and see if he comes down since I don't have the syringes yet.
 
For no insulin, that was not a big jump in numbers, which is a good sign. I like your dose last night. I'll be interested in the number this am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top