4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398

Status
Not open for further replies.

yo hon

Member Since 2013
Goodmorning, This is the secind time I am posting this,

7:30 a.m. AMPS -398
1 1/2 cans ff with water
2 F/D chick. Liver treats


Thanks !

Becki & Rags
 
Hi Becki and Rags! angry(2)_cat angry(2)_cat for your evaporating post. Drives me nuts when i get it all typed and then...poof, it's gone. How's sweet little Rags feeling this am?? Enjoy the rest of your day.. hugs and scritches from us.
 
Rags' AMPS is a nice improvement from yesterday's #. The #s will improve over time as you continue to follow the protocol. It just takes patience, is all. Have a good one.
 
Becki, Psst! Secret message from Deb & Wink.

I saw a post from you over in Feline Health this morning and wondered why you were posting there instead of over here in lantus land.

Maybe that is where your "first" post went?
 
ecurie, Thank you, I think my boy is feeling a little better. How are your babies ??? HUGS !!!

Becki & Rags
 
Angela & Blackie & 7 others, Thank you, and I can't wait for him to level out and neither can he.

PATIENCE ??? is a virtue, ha ! but I will have to be !!

Thanks,

Becki & Rags

HUGS !
 
Deb & Wink, Thanks for the info. I wasn't too awake when I started my new topic. Thought I put it on Lantus. Oh, well another mess up, ha !

My girl, Freeway has the sniffles. God, I don't need her to ghet sick now !

By the way, Rags says THANK YOU soooo much for my treats, i really LOVE them. So do the rest of my brothers and sisters. But they are for me, cause I'm SPECIAL right now !!!!

Thanks, Deb

HUGS

Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398 +6 515

1:30 p.m. +6 - 515 why so high ??? He hasn't had anything to eat since 7:30 a.m. except for F/D chick/liver treats (5 tiny ones)

Thanks, Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398 +6-515

ohmygod_smile ohmygod_smile :?: Deb, tell me, this Relion test meter, I don't know if it's the meter, or the strips or ME !!!! Last night when I tested my boy, I used seven test strips before I got a reading. This a.m. it only took two. His ears bleed real good now, so I have enough blood.
Do you know what could be MY problem ? I just tested him and used a new jar of strips. Only had to test once. However, it is really HI, +6 515, he was 398 t 7:30 a.m.

Have you ever had a problem with the glucometer ?

Remember the free one they sent me ? Well they just recalled it. Something wrong with results reading low. They are sending me a new one.

Please let me know what you think about the meter.

Thanks,

Becki & Rags
 
Please, I need help ! I don't know about LANTUS, and my boys number is too high since 1:30 p.m- eastern. When he was on Novolin, they would tell me to give more insulin, but I don't know if I can do that with LANTUS. It is 515, he has never been this high since on LANTUS.

Can someone PLEASE help me as I don't want anything to happen to my boy !!
Thank you,


Becki & Rags
 
((((Becki))))

I know this is very scary for you but you do have to give the insulin a chance to work. This number almost makes me think that the 200 you got last night was correct and he "perhaps" went lower and is now bouncing back up. I don't know that for sure. But let's just see how the rest of this cycle looks. He's about due for an increase but let's see what he does today.

Since it is the weekend, is it possible to get a +3 tonight? That would really help us at night if you could always get a test before you go to bed.

It's ok to take the 911 down.

Is he acting normal? Drinking/peeing alot?j

Are you checking for ketones?
 
I also thought that maybe that 478 test was a bad test, as it was just 45 minutes after the 200 test.

If my guess is correct, then maybe he went a little lower last night than he is used to.

When a kitty goes lower than he is used to, the liver puts out a form of glucose to bring him back up.

It's just a natural thing that the liver does, and some cat's livers react more than others.

My cat J.D.'s liver reacts easily and he rises high up after going into lower numbers. My cat J.D. is high right now, because his blood glucose went lower than he is used to last night, but I know if I wait, that he will come back down.

This is what we call bounces. They are hard to see, I know, because you don't like to see your cat having such high numbers. I don't either in my cat. But it's just natural and you just have to wait it out. Sorry.

