4/20 Alfred - finally home, OTJ trial timing??

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJ & Alfred

Member Since 2013
We finally arrived home last night and I'm so anxious to get back into our routine. As I described a while back, in this thread, Alfred started an impromptu "OTJ Trial" on 4/6 due to the instructions we gave our cat-sitter (don't shoot it the pre-shot was under 125). He has maintained good numbers for the past 14 days. You will see on his spreadsheet some higher numbers in the past few days, but I honestly think it was due to stress/illness. I arrived at my friend's house (8 hours away from where I live) on Tuesday evening and didn't start the long drive home until Thursday morning. He started really displaying signs of respiratory infection that day, so I took him to the ER vet in Anchorage, where we waited for three hours. Then, back in the car to stay at my mom's apartment and then BACK in the car Friday with another stop at a vet three hours into our drive (already scheduled for both he and my other cat)....so long story, not so short = LOTS of STRESS for Alfred. Oh, yes, and he also appears to pretty miserable with the weepy eye, runny nose and lots of sneezing. Poor guy.

So my question is...now that I'm home, what should my plan be? Do we start an official OTJ trial starting today? I had planned to do a BG curve on him tomorrow. He's not feeling well and suddenly being far less tolerant about the testing, but I will persevere.

Thanks in advance for the advice.
 
I'm seeing almost all normal range numbers, with on exception of a 142. It's been 14 days without juice. I don't want to get your hopes up, but I think your there. Let's see what other opinions you get.

I hope Alfred is feeling better today.
 
How about collecting a few more days of data -- testing at what would be your usual shot times and a few spot checks here and there. Alfred has been through quite a few changes in the last few days. Before throwing a party, let's make sure his pancreas doesn't need the support of insulin now that he's back to his usual routine.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
How about collecting a few more days of data -- testing at what would be your usual shot times and a few spot checks here and there.

Absolutely! I had planned on it. :smile: Do you think I should bother to do a full curve tomorrow (it will be the last day I'll be home all day as I start back to work on Monday) or just at regular AM/PM times with the few random spot checks? I'll work from home at least one day this week so can get a test in the middle of the day. Fingers crossed that the trend continues.
 
I've often heard that getting a test before you feed and another test 4 hours later to see how his pancreas brings himself down is helpful. I would plan on something like that.

Good luck on the next few days :mrgreen:
 
Wow, what a nice surprise Alfred gave you while you were away! I agree on collecting some more data before you go back to work, so you get an idea what's going on in the cycle, but good luck!
Lisa & Leo
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top