Get out your patience pants and put em on.

(((Hugs))).
 
Marje, thank you for getting back to me. Sorry I panic but he has never been that high since he's been on this insulin. Like I said, the Novolin they would have told me to give him .05 units, also with the 200 last night, they would tell me not to shoot. That's why I get so upset, I do not yet know what I can do with Lantus. I know his number will be going higher now so that is why I was afraid.
Sorry about the 911, but no one was getting back to me and I didn't want anything to happen to him.

I ended up calling a Vet that works for the hospital we have here. She is very nice and explained the insulin to me. She said if I get a high number tomorrow that we may have to increase his dose.

I took the 911 off. No he isn't peeing a lot or drinking a lot. He is sleeping all the time.

Sorry I PM'd you, I shouldn't have ! I just can't think right when I get upset. I won't do that again. Again I do apologize for panicking. I'll keep trying my deep breathes and leave you all alone.

Thank you,

Becki & Rags
 
Oh Becki. It's okay if you express yourself, here. We all understand what you are going through. It's not good to hold it all inside, and others off the board won't understand like we do.
Just keep asking your questions, and you will understand more and more. I have been here a long time, and I still learn new things. It's a whole lot to learn. That's we are here to help you along the path. To support you and guide you.
 
Re: 4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398+ 6 -515

Dyana, I just wrote you a too long post, and when I submitted it, it must have deleted !!! I hate this thing !!!!
Thank you for all the info. you wrote on my post. I know there is a difference in the Novolin and the Lantus. I just am not sure about all if it. With the Novolin, they told me not to shoot at 200 or below. If I had a HI number they said give him .05 units. That's why I panicked when no one got back to me in two hours. I am a SLOW learner and I know everyone is frustrated with me. I am sorry, I just want to get it all right, I DON'T want to do anything to hurt my boy !!!!! I just want to be sure of what I'm doing. I need to know the how's, what's and why's of it all and there is a lot to learn !!!! I know nothing about Diabetic Kitties, so this is ALL new to me and I am trying to do the best I can. I'm just slow cause I don't know it all !!!! Very frustrating !!
About testing, yes I will test at + 3 tonight. I just didn't have the heart last night to do it. It took seven sticks to get his number, it's NOT because of not enough blood because his ear bleeds good. The 45 min. test it took two sticks, the same this a.m. So his + 6 today I used a new bottle of test strips, only one stick. I think there is something wrong with the meter, cause his number went up too fast in that short of time. I'm gonna a check the control. Never did it before, but I will cause I want the right numbers with one stick.

I will try real hard not to bother you guys anymore cause I don't want anyone upset with me cause I'm stupid about this.

Thank you again for your help and explanations.

Becki & Rags

((HUGS &HUGS ))
 
Becki, you are not bothering us. We are here for you. That's why I log on, is to help people with their cats.

Both you and Rags will get better at testing. That's just takes a little time too. Everything will get better.

Please keep asking your questions, as that is how you are going to learn, and we want to help you learn, okay?
 
Becki

Where's that deep breathing :-D :-D :-D :-D ;-)

You can PM me anytime at all!! I just cannot give any advice in a PM....I have to post it on your condo but lots of people PM and ask for us to visit their condo and help. I'm totally fine with it as long as everyone understands the response needs to go on the condo :-D

The best advice I can give you right now is to forget everything about the Novolin. Don't think about what you would be doing if he was on it. He's not and so we have to deal with what Lantus will do for him. It just takes longer.

One really high number won't hurt him. If you look at my Gracie's SS today, you'll see she started the day in pink which she hasn't done in forever. Yes...stresses me, too, because she is really regulated. But they do come down.

If he just stays up like this, I would agree his dose needs to be increased but I'd wait until the morning when you can test more, ok? Let's just watch him today and tonight.

You aren't bothering us, you aren't stupid, and we aren't upset :-D :-D This site is to help you.
 
You can do it, Becky! :D

I just joined this month and while I've been lurking a bit, people here are awesome! Ask all the questions you need cause I'm still doing a lot of question asking myself. They're really knowledgeable and if someone doesn't know, they'll find someone who does.

:RAHCAT
 
Re: 4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398 +6 - 515-PMBS-527

7:30 p.m. PMBS 537. eating 1 1/2 cans ff with water


Becki & Rags
 
Re: 4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398 +6 - 515 PMBS 527

Am I giving him 1.05 tonight ??? For Rags ?


Thank you
Becki & Rags. Shot due at 7:30 p.m-i
 
Re: 4/20/13 Rags AMPS 398 +6 515, PMPS 527

8:07 p.m. didn't hear from anyone so I gave him his i unit. Hen ate two cans of ff with water andthree F/D treats.

Becki
 
Hi Becki,

The Lantus insulin works much longer 12-16 or sometimes even 18 hours than the insulin type you were using which only lasted 5-6 hours. You do not ever want to give a little bit of a dose (0.5u), in addition to the standard dose, like you did with the Novolin N.

Trying to find a picture of those light blue patience pants Rags requested for you. It's taking some time.

Until I find one here is something on found on what the color light blue represents.

What does the color light blue represent?

light blue means tranquility,patience,health,spiritual
color,helpful,in devotional,inspirational,meditations,peace,radiates Aquarius energy,employ where a situation must be synthesized.

Guess Rags picked the perfect color to help you through this! Smart kitty!!!!!
 
Deb did you get my post about the meter ? What do you think ?

Did I do the right thing tonight by giving him only one unit ? No one gets back to me and I don't know what to do. It took two hours for someone to reply to me today. I had to call the Vet Hosp. Today to find out what to do. I am getting very disheartened. They say they are there, well if they are, they don' t ans, me. That scares me. Is my boy going to be OK finite ? I will take a + 3 at 11:00, but I'm not going to post a more, it doesn't seem like anyone is there to see it !.!
If it keeps going up, what do I do ?_

Thanks,
Becki
 
Becki, With the numbers this high, you really, really need to try to get a urine test with those ketone strips.

The meter

Did you ever drop it? (I have done this to mine a couple of times.
Get it wet?
Has a cat peed on it? drooled on it? Vomited on it?

The test strips

were you getting an error code last night? which one? several different ones?

Sometimes too much blood or too little blood will give you an error code.

If you can get me this info, I'll do some research to see what I can find out.

p.s. Glad to see Marje and Dyana helping you. I never used Lantus long enough to feel that I could advise someone on increasing , decreasing the dose or on how to interpret the spreadsheet. These two have lots of experience.
 
Deb, Marje and Dyana have been a VERY big help to me.
No, i have not dropped it,peed on it, vomited on it, drooled on it , pooped on it, or gotit wet.
It said E everytime and there was plenty of blood on it. His ears are really bleeding now !!! I used a brand new box of strips this afternoon and only had to test once. Sooooo----

I was wondering where you have been. you have been working alot lately.

Well, thanks for your time !!!

Becki & Rags
 
No, i have not dropped it,peed on it, vomited on it, drooled on it , pooped on it, or gotit wet.
I thought one of the cats might have 'christened' the meter for you. :o :o :o

Ok, so it said E. Which E code did it give you? There are many different E error codes.

E00 battery has been replaced. Reset time, date, etc
E01 used test strip inserted. Put in fresh strip
E04 battery two low for testing. Go buy a new battery and replace old one.
E06 temperature outside of range . Too cold or too hot meter or test strips. Let cool or warm up as needed (temp should be 50 to 104)
E11 corrupted memory. call customer service.
E13 not enough blood was added to test strip

These are all in your manual that came with the meter.

You need to tell me which error you got.
 
4/21/13 Rags AMPS 226

Hey Becki. How are you doing today? That's a real nice AMPS I see to start the day for Rags. Can you perhaps get a mid-cycle test?
I will not be here to see your reply until tonight, because I'm stuck at work, and I have to log off in 20 minutes.
I hope you and Rags are having a good day cat_pet_icon
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top